We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a warm welcome” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Croft Hill Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitehaven
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Croft Hill Guest House
Save
You added Croft Hill Guest House to your Saves list
Quality Corner, Whitehaven CA28 8UP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 14 Whitehaven B&B and Inns
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“a warm welcome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

We stayed at croft hill third week of July, we recieved a very warm welcome from the owners family, our first night we stayed in room 2, the remaining 3 nights were to be in the attic conversion, both rooms are of a very good standard, vicky who cooks breakfast and cleans rooms was a lovely and very friendly girl. We were visiting friends and sight seeing the area, Croft Hill was a very convenient position for both.
Unfortunately due to illness we had to leave prematurly, which was disappointing.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
18
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Black Mountain, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We had such a lovely time while staying at Croft Hill - it is a truly top-notch guest house, with breathtaking views and beautiful gardens/grounds. The room, bed, bathroom and furnishings were exquisite, (we stayed in Bedroom 2) - complete with "welcome!" cupcakes! Andrew, Joanne and their family were the perfect hosts, starting each day with a full English breakfast, and lots of unique tasty extras. This was a vacation for my mother and I, and it was by far our favorite place we stayed in our entire 3 week journey! Whitehaven and the surrounding Lake District was also an amazing experience - quaint harbors & towns, shopping, lovely lakes & trails, friendly locals. We were very lucky to have nice warm weather, and really enjoyed our visit. We can't wait to return to this area again, and stay with our "new family" at Croft Hill!

Room Tip: All of the rooms at Croft Hill are lovely, and we really enjoyed Bedroom 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Good rooms, very comfortable with multi channel t.v, huge double bed, nice shower (bath available in seperate room), etc. Ample choice for breakfast, have to wait until 7.30am for cooked breakfast, so not ideal for those early darters. Plenty parking outside hotel, fantastic views of the coast. The owners are very polite and easy going, very approachable and have obviously put a lot of care and attention into upgrading the guesthouse. The gardens are really well looked after (even got an article in a notable tourism magazine). The location is a 20 min to whitehaven town centre or a 5 min drive.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromsgrove, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

We stayed in the conversion, which has beautiful views out over the sea. The huge bed is really comfortable and the handmade headboard stunning. The owners were informative and very friendly. We were lucky enough to have glorious weather and were able to sit and stroll in the lovely walled garden. It was also lovely to have the large guest lounge to sit in, in the evening. Breakfast was delicious and there was plenty of it. We would definitely stay here again.... can't recommend it highly enough. Em & Chris

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

Stayed in the attic room which has been finished to a very high standard, modern with so many thoughtful extras. The huge bed was really comfy. The guest lounge is a good size with plenty of sofas. Breakfast was delicious, great choice of home cooked local ingredients. The guest house is in a great location only a couple of miles from Whitehaven with charming views over the sea. The surrounding gardens are beautiful and very well kept. Joanne and Andrew were great hosts giving us advice about walks in the local area.

Room Tip: If you want to push the boat out and fancy some extra comfort and luxury opt for the attic room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Stayed in the top room, fantastic room and en-suite, very modern, yet tasteful, with a huge very comfortable bed......set in a beautiful location, with views of the sea and a lovely walled garden to relax in. Breakfast all localy sourced produce and the owners and their family couldn't have been any nicer... would highly reccomend a stay at the Croft Hill. You will not be dissaponinted and we will certainly be back. Chris & Emma

Room Tip: The top room is spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

I have stayed at this guest house twice now, both times whilst working in the area. On the two occasions I have been given two different rooms, both large, clean and decorated to the highest quality. When booking in the first instance, I was disappointed to have a shared bathroom. However when I saw the bathroom the disappointment quickly disappeared, there was a massive roll top bath and power shower to a top notch quality.

The breakfast was great and I was accommodated with the early breakfast I needed in order to make it to work on time, there was a massive choice of both continental and cooked items. The location was also brilliant, a five minute drive from the town, but the guest house is set in a lovely quiet rural area.

I would definitely recommend this guest house to all and I would like to thank you so much for two great stays, if I'm ever up in the west coast area again, I'll be giving you a call.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Croft Hill Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Croft Hill Guest House

Address: Quality Corner, Whitehaven CA28 8UP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Whitehaven
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Whitehaven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An historic Georgian house with beautiful walled gardens maintaining traditional character with modern facilities. Located in a quiet secluded semi-rural location but still within easy reach of the historic Georgian Port of Whitehaven (1.5 miles away) and the lake district (3.5 miles away). All the rooms have spectacular views including views of the Solway coast. There is ample off road parking and arrangements can be made to leave your vehicle while you ride the coast to coast. Croft Hill is ideally situated for exploring the Western Lake District and the West Coast of Cumbria. We have all modern en-suite facilities and luxury bathrooms. A warm and friendly welcome awaits you. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Croft Hill Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.