We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Mill at Ulverston

The Mill at Ulverston
Mill Street, Ulverston, England
01229 581384
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 56 Restaurants in Ulverston
Cuisines: Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Doing business, Romantic, Entertaining clients, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Converted 17th Century mill with original waterwheel still intact and turning in centre of pub. Venue has a beautiful cask ale bar (CAMRA's Good Beer Guide 2011 & 2012) with eight hand pulls serving a variety of Cumbrian, Lancastrian and local ales. Upstairs is a lovely restaurant with 45 covers, chandeliers and beautiful, original mill artefacts. Upstairs at the rear is a large outside terrace area with seating for over 50 and Ulverston's Mill Race stream running through one side. Food offering varies from burgers and pizzas, right through to beautifully presented,fine dining starters and main. All our food is prepared in-house by an experienced and talented brigade of chefs using predominantly local South Cumbrian suppliers.Open 11-12 everday, with food available every lunch and evening, seven days a week.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“First Class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Good range of cask beers on offer and a warm welcome from good staff. Ate there twice over a weekend - first time a snack at lunchtime and the second for the Sunday lunch. Will definitely go back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    37
    19
    16
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marbella, Spain
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Aiming high .. however falling short....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Great selection of beers and very well kept ... however the Lamb hot pot with an absolutely scrumptious description was very ordinary indeed if not bordering on tasteless.... a classic case of trying to be over creative and falling well short of the mark.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Our day out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Set back from the main st, food was a delight and service very good. Obviously keen to oblige and serve

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulverston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“best pub food in Ulverston”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I had a meal with a couple of friends recently in the upstairs restaurant at the Mill. The decor is very pleasant, a nice relaxed vibe, excellent service and good food. My friends and I were so pleased with the attentive and pleasant service we received from our young server that we were looking for him when we were leaving as we wanted to tip him with a ten pound note. The food is consistently good at the Mill and there are a few dishes which are quite inventive.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altrincham
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Sunday lunch for extended family of nine - also accommodating for children”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

Recently had the pleasure of having Sunday lunch here the beef was delicious and was told the pork was excellent also - good beer also and my fussy kids enjoyed their fish n chips - in short excellent

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mill at Ulverston also viewed

Ulverston, Cumbria
Ulverston, Cumbria
 

Been to The Mill at Ulverston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mill at Ulverston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.