We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Posh pub.Very Obliging Staff, fantastic Meals and live Football. A dream pub” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Farmhouse

The Old Farmhouse
Priory Road, Ulverston LA12 9HR, England
01229 480324
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 56 Restaurants in Ulverston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Sheffield
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
“Posh pub.Very Obliging Staff, fantastic Meals and live Football. A dream pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We were looking for somewhere to watch the Championship playoff final on Sjy TV and have a meal at the same time on Bank Holiday Monday 27th May 2013. Saw the sign outside with Sky Sports so went in with wives and kids and the landlady was only too happy to turn the channel onto Sky Sports One for us with 4 TV's inc a huge screen. Really posh pub too not the rough ones with dodgy looking customers one usually gets with live football. So we watched the game and enjoyed really excellent meal with fresh broccoli and cauliflower with our selections which inc chicken and pies. Meals around £10 - £12 but well worth it. They do 2 courses for £8.99 until 5pm midweek I understand. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    53
    28
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good Food But Not So Great Wait!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Went out for a birthday meal with the family.... Went in greeted nicely, shown to out table (love the rustic style), witch was quite a big table as there was 10 of us! Drinks and food order was take by friendly staff... but then.. unfortunately end up waiting 45mins for just 3 peoples starters as most of us were having a main and dessert but soon as the starters were finished the food kept flowing... so overall what could of been a blip in the middle of the meal... everything turned out to be a good Birthday Bash!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nothing but the best...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

it's been a while since we visted the Old Farmhouse, but we have to say that it will not be so long until the next time!! The efficiency of the waiting staff was above standard comparedbto what would be expected of a pub/restaurant... the food received was not just tasty but plenty of it, however there was a wait for food, but it was so good when it came that we couldn't complain!! Would definately reccommend to friends and would compketely disagree with the previous review saying it was "terrible"...

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Horrendous wait and service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

Party of 11 of us sat at 17:30 we got our starters 45 minutes later only 3 of us had starters another 15/20 minutes went by until we had our mains food was not brilliant after such a wait it was Luke warm and considering the wait I thought a lot of preparation and time would have been put in to it but it wasn't, no members of the waitin staff came over to ask if everything was ok with the meal, we got the bill at 19:40 terrible service

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulverston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Appaling service!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

The 5 of us went there yesterday for early dinner. We were seated without a problem, no reservation required. The waitress took about 10 minutes to come round and take our drink orders and didn't even ask if we wanted to order food already. It took her about 15 minutes to come back with drinks. At that point she again didn't ask if we were ready to order, just turned around and left. When called after her asking if we could order the food, she said yes but I need to take order from the table next to yours as they came first. We said ok, hoping she'll take their order and then ours. No, she took their order, then order from the table that came after us, dissapeared for 10 minutes and then graced us with her presence asking if we were ready to order.
We asked for a roast which was gone by this time and she wanted to wander off again "to give us time to think". Only very strong NO made her stop and wait for a minute as we changed our minds and picked something that was available.
After that we got our food in about 20 minutes. The food was very nice, this needs to be sais BUT not really worth 70 minute wait from the moment you were seated. There were quite a few people but tables served by a waiter got their drinks and food and bill in half the time.

To sum it up - if you're being served by young,slim girl with dark hair prepare yourself to wait a good while before you get anything.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Farmhouse also viewed

Ulverston, Cumbria
Ulverston, Cumbria
 

Been to The Old Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Farmhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.