We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The other reviewers are right!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lyzzick Hall Hotel

Save Saved
You added Lyzzick Hall Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Under Skiddaw | near Keswick, Castlerigg, Keswick CA12 4PY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Castlerigg
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“The other reviewers are right!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed here for a weekend with friends on their recommendation so I read Tripadvisor afterwards. There is nothing more to add about this charming country house hotel with good food and warm, friendly staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    250
    59
    14
    1
    0
See reviews for
43
204
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Lyzzick Hall Hotel hardly needs my endorsement it is so well liked. It is a touch of luxury that we'd looked forward to throughout all the dismal "help yourself to how much you can stomach" lukewarm breakfasts on cold plates we'd had over the last couple of years.

These breakfasts are wonderful and served to you on plates that will truly burn your fingers if you are silly enough to touch them! Surely this should be compulsory. And the evening meals are superb with plenty of choice on the 4 course menu with coffee/tea afterwards. Add to that a wine list that has something for everyone and you cannot go wrong.

The rooms are excellent too - ours was one of those on the front with amazing views of the hills. Clean and well appointed this was everything we had hoped for. It was 15 years since our last visit and sometimes you can tarnish the memories by returning.....but not in this case.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed 3 nights in CatBells, said to be the best room, and it was certainly a lovely room with great views in two directions.

It's owned and partly staffed by a Spanish family, and this is reflected in the menu - quails and wild boar, and lots of great Spanish wine.

The staff are uniformly friendly and efficient.

A highlight was tea on the terrace in (amazingly) Bank Holiday sunshine.

In the evenings, the 4-course set dinner is unavoidable. The food is very good, but you need a good appetite to do it justice - running up and down Skiddaw a few times before dinner might be a good idea.

Service at meals is maybe a little too speedy, and however charming the smile, it doesn't seem right to whip away one person's plate when the other is still eating, or are we alone in thinking this?

That's the only niggle, though.

Room Tip: number 2 Catbells is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Took my wife here for her 30th birthday and it was brilliant! We stayed in the room called 'catbells' the views were to die for. All the staff were friendly and the food was brilliant! The icing on the cake was the biggest selection of riojas I have ever seen!! Cant wait to return. Well done!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

From the moment you arrive at this hotel you feel very welcomed and looked after. The hotel is set in lovely gardens beneath the hills leading to Skiddaw. The public rooms are gracious and very comfortable. Our superior bedroom was not particularly big but very comfortable with a great bathroom and all the comforts we needed. We had a swim in the pool which was good but the pool decor was feeling a little jaded but this was the only part of the hotel which felt like this - everywhere else was beautifully appointed and the orangerie was a wonderful room in which to sit prior to dinner. The food at dinner was lovely and the service was attentive if a tiny bit quick - but we really enjoyed our meal which had some real flair about it and was really good fine dining. We had a fantatsic night's sleep - the hotel was really quiet. Breakfast was served in the lovely dining room and was really delicious. The staff were wonderful. We had a great night's stay and I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who enjoys a freindly welcome, comfort, great food and beautiful surroundings.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Our first time at this hotel and we certainly weren't disappointed. The views over the fells are lovely, which we enjoyed from the corner of the well-kept garden on a sunny spring afternoon. Very friendly staff throughout, with excellent food and very efficient, attentive service in the restaurant. We had a very comfortable room with a very large bed a modern bathroom, my husband was particularly impressed with the lovely deep bath that filled up in minutes !! We also used the leisure facilities, which includes a sauna, a 'pool with a view' and a Jacuzzi. We would certainly visit again and recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We booked in last minute after being let down by another local hotel. What a lovely surprise, after driving past the hotel numerous times, i was amazed at the surroundings and facilities. Lovely decoration throughout but still the cosy charm. I can honestly say I felt more relaxed than I have ever done in a hotel before. The bed was so comfortable I almost felt like I was at home. The views from the room outstanding and lovely friendly staff. The food was outstanding. Will definitely return and recommend to others.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lyzzick Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyzzick Hall Hotel

Address: Under Skiddaw | near Keswick, Castlerigg, Keswick CA12 4PY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Castlerigg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Castlerigg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lyzzick Hall Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Lyzzick Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hall Hotel Lyzzick

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lyzzick Hall Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.