We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of White Hart Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added White Hart Inn to your Saves list
White Hart Inn
Bouth, Ulverston LA12 8JB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 27 Ulverston B&B and Inns
Edinburgh
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We were a group of six guys from Scotland on an annual cycling trip to the Lakes. We have been coming down in September for the last 30 years and used to stay with a friend in Windermere but he's moved to Kendal so we decided to find somewhere nice to stay in the area. In recent years we called in at the White Hart for a few beers at lunchtime and enjoyed the hospitality so much it was a "no brainer" where we wanted to stop overnight.
Our stay was everything we could have hoped for. Friendly helpful staff arranging for us to get our stuff in to bedrooms early, a great selection of real Ales in the authentic old world bar. Clean and comfortable bedrooms with plenty of hot water, a superb meal in the evening in front of a blazing log fire and a lovely freshly cooked full breakfast in the morning. We met the owner Nigel and it was obvious why the food was so good and fresh as he turned up in his kitchen uniform!
We will certainly be returning and would thoroughly recommend the White Hart for an overnight stay, a pint at lunchtime in a convivial atmosphere or a wholesome freshly cooked Dinner by the fireside at night.
Well done to Nigel and his staff

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    20
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
15
36
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Lovely comfortable and clean attic room with everything you need and a separate private bathroom. Great value for money, Full English Breakfast was delicious and enormous and plenty of smoked salmon with the scrambled eggs. Ate a meal in the restaurant which again was tasty. The trout starter (a special) was the best starter my partner had ever had! Quirky décor in the dining room with great views of the countryside. Staff most welcoming

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitehartinn, Owner at White Hart Inn, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Many thanks for your kind review. Look forward to seeing in the non to distant future!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

2nd night woken by bat flying round room at 230 am one staff member admitted this had happened before, a "nd one denied it ! not impressed ! v tired next day to go fell walking so sleep not good , breakfast very narrow time frame

Room Tip: not room 3 , and other rooms may well have bats in rafters
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitehartinn, Owner at White Hart Inn, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Apologies for you not having a good nights sleep. We have checked the room again and filled any crevices and holes which were missed after the first incident to prevent any further intrusion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Booked the accommodation based on reviews ie quite location beautiful views etc. The Inn is beautifully situated in a very small village about 30 mins drive from Winder mere. We stayed in room 1 which we found to be of adequate size, beautifully clean and tastefully decorated. The bed was comfortable, I found the pillows less so, although I must admit to being a bit picky when it comes to pillows. The only down side to the room was the very loud buzzing from the celler fan located directly below one of the windows. However on mentioning it to the host it was turned off while we were in the room. About 6:30 we ordered a meal in the restaurant and waited waited approx 40 mins before the meal was presented, but noticed a couple who had entered the restaurant and ordered their meal shortly before ours was served, only waited about 10 min !?? On returning to our room , the fan had been turned back on, however the noise was somewhat dimmed by the sound from the television. The fan was turned of or at lest seemed quieter about 10 wish, but was turned off during the night. It's a real pity that in such a lovely place and otherwise first rate accommodation, such a noisy piece of machinery couldn't have been located in a better place when it was installed. I know and accept that this is a working pub and such devices are necessary to the day to day business of the place, but in my opinion the location of such a noisy piece of machinery is the only thing that seriously let's the place down. Yes I would happily stay there again but definitely not in rooms one or two.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitehartinn, Owner at White Hart Inn, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thanks for your feed back. Agree need to find a new site for the cooling fans as you say we do turn them off every night by 10.30/11.00 unless requested earlier. Regarding the food service times it can depend on what you order as we have certain dishes that are ready to go immediately and others take more time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I've eaten here many times - mainly at lunchtime - and it's totally reliable on food and service. Evenings can be a little less efficient, but then there are more people there then! The wine list is extensive and the beer changes regularly with plenty of specials on offer.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitehartinn, Owner at White Hart Inn, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Many thanks for your review. Apologies for the service not being as efficient in the evenings, we do try to predict numbers but do get caught out from time to time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Excellent location, great food, fabulous overall. Will definitely visit again. Great view over farmland and woodland as sat on toilet lol!!
Food was not the cheapest but well worth the money with generous portions. Beer was excellent too!
Landlord Nigel was very friendly, ensuring everything was ok for our visit. Nothing at all to complain about

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitehartinn, Owner at White Hart Inn, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thanks Lisa really pleased you had such a lovely time, hope you had a good journey home!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nr Edinburgh
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Great pub doing what it says on the tin. Great rooms. Great food. Great atmosphere. Great staff. We were in room 5, yes there is a low beam but if you want characterless rooms go elsewhere. First accommodation on our 5 day touring trip which had a fan in the room which was a great bonus during the recent heatwave. Only downside was it did take ages to run a bath and the shower valve kept closing off and going back to running water into the bath instead. Very busy during the evening on our visit which says it all. However it wasn't noisy with music and by ten pm it was peaceful and quiet.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitehartinn, Owner at White Hart Inn, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Many thanks your lovely review. We put the shower mixer in recently to solve the washing of hair with a jug scenario and as you say there isnt enough hot water pressure to keep the valve open. Apologies we are trying to find a solution.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to White Hart Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Hart Inn

Address: Bouth, Ulverston LA12 8JB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Ulverston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Ulverston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your White Hart Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hart Hotel Ulverston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Hart Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.