We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Eagle and Child Inn

The Eagle and Child Inn
Kendal Road | LA8 9LP, Staveley, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 7 Restaurants in Staveley
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Windermere, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

Great food and great staff. Lunch and evening meals are fresh and good quality food. Lovely location near to the river which is great on a hot day. We have never had a poor meal here.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    55
    14
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Charming little Pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Ate here with friends today and we were all very impressed with this charming little pub. The staff were both warm and friendly.

My friends had a small dog with them and we were told she would be more than welcome. They even gave us a bowl of water for her to quench her thirst – as we had been for a long walk.

We ordered from the £5 menu and were amazed at the lovely presented hot plentiful food. It was a bargain at this price and would highly recommend eating here. The food was quickly served after ordering and what impressed us most was the quality – it didn’t appear to be frozen and certainly was not tasteless.

The pub was clean and warm and cosy. We all said we’d definitely eat here again and made a note to meet up for a meal in the evening in August.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Now that's what pub food should be about”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

Love this place, never disappointed, plenty of choice and friendly staff. Have been on many occasions and I hope to go back on many more.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northants
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Friendly cosy pub - great food, just what you need on a cold day!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

Had lunch here while on holiday in the area. We were travelling back from Kendal and were recommended to try Staveley, so a bit of luck that we chose this lovely pub. Lovely and cosy, roaring fire - ate from the £5 lunch menu and both my husband and I had ham, egg and chips which came with salad and homemade coleslaw - really lovely, and very good value. It was quite busy for a Thursday with locals and also other fellow holiday makers. Would definitely call in again if passing .....

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Cracking lunch menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

Was really surprised with this place, seem very popular especially for the lunch deal, ohh and the real ales were cracking to wash it down.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Eagle and Child Inn also viewed

Staveley, Lake District
Staveley, Lake District
 
Staveley, Lake District
Staveley, Lake District
 

Been to The Eagle and Child Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Eagle and Child Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.