We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Will Be Back Again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of General Burgoyne

General Burgoyne
Church Road | Great Urswick, Ulverston LA12 0SZ, England
+44 1229 586394
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 56 Restaurants in Ulverston
Cuisines: British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Urswick, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“We Will Be Back Again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Not our first visit to this pub, we had a wonderful evening at the General Burgoyne Sat 16th March, Family of 4. We sat near the warm fire which was very cosy and ambient. The food was all perfectly cooked and beautifully presented. Laura and her staff excellent service as always well looked after.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
generalburgoyne, Owner at General Burgoyne, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of the General Burgoyne. Good to hear you enjoyed your meals, and good to hear you'll be back! I will pass on your comments to Laura, she'll be very pleased to hear that her and her team are pleasing customers.

Kind Regards

Louise Sherrington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    35
    28
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Sunday Lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Decided to go out for Sunday lunch and chose the General Burgoyne as we have never been before. Rang on our way to see if we needed to book, we were told we did and they were full but would try and accommodate us. We arrived and we were seated in front of the bar on a thin small table, bit cramped for the 3 of us but ok! We were given menus and a plate with 2 specials although 1 wasn't available! Starters arrived and the Chicken & Chorizo paella was cold, I informed the waitress who said she would tell the chef. Next the mains arrived and the roast chicken dinner was missing the stuffing, we told the waitress who brought some on a separate plate. We ordered deserts and after waiting quite a while the waitress advised us there was going to be a delay then we were told they didn't have the correct ice cream for the chocolate brownie sundae and they would be using an alternative. Despite a few mishaps the food was lovely just a shame everything wasn't as you would expect. Just to end my review, I wouldn't say it was appropriate for the waitresses to use the F word when chatting amongst themselves in front of customers and children!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
generalburgoyne, Owner at General Burgoyne, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank You for your review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your meal on what was a very busy Sunday. We are very busy every weekend and it really is best to book as the few bar tables we do have fill up very quickly with guests arriving 'on spec'. I can only apologise that the risotto was not of a suitable temperature and trust that the replacement was satisfactory.

Regarding the language of one of our members of staff, I am absolutely appalled to hear of this and shall address the matter immediately. Please accept my apologies for any offence caused.

Everything we serve at the General Burgoyne is freshly prepared to order and as such dishes do occasionally sell out, we do not serve the type of food which can be held in unlimited quantities in the kitchen - the specials dish you refer to was a Chicken Liver and Jack Daniels Parfait, which was exceptionally good as proven by the fact it sold out very very quickly on Sunday!

I do hope you visit us again and allow us to provide you with a more satisfactory experience than you experienced yesterday.

Kind Regards

Louise Sherrington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best restaurant around by a mile!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Me and my partner love this place, it knocks everywhere else out of the water! We don't even mind paying the 10 pound taxi fair to get there when we fancy a few wines because its a lovely cosy little pub the service is wonderful the girls are lovely polite and friendly and the food is second to none! They have a dish of the day and every time me or my partner have tried these they have been outstanding and the menu itself is also fantastic there is a lot of effort put into the food and the service and it is well worth the price, go and try it! I promise u won't regret it!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
generalburgoyne, Owner at General Burgoyne, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review of our cosy country pub! Pleased to hear you enjoyed your meal, and have enjoyed previous visits. As you'll already be aware, everything we do is homemade and freshly prepared to order using top quality local produce. The specials give Craig freedom to make use of the freshest seasonal ingredients and produce restaurant style dishes in a pub environment.

We look forward to seeing you again, and providing you with many more enjoyable evenings at 'The Burgoyne'

Kind Regards
Louise Sherrington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Walking in there was a lovely atmosphere with the fire burning, we had drinks in the waiting area where we ordered our food. Then we went to our table and the starts were served which looked and tasted delicious, then the mains arrived and they were a very good size ans tasted wondered. One of the best fish and chips I've had. Then we ordered desserts a chocolate brownie and ice cream, the flavours were great. Overall we had a lovely evening and everyone enjoyed their food, we will definitely be returning.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
generalburgoyne, Owner at General Burgoyne, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our cosy country pub. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your meal and your evening in general. Regular customers of ours would agree with you regarding the Fish and Chips - we use only the best quality fresh haddock, fresh beer batter, chunky chips and homemade tartare sauce - delicious! And the Chocolate Brownie Sundae - scrummy!

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Kind Regards

Louise Sherrington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Highly recommend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We recently visited the Burgoyne upon a recommendation. We had a fantastic meal which was served by friendly professional staff. I particularly enjoyed the lemon meringue pie which was served with peach sorbie... To die for!!!! Will be returning very soon

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
generalburgoyne, Owner at General Burgoyne, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review of the General Burgoyne. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your meal - especially the Lemon Meringue Pie which was a special during British Pie Week where we out on a different Pie (savoury and sweet) every night of the week, and which went down very well!

We look forward to seeing you again soon,

Kind Regards,
Louise Sherrignton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed General Burgoyne also viewed

 
Ulverston, Cumbria
 

Been to General Burgoyne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage General Burgoyne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.