We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Value” 2 of 5 stars
Review of General Burgoyne

General Burgoyne
Church Road | Great Urswick, Ulverston LA12 0SZ, England
+44 1229 586394
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 56 Restaurants in Ulverston
Cuisines: British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Poor Value”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

We were introduced to this pub/restaurant by friends who had enjoyed a previous visit. We were all disappointed on this occasion. I had the, "Retro catch of the day" which turned out to be the smallest seabass fillet I have ever seen on a weird bed of something described as a medley of veg. It looked like thinly sliced cucumber.That fish should not have been landed, it was very undersized. My friends had the belly pork, again a tiny portion on a bed of mash. I did complain to the waiter who stated that he also thought my portion was small but nothing came of it and one doesn't want to spoil everyone's night by making a big issue of it. As no one responded to my complaint I decided to make it on TA. A bit too nouveau cuisine for me, especially for a pub/ restaurant, and on this occasion, poor value.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
generalburgoyne, Owner at General Burgoyne, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
So sorry to hear your experience of our cosy country pub did not live up to your expectations. We are not a run of the mill pub serving 'pile it high sell it cheap' style food - we prefer to focus on serving excellent quality homemade dishes - absolutely everything we serve is made here in our kitchen including our bread and ice creams - quite unique in the area.

Having spoken to every member of my staff, nobody recalls your comments or complaint. I can only apologise nothing was done about your concerns, we do try our very best to ensure we please every customer.. We serve quality food, big on flavour. The 'Catch of the Day' dish is a lighter fish dish, very well suited to those customers who want to ensure room for pudding! Your visit must have been some time ago as seabass is no longer in season. We only use locally line caught bass, which this year has been huge, and hugely popular. The medley of veg you refer to is sauteed potatoes, courgette (not cucumber), spring onions, mange tout, and fresh herbs. The belly pork dish has always generated comments of how generous the portion is and how deliciously big the flavours are, with the pork slowly braised overnight and served with homemade jus (real gravy - no packet stuff here!)

So sorry 'Outbackdel' that you feel your meals were poor value, but that that rather depends on what you consider value to be - quantity or quality. Had you wished for a bigger portion of food perhaps you would have been more suited to ordering the traditional beer battered fish and chips or 10oz steak, chips, mushroom, tomato and onion rings - pub classics and certainly not nouveau cuisine, or we could have provided you with a side order of our delicious chips had you felt the need to fill up on volume.

We are most definitely a cosy country pub (not restaurant) serving great quality food in warm welcoming surroundings, as the volume of repeat custom and entry into numerous food guides supports.

We do hope you consider visiting us again in the future to allow us the opportunity to please and maybe offer advice on suitably sized meals for the larger appetite.

Kind Regards

Louise Sherrington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    35
    28
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Mixed experiences”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Visited twice in September: once for weekday lunch and another for afternoon tea.
Lunch was delicious - a platter for one of us and a beef sandwich with scrummy soup for the other. Service was outstanding and friendly.
The second visit left a lot to be desired: The savoury items of our afternoon tea was tasty but the cakes were disappointing - poor macaroons and the cake that I suspect had been removed from the freezer earlier - no problem with that, but it was burned! We asked for a replacement - not as badly burned but dry. Service was friendly. Afternoon tea based on our experience - not recommended sadly.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
generalburgoyne, Owner at General Burgoyne, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visits to our cosy country pub. We're pleased to hear you consider our service to be good and you enjoyed your lunchtime visit. We're disappointed to hear our seasonal afternoon tea did not live up to your expectations and you considered the Prune & Manuka Honey Slice to be burned, then dry, and the Chocolate & Pistachio Macaroons not to be good. I can only apologise for our shortfall on this occasion - the macaroons are served with all of our hot drinks and we have received many complimentary comments, whilst the Prune Slice although being a sponge based cake is very rich and dark in colour, all I can think is the dark colour the prunes give may have given the appearance of being overcooked.

I sincerely apologise for any dissatisfaction you experienced and do hope you visit again, maybe for an evening meal, when I am sure you will see just why we're one of the few establishments in South Cumbria to have achieved recognition in The Good Food Guide 2013 & 2014 amongst numerous other awards.

We look forward to welcoming you to the General Burgoyne in the future.

Kind Regards

Louise Sherrington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Eaton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good food in a pleasing atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This pub has two distinct areas, the old pub part and a newer conservatory style area. Each has a character of its own.

The food is of a high quality at a reasonable price bearing in mind it is close to the National Park where prices seem to jump up.

Well worth a visit.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
generalburgoyne, Owner at General Burgoyne, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent visit. We're pleased to hear you enjoyed the food in our cosy country pub and look forward to welcoming you in the future.

Kind Regards

Louise Sherrington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Sunday Lunch a must”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Stopped off at this great little pub and restaraunt for Sunday lunch with a friend on our way back to Scotland. Definately worth the detour. Ham hock terrine for starters followed by roast lamb and all the trimmings. I usually stay away from Sunday roasts as the roast potatoes always tend to be like bullets and you can often see the plate through the thin slice of meat. Not the case here. Really lovely. Two generous slices of lamb with freshly cooked vegetables and the roasties were delicious. Could have done with a few more they were so good but saying that the portions were good and we left replete and very satisfied. Excellent service and value for money. Highly recommend and will go again when next in the area. The young waiting staff were really lovely too and very obliging. Would be a lovely place to go on a winters evening. Very cosy and welcoming.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
generalburgoyne, Owner at General Burgoyne, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of Sunday lunch at the Burgoyne, and for the detour en route to Scotland!

Good to hear you enjoyed our Sunday lunch - a very satisfying and comforting meal - not quite sure how you managed to continue the drive north - I'd have rather put my feet up and had a snooze!! Well done you :-)

We look forward to welcoming you to our cosy country pub on any future visits to the area.

Kind Regards,

Louise Sherrington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbria
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Nice meal, friendly staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I went here for the Sunday roast with a friend, we ordered soap for starters then a roast. Staff were friendly and checked everything was ok with the meal, food was nice but nothing special and could have done with a bit more veg.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
generalburgoyne, Owner at General Burgoyne, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent visit to our cosy country pub. We're pleased to hear you enjoyed your meals, but are surprised to hear you view our Sunday roast as nothing special as we've often been told its the best in the area. The veg we serve are a little bit different from the norm - dauphinoise potatoes, butternut squash and savoy cabbage, although we're not sure Sunday roast could be described as a particularly exciting meal, more satisfying and comforting. Although the servings of Sunday roast vegetable platters are quite large had you wished to have more veg, all you needed to do was ask - this would not have been a problem in the slightest.

We do hope you choose to visit us again when you may decide to be a bit more adventurous and discover that our food is indeed really quite special - certainly not the norm for a village pub!

Kind Regards

Craig & Louise Sherrington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed General Burgoyne also viewed

 
Ulverston, Cumbria
 

Been to General Burgoyne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage General Burgoyne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.