We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Now open as a 'night-time coffee shop'” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sefton House

Sefton House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ulverston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sefton House
Save
You added Sefton House to your Saves list
34 Queen Street, Ulverston LA12 7AF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 27 Ulverston B&B and Inns
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Now open as a 'night-time coffee shop'”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Sefton House B&B is now open to everyone as a 'night-time coffee shop' and informal art gallery.
It was recommended to us by the staff in the World Peace Cafe just over the road because the WPC shuts at 4pm - so we could head to the Sefton for a coffee.
I had a good decaff Americano, and used their wifi. I needed to work on my laptop, so I was very happy there was a nice big wooden table with upright chairs, and there are comfy chairs around too. Plenty of books and magazines to browse, and also an exhibition on the walls with paintings (available to buy) by a local artist (who was actually there tinkering with the pieces).
My companion arrived and had a good cup of tea in a quirky patterned cup & saucer, and a piece of homemade brownie - 'Hang on, it's only just come out of the oven' - ohhhh, we can hang on for that! It was delish.
Recommended as a good venue for solo mobile-officing, having a quiet work meeting, or a catch up with a friend.
A great idea to diversify the Sefton's B&B business. Good luck with this new venture!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    7
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
7
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Zhuhai, China
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

5 star housekeeper
5 star food
5 star location
5 star rooms

Robert is very kind-hearted and is ready to help you out. The house is just in town centre and is about 10 mins walk from rail station. The breakfast is very tasty. I'll definitely recommend any travellers to Ulverston to book Sefton House.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

I stopped at Sefton House before starting the Cumbria Way. The staff were friendly and helpful.
The room fit exactly what I needed - a nice soft bed before a very long walk!

I am planning on stopping again some time this summer - and I am genuinely looking forward to it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stayed for a week while attending the Buddhist festival at Manjushri (a very pleasant walk down the road). Heaving my overpacked suitcase up the steep and narrow stairs was quite the workout, and the room seemed very small to this American, but turned out to be very comfortable. Sefton House is a delightful place, with delicious breakfast, and will very likely be my choice this summer when I return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haworth, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

The house is comfortable and welcoming, as are the hosts. The location is excellent for access to Ulverston and out to the lakes and peninsulas. The breakfast was excellent with a good choice. My husband is allergic to wheat and so we brought our own supermarket loaf. The next morning, Rob the chef and proprietor had made a gluten-free loaf for my husband to enjoy with his breakfast. I have read some of the reviews that say the Sefton is in a timewarp - I disagree with this. Shabby chic,quirky and retro may be too modern for some reviewers! The ethos is green but not the decor - e.g. ecover products in the bathroom, organic and locally sourced products for breakfast and for the cafe. Good coffee with a conscience! What more can we say. We would certainly recommend the Sefton as a place to stay.

Room Tip: Possibly choose a room on the garden side of the house away from the road. But to be honest we did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Interesting place, very bohemian and in terms of decor and furnishings a throwback to times past probably around the late 60s Woodstock and all that. The cafe concept is unique and the Sefton is ideally located in the centre of Ulverston which is a nice town, like the Sefton though it seems stuck in a time warp, which isn't necessarily a bad thing. The owners were friendly and helpful and the breakfast was good. Would appeal to the more eclectic traveller.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

We travelled to Ulverston to play golf.We spent two nights at Sefton House right in the middle of the town convenient for everywhere.The room was a throw back to the seventies (furniture wise) with nothing matching.The whole house was a bit like this but had plenty of character. The food was vegetarian which we didn'nt know before we booked.We were pleasantly surprised how nice it was.It was a family run business and they couldn't have been more friendly.The son was studying music and boy could he play that piano.We had an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sefton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sefton House

Address: 34 Queen Street, Ulverston LA12 7AF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Ulverston
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Ulverston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sefton House is a clean, comfortable family run guest house, centrally located in the traditional market town of Ulverston. Our breakfasts are freshly prepared using locally grown, organic and Fairtrade ingredients. The guest house is non-smoking. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sefton House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.