We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food in a pleasing atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of General Burgoyne

General Burgoyne
Church Road | Great Urswick, Ulverston LA12 0SZ, England
01229586394
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 55 Restaurants in Ulverston
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Long Eaton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good food in a pleasing atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This pub has two distinct areas, the old pub part and a newer conservatory style area. Each has a character of its own.

The food is of a high quality at a reasonable price bearing in mind it is close to the National Park where prices seem to jump up.

Well worth a visit.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
generalburgoyne, Owner at General Burgoyne, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent visit. We're pleased to hear you enjoyed the food in our cosy country pub and look forward to welcoming you in the future.

Kind Regards

Louise Sherrington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    31
    26
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Sunday Lunch a must”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Stopped off at this great little pub and restaraunt for Sunday lunch with a friend on our way back to Scotland. Definately worth the detour. Ham hock terrine for starters followed by roast lamb and all the trimmings. I usually stay away from Sunday roasts as the roast potatoes always tend to be like bullets and you can often see the plate through the thin slice of meat. Not the case here. Really lovely. Two generous slices of lamb with freshly cooked vegetables and the roasties were delicious. Could have done with a few more they were so good but saying that the portions were good and we left replete and very satisfied. Excellent service and value for money. Highly recommend and will go again when next in the area. The young waiting staff were really lovely too and very obliging. Would be a lovely place to go on a winters evening. Very cosy and welcoming.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
generalburgoyne, Owner at General Burgoyne, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of Sunday lunch at the Burgoyne, and for the detour en route to Scotland!

Good to hear you enjoyed our Sunday lunch - a very satisfying and comforting meal - not quite sure how you managed to continue the drive north - I'd have rather put my feet up and had a snooze!! Well done you :-)

We look forward to welcoming you to our cosy country pub on any future visits to the area.

Kind Regards,

Louise Sherrington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbria
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Nice meal, friendly staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I went here for the Sunday roast with a friend, we ordered soap for starters then a roast. Staff were friendly and checked everything was ok with the meal, food was nice but nothing special and could have done with a bit more veg.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
generalburgoyne, Owner at General Burgoyne, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent visit to our cosy country pub. We're pleased to hear you enjoyed your meals, but are surprised to hear you view our Sunday roast as nothing special as we've often been told its the best in the area. The veg we serve are a little bit different from the norm - dauphinoise potatoes, butternut squash and savoy cabbage, although we're not sure Sunday roast could be described as a particularly exciting meal, more satisfying and comforting. Although the servings of Sunday roast vegetable platters are quite large had you wished to have more veg, all you needed to do was ask - this would not have been a problem in the slightest.

We do hope you choose to visit us again when you may decide to be a bit more adventurous and discover that our food is indeed really quite special - certainly not the norm for a village pub!

Kind Regards

Craig & Louise Sherrington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“- disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We went as a group of friends celebrating an anniversary, having heard such good things.
Only three ordered starters which was fine but then we had a 40 minute wait before our mains. The consensus was that some were really good and others were not up to par. The burger was a little dry and the rib eye steak was not very good.
We ordered our desserts, really looking forward to them and the waitress came and told us that two of them were not available. How disappointing. There was not a great choice of desserts anyway. Bearing in mind we had paid £10 deposit each and had not just walked in of the street.
The waitresses were very pleasant but we felt very rushed towards the end of the evening.
We were thinking of booking for the French evening but as the evening went on we have changed our minds.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
generalburgoyne, Owner at General Burgoyne, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
So sorry to hear you feel your experience at the General Burgoyne was not as good as expected. I can only apologise if you experienced a wait for your main courses, the evening you visited was very busy, and when a number of tables order around the same time this can produce a slightly longer wait, as everything we serve is homemade and cooked to order.

Every table is checked on during every course, giving the customer the opportunity to express any dissatisfaction. We do find it rather hurtful when customers declare everything is lovely, then go on to publicly say they were disappointed. We are real people running a small family business and ask for your feedback at the time in order that we can put any problems right. It would have been most helpful if you could have said what the problem was with the rib eye steaks, enabling us to give our butcher feedback.

We are unique in the area in that absolutely everything we serve we make ourselves, so if a dish is popular , we may unfortunately run out. I can only apologise that 2 of our 7 desserts had sold out.

For a party of your size and considering we are only a small establishment, we do ask for a deposit and pre order. For anyone placing a pre order, we will of course be able to guarantee availability of starter, main and dessert.

We aim to satisfy every one of our customers and it is certainly not our aim to make customers feel rushed - all I can think is you were offered a more comfortable seat in our lounge after your meal - the purpose of this is good customer service, and most certainly not to make you feel in any way rushed.

Sorry to hear you have decided not to book for our 'Good Food Would Choose Bordeaux' Dinner - this is our third such annual event, and very popular, with only a few spaces still available. We can guarantee you're missing a very special evening.

We do genuinely apologise for any shortcomings during your experience, and do hope you will choose to re-visit us when we can provide you with a more satisfactory experience.

Louise Sherrington
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urswick, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“As good as ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We booked for a meal as a family on a Saturday night late August (used our great value Bay vouchers), this is somewhere we eat quit often and as ever each and everyone enjoyed their meals from the Deli board to the Steak, cooked and served to our requirements I would like to say a big thank you to Craig and the Team keep up the good work.

one grumble we like the window table (unfortunately you can't book this table) not even locals ha

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
generalburgoyne, Owner at General Burgoyne, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time post a review of your recent experience with us. We're very pleased to hear you enjoyed your meals.

You're not alone in being disappointed we don't take bookings for tables in the snug area. We only take reservations for the orangery as we're a pub and want to remain a pub - as soon as we allow all table to be booked, we become a restaurant. We feel customers should be able to take at a chance at walking in and getting a table, whether they wish to dine, or just enjoy a few drinks. I'm sure you'll understand that we'd have mutiny on our hands if we allowed this particular table to be reserved - mainly from other locals who also prefer this table - and we're not about to start WW3!! ;-)

Having reserved a table in the orangery dining room, you are of course welcome to sit at any of the snug tables if they're available when you arrive!!

Thank you again for your review and your continued custom. See you again soon!!

Craig, Louise & The Burgoyne Team (aka TeamGB!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed General Burgoyne also viewed

 
Ulverston, Cumbria
Ulverston, Cumbria
 

Been to General Burgoyne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage General Burgoyne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.