We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The experience of staying here was well worth the money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wasdale Head Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wasdale Head
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wasdale Head Inn
Save
You added Wasdale Head Inn to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Wasdale Head | Near Gosforth, Wasdale Head CA20 1EX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Wasdale Head B&B and Inns
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“The experience of staying here was well worth the money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

We needed to fly to visit this beautiful part of the country,so could not chose our weather. Gales, Snow and Heavy rain. It could not have been a worst choice of weekends (feb 2014). I was not sure to stay here or in a chain hotel about an hour away. We definitely made a great choice. Nothing beats driving into the valley and leaving the car for a complete weekend. The dry room was a saviour - like a sauna our clothes and shoes were dry by next day. A book were you record where you were walking and expected time back was a reassurance someone was looking after you. And a reception room to meet fellow walkers to exchange stories and browse through the old books (even visitors book) and just get a feel of what our ancestors had done in the exact same inn was an added touch. We enjoyed our meals that evening after and our breakfast meals. Especially eating local food was appreciated. The lamb steak actually tasted of lamb and was so full of flavour. The ingredients very fresh. Staff - so so friendly. Unfortunately we need to return (for better weather to complete our planned route).

Room Tip: Our room had a "Room with a view" but think most do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    92
    21
    24
    21
See reviews for
32
129
21
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

only went in for a few pints, ended up having more than a few, the bar staff were amazing (emma and Gillian) very friendly and chatty, great atmosphere all round, cant wait to go back there again. although our heads were suffering the next day lol

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

This place an an absolute gem. Tucked away at the end of a long windy road and past the awe inspiring Wastwater lake this picture perfect hotel is a great place to get away from the world. Surrounding you are the West Lakes mountains with Scafel Pike and Great Gable, if I could spend the rest of my days here I'd be a happy man. Super friendly staff and bar with wholesome meals and tasty local Jennings ales

Room Tip: Get one on the south part of the house
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

A last minute decision to go to the Lake District for NYE. We decided on The Wasdale Inn.
What a great choice. We had a brilliant time. Though my head the following day would disagree.
The staff were fantastic, really friendly and chatty. It was a really good atmosphere, lots of singing, due to a group of walkers who make an annual trip there every year.
A great night in a legendary pub, will be back again soon.
P.S So glad to see little Billy the terrier roaming around, as the last time we came he wasn't allowed in.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the camping field associated with the inn. There is no advanced booking so it's first come first served but we had no trouble finding a pitch for a large tent. This may have been because it was November and freezing, high summer season may be different. There is no campsite specific parking but plenty of available space to accommodate all vehicle types. The facilities reserved for campers (digital lock codes given at checkin) were perfect and included:2 washing up sinks; separate gents, ladies and disabled toilets each with a shower. The staff at the inn are extremely sociable, knowledgeable and helpful. The food is excellent, the drinks range extensive and the views amazing. All this at a snip of the price of the national trust campsite down the road. I definitely recommend and will stay here again. Excellent!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We love the stark beauty of this area and a after a good walk up the valley we decided to call in here for lunch. The pub part of the inn is charming and full of character with an impressive selection of ales and whiskies. Our lunch arrived quickly and it was delicious. Another positive for us was that they are very dog friendly here..a new bowl of water was immediately put out for our dog as we sat down. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

Don't go to the Wasdale Head Inn expecting luxury accommodation, the finest accommodation or even brilliant broadband. Go there because it's in the most fantastic location at the the head of the brooding and almost overpowering valley that is Wasdale, surrounded by England's most impressive mountains. The inn oozes with the history of Lakeland climbing and I enjoyed every moment of my stay.

I needed to escape from the real world for a three day pre-Christmas break. During three stormy days the electricity stayed on for most of the time, the satellite broadband worked ok and the room was fine. The staff worked hard to make sure my stay was enjoyable and the chef did a great job to deliver dinner when everything electric had stopped working.

And most of all, the Wasdale Head Inn puts you right I the heart of the most dramatic scenery, hill-walking and climbing that England has to offer. Whatever the weather, it will deliver a memorable experience of the great outdoors.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wasdale Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wasdale Head Inn

Address: Wasdale Head | Near Gosforth, Wasdale Head CA20 1EX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Wasdale Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Wasdale Head
Hotel Class:4 star — Wasdale Head Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Wasdale Head Hotel Wasdale Head
Wasdale Head Inn Cumbria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wasdale Head Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.