We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stott Park Bobbin Mill

Stott Park Bobbin Mill
Colton, Ulverston LA12 8AX, England
01539 531087
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 18 Attractions in Ulverston
Type: Historic Sites, Cultural
Attraction details
Middlesex
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A great place to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We decided to stop of here as we were passing and have English Heritage membership and we were very pleased we did. You take a tour round the mill, the guide was very interesting and really bought to life how people used to live and work in the mill. Takes about an hour to do the guided tour and well worth stopping off if you are passing by.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    4
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
272 reviews 272 reviews
125 attraction reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“A Walk Down Memory Lane”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

This is the last bobbin mill in the Lake District so very special. The mill is under the care of English Heritage who are doing a great job. The information boards are very useful and informative. We were shown around the mill by Neal and had a demonstration of the machinery by Tracey who were great and answered all our queries. Photography is allowed inside. The whole site is well maintained and is a very pretty location. Well signposted so easy to find. Loved the whole visit and can really recommend a visit. Good safe car park and plenty of toilets.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“You can;t miss out on this gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

As an English Heritage member, I like using my membership to see what is available wherever I am on holiday. So during our week long trip up to the lakes ensured that we visited Stott Park Bobbin Mill. What an experience. You can only view the mill by taking the scheduled tour and what a pleasure. The two ladies were really enthusiastic and very knowledgeable, not only about the mill and its history but also about the Cumbria area in general. Well worth the visit as it brings history to life!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Bob-on for the Bobbin Mill”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

My first reaction on hearing that we were to visit a bobbin mill was a complete lack of enthusiasm or interest! What a mistake, because thanks to the very enthusiastic and very knowledgeable English Heritage staff we had a great time. This is the sort of attraction that deserves to succeed in that it offers a practical tour where you can watch actual bobbins being made by one of the staff, and you can learn about the working lives of the original mill staff during the difficult Victorian times and right up to 1971 when it closed. The staff were almost 100% male ranging in age from about 7 years old to workers still going in their 80s, they were paid a pittance, were obviously taken advantage of, but the loyalty that bobbin making engendered was amazing though the lack of alternative work in the area may have had something to do with that!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buxton, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“A trip into the past”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

What a great find out in the Lake District, wonderfully restored full of rich history you can imagine life in the past.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stott Park Bobbin Mill also viewed

 

Been to Stott Park Bobbin Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stott Park Bobbin Mill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.