We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place to get away from it all!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Burnthwaite Farm

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wasdale Head
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Burnthwaite Farm
Save
You added Burnthwaite Farm to your Saves list
CA20, Wasdale Head CA20 1EX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wasdale Head
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cambridge, England
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
“A wonderful place to get away from it all!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I stayed here for 7 nights in September, in order to walk those peaks in Wainwright’s Southern Fells and Western Fells which I hadn’t already covered. This must be one of the best centres for hillwalking in England, with Scafell, Scafell Pike, Great Gable, Kirk Fell, Pillar, etc all within easy walking distance from the front door.

Burnthwaite Farm must be the most remote B&B in England – it took me nearly half-an-hour to get here from the main A595 road along the Cumbrian coast. The Wasdale Head Inn is remote enough, but Burnthwaite Farm is another kilometre up the valley. This is a wonderful place for anyone who wants to get away from it all – no shops, no TV, no wireless, no mobile phone signal!

Andrew was a welcoming host and nothing was too much trouble. This was surprising since he runs a farm and was doing without help whilst I was there. The breakfasts and packed lunches are huge – I could never manage to eat everything. The bedrooms are basic but clean and the bathrooms and toilets are just across the corridor. The lounge is always warm and inviting, especially after a day out in the wet.

The room rates are exceptional value – I would have happily paid 50% more.

Room Tip: All the rooms looked fine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    12
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
19
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nanaimo, Canada
Top Contributor
302 reviews 302 reviews
99 hotel reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
410 helpful votes 410 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Thank you Andrew for the excellent, affordable, accommodation, friendly atmosphere, clean rooms and great breakfast. From the very first contact we had with you we were offered friendly service and we knew this would be a great place to stay while hiking the Wainwright Memorial Walk.

Personally I thought the room rates were an extraordinary deal!

Our twin room (#6 I believe) was not ensuite but across from the 2 bathrooms and toilets. The beds are not right next to each other which was great; allowed two guys a big of privacy.

We especially loved the lounge area with that lovely coal fireplace. This was our 6th and 7th nights on our hiking trip and though we love going up for a couple each evening, being able to relax in a comfortable chair was great. The selection of DVD's was right up our alley (Billy Connelly, Ali G ...) and we enjoyed a night in having a few laughs. We would have loved it if you offered a nightly meal and would have taken advantage of this each night!

We also thought the breakfast set up worked well. No problem to share tables for us!

The packed lunches were large and very well priced.

Burnthwaite Farm should be your only choice when staying at Wasdale Head!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights over the bank holiday weekend. It was everything that we needed. Very comfortable and friendly. Like most, we were there for hiking. The breakfast was lovely - they did the deal with large tables where everyone sits together. This can be socially uncomfortable but everyone has their hobby in common at least - so it just works. I would happy to stay here again

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Wasdale Farm for 2 nights and had a lovely time. It is a working sheep farm and is situated beneath Scafell Pike & Great Gable which are a breathtaking view to have out of your window each morning. The farmer is really friendly and happily answered all my questions about farming & let me stroke his working sheep dogs. It's really well priced for the area and the rooms are beautifully rustic, clean, comfy and quiet. The B&B is away from any other buildings so it feels remote whilst being only a short walk to the fantastic Wasdale Head Inn. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orpington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

If you want to get away from it all this is the ideal location.The walks and views from the doorstep are to die for. Friendly and comfortable accommodation with big breakfasts to set you up for the day.Packed lunches also hit the right spot.!This is a working farm and Andrew was always pleased to answer our numerous questions on his flocks and herds.The farm is about 10 minutes away from the Wasdale Head Inn and Ritsons bar( a real walkers pub). The smallest church in Uk is also hidden away in the trees, a browse around the churchyard is a must.The Weather was surprisingly good ... it rained yes, but mainly at night and we had sunshine too.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We have just had another happy stay. As usual we have been well looked after by Andrew and the staff. Burnthwaite is located right next to Great Gable & Kirkfell so the views from the bedroom windows are spectacular, in fact we sleep with the curtains open just to see the view at dawn! Dogs are welcome too and our lab was at home trotting round outside with Billy, just one of the many resident friendly dogs. A clean room, plenty of hot water, peaceful sleep followed by a hearty breakfast are all provided, just what you need after a day climbing the peaks of Wasdale.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We spent one night at Burnthwaite Farm B&B when tackling some of the bigger walks in the area. It's down a farm lane from the main 'village green' at Wasdale Head and it's the start for a route up Great Gable. It has its own parking and is about a 10 minute walk from the Inn at Wasdale Head.

We were able to park and go on our walk and they were relaxed about check in times so we were able to get out walking then collect our key around 7pm. There was a nice communal lounge with books and a TV. The room was simple and comfortable and had all we needed. Breakfast was lovely and set us up nicely for another long walk.

It seemed to be run efficiently and all the staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Burnthwaite Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burnthwaite Farm

Address: CA20, Wasdale Head CA20 1EX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Wasdale Head
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wasdale Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Burnthwaite Farm Hotel Wasdale Head
Burnthwaite Farm Wasdale Head, Cumbria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Burnthwaite Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.