We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lyzzick Hall Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Lyzzick Hall Hotel to your Saves list
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Under Skiddaw | near Keswick, Castlerigg, Keswick CA12 4PY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castlerigg
Leeds, England
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We stayed for 1 night just before Christmas. There was a group of 6, and we had a really good time. Nothing was too much trouble even at this busy time of year. A really 'olde world' type hotel, but the rooms had all the usual modern amenities. The food was excellent and service just superb. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    63
    15
    1
    0
See reviews for
46
218
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

We stayed one night with friends at the beginning December. As expected the staff were great, the rooms were very clean and comfortable and the food was delicious. If I have one criticism it is that the menu was very 'gamey' this time ie pigeon, mallard etc. Not to everyones liking.
This year we remembered to take our swimming costumes and had a great couple of hours to ourselves in the pool, sauna etc. Bliss! We will be going back next year.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

We arrived Sunday lunchtime for a one night stay and found the car park completely full.... slightly irritating but a good sign. Check-in was friendly and efficient and despite the dining room being full we were found a casual table for 6 and plied with fresh sandwiches and drinks. We had booked 3 double rooms all of which were huge, very well appointed and with fantastic views down the valley. The dinner and breakfast could not be faulted with ample choice and beautifully cooked.
The layout is quirky and a sat-nav would have been helpful in finding our room but this added to the charm. The temperature in the public areas was slightly too warm (but better than being too cold).
We had a delightful stay and will return.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

The best weekend we as friends have had for a long time.
16 for evening meal..5 courses ,just light bites, to start perfect,main meal was all so well cooked and we all got served together, sweets to die for too.well done to the staff,so kind and thoughtful ,
Rooms gorgeous,so was the Xmas tree! And breakfast very good,but in this day and age feel a little buffet type table would be welcome,I don't want someone asking me do I want rice krispies,weetabix etc i like to look and chose, perfection nearly lol,,

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, Somerset
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Visited here for a birthday treat. It is in a great location for the northern and more unspoilt part of the Lakes - great view from the hotel. It is rather dated in the common areas - 1980s' feel. Our room was in a rear wing and was quite small with a rather basic décor - more B&B than hotel. However it was clean and the bed was large. The only complaint was that we backed onto the kitchen and the refrigeration unit cut in and out all night and reverberated against the wall and was a bit annoying. However, the bed was comfortable and the owners and staff were really friendly and helpful providing ideas for walks and maps. The food was generous and well-cooked - sometimes a little old-fashioned but you certainly wouldn't go hungry and there was a different choice every night for the 3 nights we were there. The breakfast was freshly cooked to order and again was generous. If you are looking for a comfy hotel in a great position for walking then look no further - it is not a boutique hotel or luxury but it is cosy and what you see is what you get

Room Tip: Better off at the front of the hotel in the old part
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

I booked a table for Sunday lunch as a one off treat as I had heard how nice it was supposed to be and Im so glad I did. £24 per head for Sunday lunch may seem expensive but you get what you pay for. On arrival we were served drinks and directed into the lounge before being shown in to the dining room. The food was excellent, I had essentially what was the roast beef which yes I could have made at home but at that standard I was more than happy to pay. All three courses were delicious and after that tea and coffee was served in the lounge. Also whilst the food was good it wasn't overly fussy which is sometimes what takes over in higher class establishments. The standard of customer service was great, staff were very attentive and happy to help, the waiting on service was also very good there was very little waiting time in between courses (I did have to ask for more gravy as I felt there wasn't enough on the plate but more arrived no problem) . The hotel is set in such a beautiful place with stunning views that it makes it a very special place to dine I certainly hope to be returning in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

I stayed at the Lyzzick Hall in November. This family run hotel has wonderful views of the Lake District and its rooms are of a very high standard. The restaurant and bar area were warm and comfortable and the service was excellent as was the food. The bedroom area was adequate for my needs - the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom and shower had been modernised to a very high standard with good amenities such as shower gel and shampoo and a locally made soap. Breakfast in the morning was delicious - I will definitely go back to the Lyzzick Hall when I return to the area in the future whether it be for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lyzzick Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyzzick Hall Hotel

Address: Under Skiddaw | near Keswick, Castlerigg, Keswick CA12 4PY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Castlerigg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castlerigg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lyzzick Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Lyzzick Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hall Hotel Lyzzick

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lyzzick Hall Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.