We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gourmet Evening at the General Burgoyne” 5 of 5 stars
Review of General Burgoyne

General Burgoyne
Church Road | Great Urswick, Ulverston LA12 0SZ, England
01229586394
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 55 Restaurants in Ulverston
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Ulverston, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Gourmet Evening at the General Burgoyne”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Had a wonderful evening at the General Burgoyne on one of their gourmet evenings. Seven delicious courses with matched wines - a really special treat. The standard of cooking was really high and the service was friendly and well paced. Highly recommended.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
generalburgoyne, Owner at General Burgoyne, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for you lovely review Lisa. We are so very pleased you enjoyed your evening and to hear that the meal was well paced. Our gourmet evenings book up months in advance but it is always good to hear we are getting it right on the night :-)

We look forward to seeing you again,

Louise & Craig Sherrington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    31
    26
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
DALTON, CUMBRIA, UK
1 review
“The Alternative Pub!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

We are both local to the area and decided to try here for somewhere that was a little bit different. This is what we found...
Lovely surroundings and furnishings. We sat near the warm fire which was very cosy and ambient.
The food was all perfectly cooked and beautifully presented. Everything was seasoned well.
We had Confit of Duck, Rarebit for starters.
Haddock Florentine, Sirlon Steak for mains. (Steak was excellent and cooked perfectly).
For puddings we had Orange Pannacota and bf had the Traditional Peanuts and a pint. Both were fun and very enjoyable!
Staff were polite and attentive.
Overall an excellent evening and will be definitely coming back!
Go here if you want a pub with a difference and you know you can get quality food and service!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
generalburgoyne, Owner at General Burgoyne, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you very much for your complimentary review of our cosy country pub. We do indeed strive to produce the best quality dishes using top quality local seasonal produce, something a little bit different to the standard pub fayre. Thank you for your comments on service - I shall pass them on to our front of house staff. Glad you enjoyed the dishes you chose and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards

Louise Sherrington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulverston
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Cosy winters evening at The Burgoyne”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Great meal at The General Burgoyne. We were there on the first night of their new menu (which had something for everyone) and must say we had a lovely cosy evening and the food was delicious!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
generalburgoyne, Owner at General Burgoyne, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review of the General Burgoyne. Our new menu has been very well received so far, and we're pleased you consider there to be something for everyone - that's excatly the way we planned it - to provide really great food, perhaps something a little bit different to what you may expect from a pub, but still retain the old favourites like fish and chips - after all we are a pub not a restaurant!

Look forward to seeing you again soon,

Kind Regards
Louise Sherrington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalton-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent food and great service, recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

My wife and I went here expecting average food however we were pleasently surprised by the new high quality a la carte menu. The food was a little pricey for us, starters from £4.95 for soup and mains from £10.95-£17.95 and sweets from £4.95 for ice cream. However they participate in The Bay voucher scheme, so it works out very reasonable for the quality of food.

The lasagne was not like any I'd had before but it was fantastic. My wife had the pork which she said was also very good. Both desserts were also fantastic, I had the Peanuts & A Pint (see photo) which was defintely worth trying.

The ale is good and the snug area was very nice to sit in after the meal. The service was great and the landlady (presumably) very welcoming.

The extension to the pub where most of the meals are served seems to be lacking a little atmosphere and next time I think we would prefer to eat in the main pub.

Just a couple of small critisisms. They use paper napkins. If I'm paying quote a lot of money for a nice meal, I want a decent napkin. Also, on a couple of occasions, the cutlery wasn't present for the meals and the waitress leaned across people instead of walking around and serving from the side. Obviously these things can be easily solved.

All in all, a very enjoyable meal and evening and I will definately be going back (but probably with another voucher !)

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
generalburgoyne, Owner at General Burgoyne, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank You for your 5 star review of the General Burgoyne. Reviews as comprehensive and constructive as yours are very useful to us in identifying and resolving training issues and giving us further points to consider. In the day to day running of a business, we don't always see the same things a customer does, so it is very helpful to have issues pointed out and highlighted in order for us to give them due thought and consideration.

We are very pleased you and your wife enjoyed your meal, obviously an issue such as price is very subjective as is each individuals perception of the value they put on freshly prepared home cooked dishes using top quality ingredients and local suppliers.

We launch Bay Radio vouchers 2-3 times per year, so do listen out for our next batch. We also publish an e-newsletter every 6 weeks or so which you can sign up to through our website should you wish to keep up to date with whats going on at 'The Burgoyne'.

Thank you again for your kind words, we hope to see you again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Louise Sherrington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarm, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“One of the best Sunday lunches we've ever had.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

In the 60's & 70's this pub was one of our favourites; No longer living in the area but often call in when we're visiting and went for lunch recently with friends, last minute decision. Couldn't have picked a better place. Food was excellent and staff most welcoming. Loved the assortment of veg. so much nicer than the (often) usual sliced carrots & cold broccoli! Would definitely recommend it and will be there on our next visit to the area.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
generalburgoyne, Owner at General Burgoyne, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you for your recent review and your kind words. We have often been told ours is the best roast in the area. We do strive to do things a little bit differently at the Burgoyne which is why we provide interesting vegetables with our Sunday Roast, dauphinoise potatoes, savoy cabbage, butternut squash, and of course it has to be homemade beef gravy!!

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards
Louise Sherrington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed General Burgoyne also viewed

Ulverston, Cumbria
Ulverston, Cumbria
 

Been to General Burgoyne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage General Burgoyne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.