We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful surroundings, but dated accomodation” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Brunt Knott Farm Holiday Cottage

Brunt Knott Farm Holiday Cottage
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Staveley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Brunt Knott Farm Holiday Cottage
Save
You added Brunt Knott Farm Holiday Cottage to your Saves list
Staveley, England   |  
Hotel amenities
North West
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful surroundings, but dated accomodation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2010

Stayed here with my husband, son, mother and 2 dogs. The surrounding countryside is beautiful and we all thoroughly enjoyed getting to know the local sheep and cows (although the sheep were a bit scary and the cows stalked the dog...to the point of staring through the door at them!!!!) They were fab though! There was a nice garden, with ample furniture, had we wanted to sit out (weather wasn't great!) There was also a bin to deposit our dogs deposits in, which is great, as so often in dog friendly places,there isn't. I did however, not pick up the deposit left by the resident dog on the lawn...
The interior of the cottage could be fantastic, but is looking a little dated, possibly because I think it has been a smoking cottage at some point (it still has ashtrays). It also has a great deal of clutter, ornaments which are both totally unnecessary and not particularly attractive. We weren't quite sure what to make of the framed prints, which had been stuck onto sugar paper and had a border drawn around them, before being put into the frame! A tad bizarre. The kitchen area was tiny and again cluttered, making cooking difficult, but we manged.
The TV was tiny and had a video player, which was a shame as my son had brought a collection of DVDs! There were videos to borrow though and games which is nice added touch.
The owners were kind and understanding when we had to delay the start of by a day.

All in all we were a little disappointed by the accomodation but it could easily be fabulous. The setting is second to none and the cottage we stayed in ('The Bothy') could, with a few tweaks, be exceptional...so a hard review to write really.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    3
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2010

Me, my parnter and our energetic labrador puppy stayed in The Stables for 3 nights in January 2008 and we loved it. It was small however more than adequate for our needs with a comfy bed, comfortable living area and cosy woodburner to cuddle up in front of. The views were amazing and the owners friendly (they helped push our car up the hill in the snow!) with extra wood and fresh eggs at reasonable prices. With Windermere a short car journey away and the rest of the lakes on the doorstep I would recommend these cottages for anyone.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grimsby
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2009

we stayed in the hayloft and at first was very impressed with the location and the space but on closer inspection, the dogs had fouled our bbq area the tv had no picture and there was no sofa to relax on after a day out, to be fair the cottage had been cleaned to a decent standard before our arrival however this did not improve the smell of burnt wood and dust in the "living area" i would recommend this cottage to older walkers but if you want a comfortable holiday i would pick somewhere a bit more tidy and with updated facilities

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, Cumbria
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2007

I stayed in 'The Bothay' cottage over Easter 2007 and had a really lovely time. The accommodation is on a working farm, complete with free-range chickens, sheep and working dogs. The cottage was fairly small & basic but clean, comfortable and with charm. It also had its own private parking & garden and outdoor furniture was provided by the helpful owners. Views were magnificent down the valley to Kendal and the sunsets towards Windermere were beautiful. Just the place for a very peaceful holiday, yet only a short drive to Kendal & Windermere.

  • Liked — Peaceful location
  • Disliked — Damp wood for wood burning stove!
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Brunt Knott Farm Holiday Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brunt Knott Farm Holiday Cottage

Address: Staveley, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Staveley
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Staveley
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Brunt Knott Farm Holiday Cottage Staveley, Cumbria, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brunt Knott Farm Holiday Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.