We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent pub with great food and beer, felt like a real treat.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Snooty Fox

The Snooty Fox
Wigton, Uldale, England
016973 71479
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 2 Restaurants in Uldale
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Excellent pub with great food and beer, felt like a real treat.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

A really good pub with a great menu. The food is more gastro pub than often found in the area, not cheap but it was good value, well cooked and friendly service. Not sure what it would be like with young kids but there was another bar with families. The pub is very quaint and traditional.

I would definitely go again for a treat.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    6
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“PREBIRTHDAY MEAL”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

I WAS TAKEN TO THE SNOOTY FOX WITH MY PARTNER MY MAM ,SISTER BROTHER.IN .LAW AND BROTHER FOR MY UPCOMING 65TH BIRTHDAY because my sister was going back home to wales the meal was great a lovely menu and speciels board if you wished to choose from it and the staFF VERY PLEASENT

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alsager, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
“A great place to stay over”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Fantastic old building, great rooms to sleep, great service and nice beers. They are not tide to a company so they can choose the beers they have on selection. The food is slightly expensive but well worth the price the quality of the food and cooking is superbe. If you are looking for a place to escape to the weekend or week, or looking for a place to relax and enjoy a nice meal in a relaxing environment this is the place to go.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Good food and good beer!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The Snooty Fox has moved close to the top of our favourite places to eat in the Lake District. Good food and beer in a traditional pub; what more could you want?

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Well worth the drive...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

I had a meal here last night and it was 10/10 all round.

The pub is in a remote location but you will not be disappointed, please do make the journey. It would make a great pub to plan a walk around on a sunny day and there is a large beer garden.

The staff are friendly, chatty and helpful. The service was very efficient.

The pub has a lovely homely atmosphere and is decorated like a traditional pub should be.

The food portions are just right, your not looking at the plate thinking where is the rest if it and there is not so much on the plate that your outfaced before you even begin!

I had salmon and crab to start, roast pork and black pudding for main and the chocolate torte for my sweet. All of the dishes I had were delicious and the pork was cooked perfectly, it melted in my mouth. The chocolate torte was to die for but unfortunately I only ate half of it, I was just so full I couldn't manage the rest.

Will definitely be returning here one day soon.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Snooty Fox also viewed

 
Leicester, Leicestershire
 

Been to The Snooty Fox? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Snooty Fox, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.