We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Woodpecker Cottage” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wallace Lane Farm

Save Saved
You added Wallace Lane Farm to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wallace Lane Farm
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Brocklebank, Wigton CA7 8DL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Wigton B&B and Inns
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Woodpecker Cottage”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stayed in Woodpecker Cottage, one of two self catering holiday rentals next to the B&B and owned by he same people.

The cottage is very clean, comfortable and spacious despite being a one bedroomed cottage. It is well equipped and in a pleasant, secluded location.

We were made very welcome and spent a very enjoyable break.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
12
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
county durham
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We have just returned from a three night break at this B & B. The standard is just superb and the welcome is warm and friendly. We had just arrived on Friday afternoon and were welcomed with a cup of tea and home made biscuits in the conservatory which double for the breakfast room. The beds was one of the most comfotable we have had anywhere and the pillows were the same. We had room three which is ensuite and had a great time. The breakfast is really good with a good choice and included smoked salmon and scrabbled eggs which is a particular favourite of mine. Ideally situated for exploring the lakes with both Kendal and Keswick a short drive away and Carlisle only a few miles up the road if you prefer a large town. Plenty to do and see you can even go Osprey watching but the walk is up a rough mountain type path but well worth it. Wallace Lane Farm offers tranquility and peace with an abundance of wild life. The chickens roam free and often watch you while eating your breakfast and the family dog, Merlin is just as friendly as you can get. This is recommended unreservedly so much so we are planning to return later in the year.

Room Tip: Room three is ensuite but both the attached cottages are great too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

This is the most comfortable place my family and I have stayed in - the hosts are extremely friendly and helpful and most importantly don't mind small children.The room was very nice , the bed just right and they provided a cot for our daughter.It was very quiet , exactly what you need after a long day exploring the Northern Lakes.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

We only stayed here for one night but wished we could have stayed here longer.
The room was lovely, we had the family room and although the bathroom is seperate from the bedroom it was our private bathroom and it didn't cause us a problem, I felt safe to let my daughter, 5 years, go to the bathroom alone, they provide dressing gowns for us to use too. The bed was very comfy and had a good selection of tea/coffee making facilities including homemade biscuits which were lovely.
Janet provided us with hot drinks and biscuits when we arrived and breakfast the next morning was lovely, a good selection of cereals, fruits, yogurts, jams etc as well as a beautiful homecooked breakfast.

We would love to return here and if we stayed for a week or so I would like to stay in the self catering cottages as they looked really nice from the outside.
Looking forward to the camping field to be completed as we would aslo try that.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

We as a family have really enjoyed our stay at nutcracker cottage !
where we have stayed for a week .
We decided to get married at gretna green (anvilhall) and search high and low for great value for money accomadation for my new hubby myself and four children where our budget was only going to give us a break for two night and three days staying in Greatna.
Where STAYING at Wallace Lane Farm has given us a full week of fun and enjoyment with the kids that have been so happy here ....
Janet and John have accomadated us to the highest standard and reached our every need in everyway possible .
The B&B is of a standard most of us dream of my new hubby and son stayed thier the night before our wedding where he was made very welcome Janet also bought over to the cottage bacon butties the morning of our wedding The cottage where we stayed was fitted with everyneed even down to games and dvd to keep the kids entertain on the cosy evenings in round the log fire.
The cottage stands in the most beautiful scenary and is so peaceful.
Wallace Lane Farm is close to all towns which is perfect for a differnt place to go to everyday.
I would like to thank Janet and John for everything and also saving my wedding day as the flowers where left behind .
I am now at home and stuggling to live up to the food that Janet cooked
CANT WAIT TO GO BACK NEXT YEAR!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philomena7
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

Such beautiful countryside driving to Wallace Lane gave me high hopes for this Farm Stay accommodation and I was not disappointed. Janet & John were very welcoming and brought my case up to the room; and what a room. Clearly newly refurbished, the carpets were lush, the bedding of high quality and very warm and the bathroom incredibly clean, modern and with premium toiletries provided. The shower was hot with good steady pressure and the towels lovely and thick.

My bed was very comfortable and there was plenty of clothes storage in the room. The view was wonderful and the horses and sheep in the connecting paddocks provided a lovely gentle soundtrack to the morning. Breakfast was served in a cosy glass conservatory with views into the well tended garden with its many, many birds. My full breakfast was delicious and a good range of juices was available.

This B&B is one of the highest quality I stayed in on this trip and is handily located to the delightful village of Caldbeck, and of course the Lakes District. I would certainly recommend this accommodation and look forward to staying there again myself.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wallace Lane Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wallace Lane Farm

Address: Brocklebank, Wigton CA7 8DL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Wigton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Wigton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wallace Lane Farm 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Wallace Lane Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wallace Lane Farm Wigton, Cumbria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wallace Lane Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.