We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service, Excellent Location...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wasdale Head Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wasdale Head
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wasdale Head Inn
Save
You added Wasdale Head Inn to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Wasdale Head | Near Gosforth, Wasdale Head CA20 1EX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Wasdale Head B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Service, Excellent Location...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

I stayed at the Wasdale Head Inn alone, for 2 nights. Having stayed at Burnthwaite Farm on previous visits to Wasdale, I was reluctant to switch over, however I was thoroughly impressed by the service, food and general atmosphere of the Inn. The fact I managed to score a '2 nights for the price of 1' deal didn't hurt either. The single room was a decent size and served its purpose, as somewhere to pass out after a long day walking. Overall, the service is what made my stay memorable, and seems to have vastly improved since my visit last summer, where I the bar staff seemed a bit out of their depth. Will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    96
    21
    24
    22
See reviews for
37
138
22
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Marple, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We visited here on a lovely day and were met by the most friendly staff in Ritson's Bar. We ordered the Steak and Ale Pie and the Sharing cold meat platter. The Pie was magnificent with a beautiful pastry top. The vegetables were ok, but a little dry. The sharing platter containing a variety of locally produced salamis and air dried ham was excellen. Although a little pricey at over £13, you'd pay a lot at the delicatessen for that quaity of meat. The beer was very well kept. The lady behind the bar was very helpful in advising me where I could buy the salamis. I would certainly recommend this place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellingborough
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

The room was a decent size and had everything I needed. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The bar has a decent range of beers. The bar food was good, generous quantities and reasonably priced. The location is ideal for walkers and climbers. I will definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wasdale Head, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I have been going to the Wasdale Head Inn for over 40 years. Whether on my own or with clients, you are always assured of a great welcome and a fine selection of local Real Ales, good food and good company.
Set in this stunning location it has some of the best walking, rock climbing and mountaineering in the Lake District, na British Isles. No wonder this was the 'Birthplace' of English rock climbing. The lake is fantastic place to canoe or kayak, stand at the viewpoint and see the best view in UK (according to Sally Webster from corrie.) Yes this is one of my favorite places in the UK...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gloucester
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

One of the most stunning locations in England - probably the world!! I stayed for 6 nights over Christmas. The main bar has a fire constantly burning and creates an increadably welcoming cosy feel.

From the very first moment the staff really make you feel incredibly welcome, the food is 'pub food' that is cooked incredibly well with care and attention. The rooms are very spacious, comfortable and kept very very clean. Fantastic breakfast (Wasdale Full Breakfast - healthier options also available!!) sets you up for any amount of exercise that you choose to (or not) to do

There is always someone to have a chat with and as i previously mentioned the staff seem to be incapable of saying 'No' - if you have a request that can be done then they will do it!

Great team lead from the front by George and Harry can't wait to come and visit you again soon

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mere, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We arrived on Boxing Day evening and were delighted to find a BBQ in full flow, all participants were guests and this resulted in a great atmosphere. The place is comfortable, homely, historic and a real climbers Mecca. Food quality is good for an inn. The real reason to stay here however is the climbing. The inn is at the foot of some stunning peaks and it would be criminal to stay overnight without a short climb...IMHO of course. Great local beer, fantastic friendly staff who do an amazing job as members of the local mountain rescue. Go visit!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I love this place. The lighting is too bright, the decor is not particulary cosy, the food is good but not great BUT as you soon as you sit down you think yes and never want to leave. It has a fantastic atmoshere - friendly and full of people who are chilled out after walking or climbing - great staff and ace beer. I wish i was there now

And the location is just beautiful.

i've also stayed here and it was lovely but expensive. I always stay at the farm down the road now.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wasdale Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wasdale Head Inn

Address: Wasdale Head | Near Gosforth, Wasdale Head CA20 1EX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Wasdale Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Wasdale Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wasdale Head Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The world-famous Wasdale Head Inn, known as the birthplace of climbing, is dramatically surrounded by England's tallest mountains, making it the finest base for walking and climbing. The Inn is situated at the head of remote and unspoiled Wasdale, and if you are seeking the superlative this is where you will find it. England's highest mountain, the deepest lake, the smallest Church, and the original world's biggest liar can all be found in this tranquil corner of the Lake District. The Inn is managed by Georgina Wrathall on behalf of the owners, Nigel and Lesley Burton. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wasdale Head Hotel Wasdale Head
Wasdale Head Inn Cumbria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wasdale Head Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.