We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lyzzick Hall Hotel

Save Saved
You added Lyzzick Hall Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Under Skiddaw | near Keswick, Castlerigg, Keswick CA12 4PY, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Castlerigg
Cumbria England
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

sue and I went to celebrate her birthday.We took along our own bottle of bubbly and cake which I thought was a bit of a nerve but the staff could not have been more welcoming or helpful gave us a filled ice bucket and even put the cake in the cool room for us.

Our room had a lovely view and we had a really good nights sleep even after all the cake and delicious evening meal. For a hotel it was really quiet. The meal at £34 for 4 courses and coffee was good value. The cheapest wines (always go for the cheap wine says Harry) was Spanish a bit heavy for our taste but a great improvement of the old Don Cortez that Sue probably had for her 21st!

The hotel fits its description a country house hotel in the Lakes in this part of the lakes it is difficult to get god long views but from the garden here they are perfect! The hotel even comes with a nice pool. Unfortunately it was far too hot on the day we were there to enjoy, save it for next time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    243
    59
    12
    1
    0
See reviews for
41
199
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night and was very pleasantly surprised at just how friendly and welcoming the staff were. Nothing was too much trouble. The rooms are stylish and immaculate, the location fantastic. We enjoyed chilled pimms and lemonade on the lawn taking in the breath taking views. Dinner was delicious with a good choice of wines. Contrary to some reviews, breakfast was also delicious and to a high standard. I found the hotel to be smart without being stuffy and overall a friendly and relaxing experience. Children are also made very welcome. Although not cheap I thought overall good value for money. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moffat
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Sadly, in the current economic climate, I had to cut down from my usual 7 nights in June to 4, but the welcome, the friendliness and the attention to detail made it a wonderful 4-day break away from routine. Being less abled and unable to walk far, I enjoy spending time in the Orangery reading a book with the bonus of having a wonderful view to glance at to rest the eyes. Fantastic as ever. Thank you again Lyzzick Hall :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wakefield
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 1 night in July, we could find no fault what-so-ever.....the rooms were spacious and very clean, with a gigantic comfortable bed......The views were to die for and the heated swimming pool and jucuzzi were fab !.....we ate the evening meal at the hotel and scored it higher than our favourite restaurant.....The young girl behind the reception could not do enough to help us ....very attentive as were all the other staff

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Have enjoyed many faultless meals, outstanding food, very friendly staff, nice atmosphere. Would highly recommend the set menu, always plenty to use from and cooked to perfection. Beautiful views very relaxing.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Actually thinking I shouldn't rave about this hotel as then everybody will want to stay there and we won't be able to! I travel a lot with work and I've stayed in some quite swanky hotels but this one is just exceptional. So much so that, even when looking really hard an being very fastidious, it was hard to find any fault at all. Yes it's not particularly boutique and quirky but the execution was faultless from start to finish - this hotel really delivers on service and quality. From arrival to departure the staff were tremendously helpful, down to earth and not at all pretentious. Our superior room was spacious and clean and probably worth the little bit extra just for the views. Oh and, whilst on the subject, the panorama from the hotel terrace were stunning on an evening - a great prelude to an expertly cooked, beautifully presented and reasonably priced dinner. And to top it all there's a pool, jacuzzi and sauna which are just perfect after a hard day on the fells. Happy days!

As far as details go the hotel is located just off the A591 (not as on Google Maps which suggests it's in the centre of Keswick) which itself is just off the A66 main road from Penrith - a doddle to find. There's plenty of parking and the car park is screened from the hotel by bushes so it doesn't interfere with the view. It's a short drive to Keswick which is lovely and the northern fells of the lakes are just a short drive away. Perfect.

Our room (Helvellyn) had a view over the lovingly maintained gardens (and we could also see if the pool was busy before we went down). It was spotless and nicely decorated. The bathroom had a nice big bath and a properly fierce shower (if you like that kind of thing). The laminate flooring wasn't dealing with the inevitable water splashes too well and the extractor fan liked announcing its presence but miniscule details really. Digital TV reception was dodgy but if you're there to shop on QVC or watch re-runs of Top Gear on Dave then maybe somewhere else might be better for you.

Dinner was just delightful. Lots of choice on the menu and the food was clearly cooked by a professional. The wife quite literally fell in love with the blade of beef main course. The dining room had some atmosphere and we found the waiting staff were spot on with their service. I have read some comments about the breakfast but I found it to be very good. OK perhaps the fruit, cereals and the like are sometimes better served buffet style but, in my opinion, you can't beat a freshly cooked fry up brought to your table. The wine selection was extensive although the full bodied house red was perfectly adequate. Hard to fault any area of the dining experience really.

To sum up the hotel's not cheap but then what is during the summer in the Lakes? I thought the value for money was very reasonable as it seemed expectations were met and mostly exceeded. Our children were away with grandma so the 3 night stay was our bit of grown up time and the quality of the hotel helped make it a wonderful break. I'd have no hesitation in booking this hotel again. Assuming everyone else hasn't got there first.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Lovely friendly staff who couldn't have been more charming or helpful, comfy rooms, fantastically comfortable beds, stunning location... Best of all was the food , which was really special... Overall Brilliant

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lyzzick Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyzzick Hall Hotel

Address: Under Skiddaw | near Keswick, Castlerigg, Keswick CA12 4PY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Castlerigg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Castlerigg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lyzzick Hall Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Lyzzick Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hall Hotel Lyzzick

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lyzzick Hall Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.