We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Village pub in Bouth” 4 of 5 stars
Review of White Hart Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added White Hart Inn to your Saves list
White Hart Inn
Bouth, Ulverston LA12 8JB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 27 Ulverston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bolton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Village pub in Bouth”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I have dined here several times and never been disapointed. The food is very good and a reasonable price. Great selection of real ales. Very friendly staff. The pub can get very busy at weekends so you may need to book a table in advance.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitehartinn, Owner at White Hart Inn, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thanks Terry for your much valued repeated custom !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    20
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
15
38
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

It's always a great disappointment to book somewhere to stay on the basis of glowing reviews on here and to find that your own experience fails to live up to the hype. Reading the wall to wall glowing reviews in the hotel's guests comments book only served to make me feel further unloved & unwanted here.

We arrived pre-booked around 8.30pm on a Saturday evening only to be left waiting for over 5 minutes at reception as various young male staff came to & fro past us without stopping to enquire whether we needed any attention. We eventually accosted one and managed to get escorted to our room (Room 5)

All those who claim that the bedrooms are a good size either had the luxury of staying in the more expensive "superior rooms" at the back of the property (Rooms 1 & 2) or must have been too small in stature not to suffer from constantly bumping their heads on the ceiling beams of the rooms, on one side of the bed, and in the bathroom. The hotel description makes no mention of the restricted height issues, of course - and neither does it's website menu include any hint at the typical prices of food either....

Most main courses are between £12 and £15 a go, even for bog standard steak pie ("locally sourced meat", of course, so it must be worth that money..Very surprisingly, the bar and dining area were packed, so some folk are certainly convinced that £25 for a 3-course meal in a pub is good value for money.

Breakfast is served in a rather quaint, rustic upstairs annex, complete with traditional dark wood furniture with the walls festooned with pitch forks, wood saws and.....dried hops. Only one person was serving and so guests were dealt with in a strictly consecutive fashion and so, 10-15 minutes after sitting down, we were eventually asked if we'd like tea or coffee. Breakfast was a pleasant enough spread and included full English or smoked salmon with scrambled egg as an option. However, once we had had the advertised menu items, we didn't see the waitress again - even though being offered more toast & tea would have been a welcome courtesy. Do be aware also that breakfast is served only between 8.30 - 9am - and check out is at 10am - so don't get too settled here enjoying your pleasant weekend away on that final Sunday morning.

The inn is situated about 2.5 miles off the main A590 road from the M6 to Barrow and is certainly "off the beaten track". However, those coming here expecting to find an "idyllic rural setting" may be surprised to find that there are probably many good reasons why Bouth has stayed off the beaten track as far as many discerning tourists are concerned. I'm afraid that personally speaking, Bouth would probably not feature in the top 100 sites I'd choose to stay in Lakeland. It is a fairly drab village with little obvious character based in a rather featureless and, for the Lake District, strangely flat rural environment. In fairness, the inn is probably the most attractive building in Bouth.

Overall, then, I'd need far more convincing that this was a good place to spend a precious few days on holiday with my wife away from the kids. No mobile signal or wifi may be a good thing if you're addicted to answering work e-mails & phone calls when you're on holiday but it's not much good for keeping in touch with those who are looking after your children whilst you're away. It appeared to us that the warm welcome experienced by others was sadly "out of stock" on this occasion and I doubt whether the staff would even remember our faces, such was the anonymity of the whole experience. Rather disappointing then on this occasion, I'm afraid.

(p.s. I wonder if they've replaced the leaky sink plug in room 5 yet?)

Room Tip: Rooms 3 and 5 have annoying height restrictions caused by a sloping roof and ceiling beams. Rooms 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitehartinn, Owner at White Hart Inn, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. At the time of your visit we were extremely short staffed so could not give you the attention you deserved.
Regarding your comments on the food prices we provide home cooked meals using local produce. Fresh vegetables and potatoes are included in the price and not charged for as extras and by the time you take VAT, credit card commission, energy prices etc etc I feel they are good value for money as is borne out by the volume of trade we are achieving.
We are also 1.5 miles from the A590 not 2.5 miles! As for Bouth being surrounded by flat landscape, valley bottoms are normally flat. Just a 10 min walk from the pub over Colton fell provides specatcular views of Coniston Old Man and the Lakeland Fells.

Wi Fi has been considered but the connection is so unreliable and intermittent that it would cause more problems than it would solve. I will ask the mobile companies to erect a mast in the village not only will our signal be stronger it may make it less drab!! Thought mentioning on our website Velux windows and pictures of our rooms with said low beams was enough. Obviously we cannot satisfy everybody's expectations however we do try!!!
PS the plug has been fixed!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Stayed here for final night stay in Lake District. Situated in great rural setting. Room was good size and very clean with great views to countryside. Breakfast was fine with good choice. Obviously as its situated above an excellent but busy pub there is a lot of noise until 11pm- understandable. As a light sleeper I was disturbed by being able to hear other guests moving around, doors closing, early morning deliveries, etc. however nothing major. No Wi-Fi provided nor is there any 3G access here which for some I suppose will be a bonus! Nice flat screen TV however only 3 channels. Breakfast and checking out times are a little inflexible but not unreasonable. Overall an excellent pub that runs a B & B as a side venture.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitehartinn, Owner at White Hart Inn, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thank you for your review. Retuned the TV after your departure !! Thinking about wi-fi however our internet connection is not reliable and would cause more problems than it would solve!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

Group of friends (5 couples) stayed in the 5 rooms 24-26 May. We were slightly worried as we normally stay 5 star and this was rated ( not on trip advisor) 3 star. This little Inn in our opinion gave 5 star service from start to finish - bedrooms had fresh clean linnen and towels, very comfortable beds, all plugs/ mirrors in the right places - typical gorgeous homely English pub with real fire with great atmisphere and full of locals Food was lovely as was breakfast.
We will be definitely make this 'our' place to stay on our annual trip to the lakes. Thank you to all.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitehartinn, Owner at White Hart Inn, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Many thanks for your review. Was a pleasure see you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stopped for a night away here in the lakes. Key points in choosing here were its out of the way location, justifiably good reviews and reasonable price.

Bouth itself is off the beaten path, a tiny village in a valley. This means we had no mobile phone signal (deliberate pick, so we weren't disturbed). There's a couple of dozen homes at most, and it's really quiet. If you get the weather and time, I'd highly recommend going for a wander about, it's a really lovely place.

The White Hart itself is a lovely old pub with 5 rooms, we got room 2, and this turned out to be a bonus. Whilst overlooking the car park, it also overlooked the peacefull valley, and surrounding farm and forest, and when that time comes around, you can sit on the bed and watch the sunset if you choose. The pictures of the rooms don't do them justice, they are an ideal size, the en suite is really well finished. I found the bed comfortable, but my girlfriend found it to be a bit firm for her liking.

Downstairs, there's the pub part, where the really friendly staff are beavering away. The decor is what one would expect from an old country pub, low ceilings (only a problem if you're lurch) open fire and various bits and pieces of decoration that are unique and interesting. We decided to have a meal here in the evening. I can thoroughly recommend the Cumberland sausage but be aware you get a lot for your money, I had difficulty finishing my meal. My girlfriend was equally happy with her meal. The staff were friendly and helpful, whilst thankfully not asking every 5 mins "was everything ok"?, or "did we need anything"? Sometimes it's nice to just be left alone, when you're trying to have a break.

My stay at the White Hart was really good, not only would I recommend people visit, but I hope to return for longer next year.

Room Tip: Go for the superior double, the views well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Three cyclists spent a great night here on the Walney to Wear coast to coast ride. Very comfortable night in the family suite with only the sound of distant sheep at night - absolute bliss! Very friendly bar with lots of locals and an excellent choice of ales, so we didn't have to think too hard about where to eat. This is a pretty village and we took a brief pre-breakfast ride north towards the lakes - highly recommended.
We were astounded the next morning when a car pulled up beside us in mid ride about ten miles down the road to return some documents we had left in our bedroom. Now that's special service!

Room Tip: Family room would sleep parents plus two kids (or three cyclists like us) very comfortably.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitehartinn, Owner at White Hart Inn, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Didnt want to leave you without your train tickets!! Hope you made it !! Thanks for your comments much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Stayed one night here over easter ,we had room 2 ,everything in the room is fine ,splendid views of the surrounding countryside.We booked a table for Sunday night it was very very busy but food was coming out very fast didnt hear any complaints ,our food was excellent the topside beef i had was the best i have ever had 3 very big thick slices ,my wife had 2 large fillets of haddock ,we both loved the food !!! fantastic ambience ,live music was fab ,staff very friendly ,breakfast was a good choice from full cumbrian breakfast to smoked salmon and scrambled eggs , my full cumbrian was very tasty a very large plate full of tasty sausage bacon free range egg tomato ,beans mushrooms and sauted potatoes with unlimited toast !!my wifes smoked salmon and scrambled eggs was the best she has had !!! we are looking to book again in summer !!!!

Room Tip: room 2 is very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitehartinn, Owner at White Hart Inn, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Many thanks for your review makes all the hard work worthwhile. I will pass your comments on to my staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to White Hart Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Hart Inn

Address: Bouth, Ulverston LA12 8JB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Ulverston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Ulverston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your White Hart Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hart Hotel Ulverston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Hart Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.