We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food and Real Fires” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Eagle and Child Inn

The Eagle and Child Inn
Kendal Road | LA8 9LP, Staveley, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 7 Restaurants in Staveley
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Kendal, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Food and Real Fires”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I have just been given a great Xmas present of a Voucher to use at the Eagle and Child. I have not only had great times in the past here but I now look forward to my next visit. I love the cosy atmosphere of hearing and watching jovial chat and laughter especially on a winter visit where I can watch the real fire (depending on where you sit you can see one or other of the fires) making it feel like you are in your own front room. The staff have always been very pleasant and helpful and the food is 10 out of 10 for choice, quantity and quality fresh. Local produce I believe is used as much as possible. A great choice of real ale from throughout the region and beyond is to be tasted time and time again. Cheers!!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    55
    14
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“OK for Lunch”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stopped for lunch here and was charmed by the pub with all of its antiquities so much so that we decided to visit again for an evening meal.
The pub was completly different of an evening, it was dark and cramped and the atmosphere somewhat unpleasant. The pub is not child friendly and the staff not overly helpful. This may be different in the summer season but on a snowy cold January night we had a drink and moved on. Perhaps in the summer using the outdoor garden area it may be better or perhaps we just chose a bad night.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Great pub, even better food!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Stayed here (for one night) on the 1st of Jan (13) with my wife and really enjoyed it!
Room was a decent size, clean and tidy etc
Couple of minor issues, but nothing too bad!!
Ordered steak n ale pie, it was absolutely fantastic...wife (who's a veggie) (and fussy lol) got a goats cheese pie and chips and loved it!!
Staff were very nice..
Breakfast was also 1st class...would definitely stay again!!!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great value winter break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Had a brilliant time and will go again. Food and accommodation were excellent. Stately is close to Windermere.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“big plate full”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

called in on our way up to the Lakes on a cold wet Friday night looking for an evening meal.
Managed to find a seat and the food was soon on its way.
Good sized portions of tasty food, hit the spot for me.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Eagle and Child Inn also viewed

Staveley, Lake District
Staveley, Lake District
 
Staveley, Lake District
Staveley, Lake District
 

Been to The Eagle and Child Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Eagle and Child Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.