We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Farm Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Burnthwaite Farm

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wasdale Head
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Burnthwaite Farm
Save
You added Burnthwaite Farm to your Saves list
CA20, Wasdale Head CA20 1EX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wasdale Head
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Darwen, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
“Great Farm Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Yet another great stay at Burnthwaite, very relaxed and laid back attitude but nothing is ever too much trouble for Andrew and Sue and they will see to your evey need, very clean and comfortable beds, keep up the good work we will hopefully see you in March.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    12
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
19
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I've stayed here twice and love it!. The location is out of this world; the breakfasts are lovely and social and you get to meet lots of interesting people; its unbelievable value; the living room with the fire is so cosy; there is no phone reception or wifi so you completley relax; and to cap it all Coleridge once stayed here;

To be honest the rooms are not that cosy - its not boutique luxury - the lighting could be improved and we had an outside bathroom; however, you never want to leave. Now one my favourite place in the Lakes.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

Burnthwaite farm was warm and cosy. we went for the basic room which was comfortable and clean. Breakfast was good and we had a packed lunch which was also very good and generous. Overall excellent value and beautiful location.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

It's like stepping back in time with the flower duvets and crossing the hallway to the toilets (some have en-suite) but funnily enough, all of this is what adds the charm to such a spectacular B&B (really traditional). It's the warmth of the place that hits you as you arrive - not just the wood burning stove but Andrew the owner - you get to relax in a lovely lounge and make tea/coffee and then in the morning he serves the best English Brekkie. EXACTLY what you need before you walk up a mountain! Also on offer are bottles of water and packed lunches made to order. Location is something that no amount of money could buy, so imagine our pleasure at only £58 per night (for 2). Please go and visit; it's a place to make ever-lasting memories.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dronfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

I have stayed here many times and thoroughly enjoyed every visit. The location is truly stunning, probably the best in the district! The farm itself oozes history and the hosts are terrific company. I will continue to return as often as I can!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gloucester
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

I am pleased to confirm the positive reviews of this place. Good (large) breakfast and you can order a lunch to take out on your walk which is more than sufficient. In fact the meals and the food in the evening at the nearby inn did nothing for the waistline despite all the walking. Great hosts and the place has a pleasant pervasive hint of wood smoke from the wood burner in the resident's lounge with welcome warmth as soon as you come in from the damp weather.

Yes the facilities are basic but more than adequate and the opportunity at my visit on the 25th July to see the sheep shearing going on in the nearby outbuildings was great for this town dweller. Its a long way of the beaten track but no worse for that. Its great to be able to sit in a comfortable chair reading without the ability to have a mobile phone signal or access to the Internet. It proves they are convenient but not essential... and there is always a land line if you have to communicate with the busy outside world.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We have just recently stayed at burnthwaite farm, as we had planned a hike up scafell pike which was hard going but worth it. The farm is tucked away down a narrow track we had a bit of trouble finding it but worth it once we did. It is very cosy the food was lovely and the owners very friendly. It was nice also getting to meet other walkers, the farm is surrounded by mountains, priceless views. I will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Burnthwaite Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burnthwaite Farm

Address: CA20, Wasdale Head CA20 1EX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Wasdale Head
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wasdale Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Burnthwaite Farm Hotel Wasdale Head
Burnthwaite Farm Wasdale Head, Cumbria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Burnthwaite Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.