We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Wasdale” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wasdale Head Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wasdale Head
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wasdale Head Inn
Save
You added Wasdale Head Inn to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Wasdale Head | Near Gosforth, Wasdale Head CA20 1EX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Wasdale Head B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Wonderful Wasdale”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I have just spent a near perfect long weekend at the Wasdale Head Inn. Accompanied by near perfect weather we spent three nights at the hotel whilst we walked Scarfel and did the very difficult scramble along the east bank of Wasdale Water beneath "The Scree's".....(Small warning - don't take young children or grandparents on this little lake side walk..it's badly strewn with scree, rubble and boulders.... they'll not make it down to Nether Wasdale)

You must take your hat off to the Wasdale Inn staff who not only run a 3 star hotel establishment but a camp site and full bar and restaurant for a myriad of visitors and guests with a good deal of professionalism, good cheer and humour. If you add in their mountain rescue skills as well I think you can appreciate what's a super set of people they are. Very enjoyable stay and felt most relaxed and well cared for throughout our visit. Highly recommended by me.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    96
    21
    24
    22
See reviews for
37
138
22
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Whitley Bay
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Got good first impressions when I phoned to enquire re availability at the campsite as our group were going to arrive from different ends of the country. The lady who I spoke too was very helpful and pleasant. Upon arrival we checked into the campsite and for a fiver a night too (How good is that?) Facilities suited me fine too. Better still was Ritsons Bar serving top quality local Real Ales and a fantastic menu serving quality food. The staff were also very helpful too. Not a bad word to be said. Navagiting the long country roads was worthwhile as at the end The Wasdale Head Inn and campsite is situated amongst the most breathtaking views

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winsford, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the Burnmoor self catering apartment. On arrival the staff were friendly and efficient and showed us to our apartment which was in the barns opposite the main building. You get a downstairs lounge area with kitchen (all mod cons including dishwasher and washing machine), bathroom and then upstairs is a galleried bedroom. The place was clean and well equipped and comfortable.
We ate for 3 nights in the Ritsons bar which was always full, the food was hearty and plentiful and freshly cooked (apparently the beer is good as well so says the other half). My only slight quibble is that the free wifi is not great speed and non existent in the barn apartment - although it was actually nice to be able to relax without technology for a change!!! The scenery more than made up for it as the views are to die for.
We are not walkers but weekend (pretty lightweight) cyclists. We rode the bikes everyday along the lakeshore road or elsewhere in the district and had a wonderful time.
This Inn has a captive audience as the road stops at the pub which is at the base of scarfell however it doesn't let itself down by being complacent. There are other places to stay within a couple of miles (and we've stayed in all of them) but we would definitely come back here again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

If you want a taste of the highlands in England then Wasdale Head if probably the closest you will get. Excellent location, friendly staff and excellent food. However if you are a light sleeper like me would not recommend the single at back of hotel near some sort of extractor fan which kept me awake but was moved to a front double at same price so again fair play to the Wasdsale. The bar has bags of character and found the bar food to be some of the best I have tasted just a bit of a disappointment to find a number of fish bones in the cod! Would I go back again yes would just make sure I get a double no more single beds for me and check the fish!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Camped at Wasdale Head Inn for the weekend whilst walking in the local area. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Facilities quite limited, washing up area, single shower located over the road behind the pub and single male and female WC. However at only £5 per night each, you can't complain. The location is ideal for many walks in the local area, being just metres away from the start point of the Scafell Pike main path. The pub itself offers a variety of daytime and evening meals. One great offering being the early morning campers cafe, with hot drinks and a variety of breakfast sandwiches perfect to fuel a day exploring the surrounding area.

Room Tip: Camped at £5 p/night p/person, good value although limited facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coniston, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I am a teacher at John Ruskin School in Coniston and part of a group of students and teachers who were camping at the nearby National Trust campsite. The weather was a little wet and we had some birthdays to celebrate. Wasdale Head Inn was the perfect place to do this. We had lots of room, the atmosphere was warm and welcoming and the staff were hugely accommodating. I would like to mention Craig and Jodie who were particularly helpful. This is a fantastic pub in an spectacular setting. Well worth a visit.

Mr Delph.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hebden Bridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Cannot fault the Wasdale Head Inn.
We stayed in Rowfoot room- very nice, spacious, and with great views. The staff were very helpful at all times. Breakfast awesome, all the bar meals nice, and the real ale excellent. The pub was so busy Saturday night, it was great to be a resident, and have a reserved bar, especially when they bend the rules and allow you to eat in the residents bar!
As a rule we don't return to the same place but 100% guaranteed we will be back her next year!

Room Tip: Rowfoot is excellent if the people above aren't noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wasdale Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wasdale Head Inn

Address: Wasdale Head | Near Gosforth, Wasdale Head CA20 1EX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Wasdale Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Wasdale Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wasdale Head Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The world-famous Wasdale Head Inn, known as the birthplace of climbing, is dramatically surrounded by England's tallest mountains, making it the finest base for walking and climbing. The Inn is situated at the head of remote and unspoiled Wasdale, and if you are seeking the superlative this is where you will find it. England's highest mountain, the deepest lake, the smallest Church, and the original world's biggest liar can all be found in this tranquil corner of the Lake District. The Inn is managed by Georgina Wrathall on behalf of the owners, Nigel and Lesley Burton. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wasdale Head Hotel Wasdale Head
Wasdale Head Inn Cumbria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wasdale Head Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.