We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Snooty Fox

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Uldale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Snooty Fox
Save
You added The Snooty Fox to your Saves list
The Snooty Fox Country Inn, Uldale CA7 1HA , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Uldale B&B and Inns
UK
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012 via mobile

Called in for an evening meal after a good day's hiking and was not disappointed. The food was very good with sizeable portions. The Guinea Fowl stuffed with Cumberland Sausage was very good. The only slight problem was a little bit of a wait as it was a mildly busy but the food was worth it. Very friendly hospitality.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    8
    3
    1
    4
See reviews for
8
15
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

We called in to have lunch today (Sunday) and my wife and I had roast beef with all the trimmings. I have to say the beef was superb, sirloin cooked perfectly is unbeatable in my view.
We also had a creme brulee and a rhubarb crumble. The brulee was just yummy and the crumble was delicious, and more than a fair portion. Good value for money!
The staff are very freindly and we'll definatley go back. Booking on sunday would be recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakedistrict
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

You will always get a sincere welcome here from both staff and locals! –who are always interested in welcoming visitors to the area. Pat and Mark are dedicated to excellent food and customer service and that is why as someone in hotel management and who has been lucky enough to eat in some of the finest restaurants/pubs in the world, I would recommend this pub highly. Any negative comments regarding food on Trip Advisor are an insult to Mark as he is a highly trained and experienced chef, known locally to love what he does for a living. British pubs are struggling; why not support one lakedistrict pub where they really do care?!

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights over the Jubilee week-end. Have eaten here many times and never been disappointed. Lovely room, comfy bed, and settee to watch the telly. Pat and her team were very busy in the restaurant over this period, but it didn't detract from the quality of the food, or the range of food on offer. The staff are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble. The chef does a very good steak, and not small portions either! Watched the beacons being lit on Monday night over Binsey and towards Skiddaw and across the Solway, and lovely sunset to end the day. After that the weather went downhill, but not my stay at this village Inn. Uldale is a quiet place with Caldbeck and Ireby nearby, with some nice walks not far away. If you want to go shopping on a rainy day Carlisle is only about 20 mins away. Thanks Pat for a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

We simply love The Snooty Fox, and we return to it each time we visit the Lake District. Staying up the road from Uldale, we find this pub truly to be our "local" while on holiday. The food is excellent and up to gastropub standards without being pretentious, and the proprietor and staff are very welcoming and fun to chat with. For a relaxing pint and a highly satisfying meal in a warm and comfortable place, you won't find much better. It is definitely a bit off the main roads, but well worth the side trip.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Second time that we've booked a large family meal here for a special occasion.

The food is fantastic, with a great range and brilliant specials always available.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

12th Sept 2011 ~ 1st impressions entering the carpark unsure, but the restaurant and food are really good and the service was excellent the 2 ladies behind the bar were very friendly, the beer Thirst Quencher by the Keswick brewery co was superb @ £2.80 a pint

we learned are lesson and just had the main course, one pork belly and one lamb shoulder both were again superb at decent value at just under 35 pounds inc 3 beers on the bill

worth the drive especially if your local to Bassenthwaite

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Snooty Fox? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Snooty Fox

Address: The Snooty Fox Country Inn, Uldale CA7 1HA , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Uldale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Uldale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Snooty Fox, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.