We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“absolutely fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lyzzick Hall Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Lyzzick Hall Hotel to your Saves list
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Under Skiddaw | near Keswick, Castlerigg, Keswick CA12 4PY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castlerigg
wakefield
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“absolutely fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 1 night in July, we could find no fault what-so-ever.....the rooms were spacious and very clean, with a gigantic comfortable bed......The views were to die for and the heated swimming pool and jucuzzi were fab !.....we ate the evening meal at the hotel and scored it higher than our favourite restaurant.....The young girl behind the reception could not do enough to help us ....very attentive as were all the other staff

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    63
    15
    1
    0
See reviews for
46
218
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Have enjoyed many faultless meals, outstanding food, very friendly staff, nice atmosphere. Would highly recommend the set menu, always plenty to use from and cooked to perfection. Beautiful views very relaxing.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Actually thinking I shouldn't rave about this hotel as then everybody will want to stay there and we won't be able to! I travel a lot with work and I've stayed in some quite swanky hotels but this one is just exceptional. So much so that, even when looking really hard an being very fastidious, it was hard to find any fault at all. Yes it's not particularly boutique and quirky but the execution was faultless from start to finish - this hotel really delivers on service and quality. From arrival to departure the staff were tremendously helpful, down to earth and not at all pretentious. Our superior room was spacious and clean and probably worth the little bit extra just for the views. Oh and, whilst on the subject, the panorama from the hotel terrace were stunning on an evening - a great prelude to an expertly cooked, beautifully presented and reasonably priced dinner. And to top it all there's a pool, jacuzzi and sauna which are just perfect after a hard day on the fells. Happy days!

As far as details go the hotel is located just off the A591 (not as on Google Maps which suggests it's in the centre of Keswick) which itself is just off the A66 main road from Penrith - a doddle to find. There's plenty of parking and the car park is screened from the hotel by bushes so it doesn't interfere with the view. It's a short drive to Keswick which is lovely and the northern fells of the lakes are just a short drive away. Perfect.

Our room (Helvellyn) had a view over the lovingly maintained gardens (and we could also see if the pool was busy before we went down). It was spotless and nicely decorated. The bathroom had a nice big bath and a properly fierce shower (if you like that kind of thing). The laminate flooring wasn't dealing with the inevitable water splashes too well and the extractor fan liked announcing its presence but miniscule details really. Digital TV reception was dodgy but if you're there to shop on QVC or watch re-runs of Top Gear on Dave then maybe somewhere else might be better for you.

Dinner was just delightful. Lots of choice on the menu and the food was clearly cooked by a professional. The wife quite literally fell in love with the blade of beef main course. The dining room had some atmosphere and we found the waiting staff were spot on with their service. I have read some comments about the breakfast but I found it to be very good. OK perhaps the fruit, cereals and the like are sometimes better served buffet style but, in my opinion, you can't beat a freshly cooked fry up brought to your table. The wine selection was extensive although the full bodied house red was perfectly adequate. Hard to fault any area of the dining experience really.

To sum up the hotel's not cheap but then what is during the summer in the Lakes? I thought the value for money was very reasonable as it seemed expectations were met and mostly exceeded. Our children were away with grandma so the 3 night stay was our bit of grown up time and the quality of the hotel helped make it a wonderful break. I'd have no hesitation in booking this hotel again. Assuming everyone else hasn't got there first.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Lovely friendly staff who couldn't have been more charming or helpful, comfy rooms, fantastically comfortable beds, stunning location... Best of all was the food , which was really special... Overall Brilliant

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Pros: stunning views, very peaceful, friendly staff, big enough to feel comfortable but small enough to be personable, good location, good bar, excellent restaurant, clean and well appointed rooms, nice pool and sauna

Cons: quality of breakfast cooking (particularly the eggs) was a big disappointment - the standard in the Lakes is usually very high. But, apart from that, nothing really

Conclusion: excellent hotel with mod cons and even a pool. Not as cosy as a B&B but staff are very personable and friendly. Will return.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Staying nearby for a few days so tried Lyzzick for our first evening meal.

The setting is sublime, under Skiddaw with beautiful views westward.

The restaurant itself was very elegant, linen tablecloths etc.

The menu choices were good and not excessively priced considering the food was an excellent standard and beautifully presented. Four courses and a decent bottle of wine came in at just under £100 for two of us.

The restaurant staff were excellent and the courses were unhurried. The overall feeling was an assurance of high standard not seen often now days and did give a somewhat retro feel which was charming.

No sign of Basil Fawlty but we did spot a middle-aged Manuel who served our wine.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We went for a Lunch treat and came away unable to praise the place highly enough. The Food was excellent, the staff friendly and courteous and the view from the Dinning Room and Lounge is superb. Based upon our short visit I can highly recommend and would love to go back for at least an overnight stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lyzzick Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyzzick Hall Hotel

Address: Under Skiddaw | near Keswick, Castlerigg, Keswick CA12 4PY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Castlerigg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castlerigg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lyzzick Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Lyzzick Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hall Hotel Lyzzick

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lyzzick Hall Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.