We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wasdale Head Inn Campsite...Excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wasdale Head Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wasdale Head
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wasdale Head Inn
Save
You added Wasdale Head Inn to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Wasdale Head | Near Gosforth, Wasdale Head CA20 1EX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Wasdale Head B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wasdale Head Inn Campsite...Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the camping field associated with the inn. There is no advanced booking so it's first come first served but we had no trouble finding a pitch for a large tent. This may have been because it was November and freezing, high summer season may be different. There is no campsite specific parking but plenty of available space to accommodate all vehicle types. The facilities reserved for campers (digital lock codes given at checkin) were perfect and included:2 washing up sinks; separate gents, ladies and disabled toilets each with a shower. The staff at the inn are extremely sociable, knowledgeable and helpful. The food is excellent, the drinks range extensive and the views amazing. All this at a snip of the price of the national trust campsite down the road. I definitely recommend and will stay here again. Excellent!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    92
    21
    24
    21
See reviews for
32
129
21
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We love the stark beauty of this area and a after a good walk up the valley we decided to call in here for lunch. The pub part of the inn is charming and full of character with an impressive selection of ales and whiskies. Our lunch arrived quickly and it was delicious. Another positive for us was that they are very dog friendly here..a new bowl of water was immediately put out for our dog as we sat down. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

Don't go to the Wasdale Head Inn expecting luxury accommodation, the finest accommodation or even brilliant broadband. Go there because it's in the most fantastic location at the the head of the brooding and almost overpowering valley that is Wasdale, surrounded by England's most impressive mountains. The inn oozes with the history of Lakeland climbing and I enjoyed every moment of my stay.

I needed to escape from the real world for a three day pre-Christmas break. During three stormy days the electricity stayed on for most of the time, the satellite broadband worked ok and the room was fine. The staff worked hard to make sure my stay was enjoyable and the chef did a great job to deliver dinner when everything electric had stopped working.

And most of all, the Wasdale Head Inn puts you right I the heart of the most dramatic scenery, hill-walking and climbing that England has to offer. Whatever the weather, it will deliver a memorable experience of the great outdoors.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

My partner booked a Birthday break for us at this Beautiful hotel with it's perfect location for Mountain walking, very suprised by the high standards ,great food and the staff were very friendly and helpfull.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

I recently stayed for a night with my husband for our anniversary. The room was a nice size, the bed lovely and comfortable, but I couldn't use the bath or shower as they were not geared up for disabled people.
Our dog stayed with us, and, as it was quiet, we were upgraded to a garden room, which was unexpected and very nice, with lovely mountain views.
My husband brought me tea to drink in bed so I could sit up and see the mountains, which I had longed to do for decades, so a dream come true.
We had a good breakfast, my husband full English had everything: bacon, sausages, mushrooms, black pudding, fried bread, grilled tomato, fried egg and baked beans. I had the smoked salmon and scrambled eggs, which was nice and hot, and there was plenty of it. Toast was made to order, with plenty of preserves and Marmite, but sadly, the coffee wasn't great.
Staff were friendly and helpful, felt nothing was too much trouble.
We had a meal in the bar in the evening, which was pricey, but good.

Room Tip: The Superior rooms are more spacious with awesome views and private garden, useful if you have a dog...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South East UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in self catering accommodation. We cooked our own breakfast but ate in Ritsons Bar each night.
Accommodation was good quality, clean, warm - not luxurious but everything you needed.
Food in pub was good quality and generous. Not too adventurous but good comfort pub food which is what you need after a good walk.
Pub was warm (essential in the Lakes) and comfortable with lovely staff - just weirdly over lit which stops it being cosy.
Highly recommend a visit. It really is a great base for walking and we can't wait to return.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Having read some reviews I was wary of staying here, poor food slow service etc were mentioned we experienced none of that. We were given a warm welcome, excellent service and great food. The breakfast room was lovely as was the breakfast. I'd definitely stay again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wasdale Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wasdale Head Inn

Address: Wasdale Head | Near Gosforth, Wasdale Head CA20 1EX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Wasdale Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Wasdale Head
Hotel Class:4 star — Wasdale Head Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Wasdale Head Hotel Wasdale Head
Wasdale Head Inn Cumbria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wasdale Head Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.