We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as it used to be!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Wood Farm Brewery

Wood Farm Brewery
Coal Pit Lane, Willey, Rugby, England
01788 833469
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Willey
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Not as good as it used to be!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Changed a lot since my last visit just over a year ago - food and beer have both gone downhill! Staff are unfriendly, chef was drunk and needed a wash - definitely won't be going back again!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    27
    8
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, England, United Kingdom
1 review
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“DRUNK STAFF......”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

My Family have been here a few times as they LOVE the Ales on offer. The food was lovely and the waiters were good but service was very slow.

The chef however was so DRUNK I’m surprised he could stand let alone carve the meat.

This was the 1st time I have been and im not so sure i will go again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
1 review
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Worst Meal and Attitude for a number of years”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We pre-booked a table for two for Sunday Lunch, when we arrived our table had been squashed in between the fire and the bar with a view of peoples backs who were so close they were nearly sat on our table, we did ask to change but there was no other tables available, we also asked to see a waiter/waitress to order our meals. Nobody ever came to take our order even though we asked again and only when I walked upto the carvery to try to place my order was I informed that I had to order at the bar and was told I should have known that! So we proceeded to select from the carvery, the beef was rare which is fine with me and we selected vegetables from the carvery. We both had the beef and it was so tough and stringy that you could not cut it, the vegetables although there was a large selection were mushy and overcooked, the whole meal, although we tried was unedible. During all this time still no waiter/waitress made any attempt to come to our table but did find time to talk to each other but it seems not to the diners. We called the front of house person over and made our feelings known about the service and the meal, she did not seem that bothered and reluctantly offered me another meal but seeing the meal I had tried to eat in front of me, I was reluctant to accept this offer and we left the premises in disgust having paid for a meal and drinks that fell well short of any Sunday lunch we have had locally.
PS the beer was fine and as long as you dont want a nice table, do not want to be made welcome and do not wish to eat nice food; I am sure you will be fine!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Top notch eatery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Just had Sunday lunch carvery. Hadn't booked as didn't realise it would be so popular but it was full. Managed to eat at drinking table not really designed for eating at but glad we did. Have already booked for next week to take some friends over and on the strength of today may well use it as a Midwest watery too.
Did I mention the beer? Lots of choice and it's good stuff.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bulkington, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“It's a shame that some people have alternetive objectives”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

I have eaten many times in the Wood Farm Brewery and been very happy. Whilst looking for more alternative places to eat on Tripadvisors in the area I have just read a just a recent revuve of Wood Farm Brewery!!
I do not normally bother to leave my views on Tripadvisor but in this case ........ can say THAT .... I have never had bad service or food there and in fact both have been excellent! ..... I would ask you not to take my view on Wood Farm Brewery BUT to look at the other reviews.

(HOW could anyone having such bad service be BOTHERED to one remembered the name of the person serving name them let alone there surname??? (have you ever seen anyone wearing a badge with a firstname and surname?)

Do not miss out on this opporunity

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wood Farm Brewery also viewed

 
Rugby, Warwickshire
 

Been to Wood Farm Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wood Farm Brewery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.