We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Tea I have ever had” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gillam's

Gillam's
64 Market Street, Ulverston LA12 7LT, England
01229 587564
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 54 restaurants in Ulverston
Cuisines: Vegetarian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Best Tea I have ever had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This is an excellent establishment and it is well worth a visit. I like the Tippy Assam Tea but there is plenty of choice. The sandwiches and cakes are also very nice.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

79% Recommend
    35
    12
    7
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Coniston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Best Place in Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

You really must visit Gillams In Ulverston. It is an old fashioned tea room, where you can always be guaranteed a very warm welcome by all the staff.
Dougie the owner always makes time to see you, even though he is so busy.
There is a wonderful old black range with a roaring fire, and a good selection of magazines.
All the food is homemade and so tasty.
Little Gillams tea party is a must if you have young ones, it is their very own afternoon tea, on a red spotted tea set.
Its popularity speaks volumes, and the owners deserve the success, as they put their heart and soul in making your visit special everytime.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
“Warm and comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Visited this cafe on a cold Boxing Day. A large open grate fire welcomed customers into a small but very pleasant room. Service was efficient and friendly. The menu was satisfactory with many choices.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stopped in here after a wet walk around Ulverston, we were lured in bu the Hairy Biker review on the board outside.

The restaurnt is warm and cosy and there was a real fire burning away which was very welcoming, for a tea-room the menu was quite varied and reasonably priced.

We opted for the creamy mushrooms on toast (Hairy Biker reccomended) and a jacket potato with cheese. The mushroom on toast was wonderful, and had a very distinctive taste. The cheese on the jacket potato was lovely and the homemade colesaw was a nice touch, portion sizes were good and the sevice was pleasant.

There was a great selection of tea and coffee available and we opted for a fruity tea, can't remember the name but it had an earl grey base and was delicious and a latte which was very tasty.

My only criticism is that the vegetarian only menu wasn't apparent from the outside, had we looked at Tripavdisor first we would have known, but it took me a few minutes of looking through the menu to find a ham roll to go with my soup (first choice of food) to realise that the restaurant was vegetarian!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulverston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Good, honest cafe food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Offers a very traditional range of cafe food, from welsh rarebit to 'a bit and a sup' and with a vast selection of different tea's and organic beverages. A very quaint old fashioned cafe with heart warming, quality food.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gillam's also viewed

 
Ulverston, Cumbria
Ulverston, Cumbria
 

Been to Gillam's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gillam's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.