We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good enough” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tomlin Guest House

Tomlin Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. Bees
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tomlin Guest House
Save
You added Tomlin Guest House to your Saves list
Beach Road, St. Bees CA27 0EN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 11 St. Bees B&B and Inns
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
“Good enough”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Stayed here for the start of our Coast to Coast Walk. We had booked the double en-suite which we got, if you can call 2 twin beds pushed together a double! The en-suite had slatted doors which not very private and although this did not bother my husband and I, I suppose it could be a problem for some people. Breakfast was ok and set us up for our first day of the Coast to Coast.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    13
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
9
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Midlands
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

My husband and I has a good start on our coast to coast adventure at Tomlins Guest House. Irene and her husband were very friendly and recommended some a very good place to eat (thank you!). The guest house is, as someone else has commented, quite literally at the start of the C2C so perfect. Our room was spacious, clean and warm with a good view thoug the decor coud be described as dated. Plenty of teacoffee provision. We had a shared bathroom and toilet; not a problem for us but some people do like their own space. The breakfast was good and enjoyable. I would recommend Tomlins to others.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mollymalone11
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

This traditional B & B is run by Irene, an extremely friendly lady who is used to dealing with C2C walkers. You almost fall out of the front door onto the route. Our room was clean, comfortable and a good size. Irene sends you off with an excellent breakfast to start the long journey, and I can recommend her good value packed lunches.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Had a very comfortable, clean and pleasant one night stay before our long walk. Very friendly and hospitable. Irene recommended the Queens Hotel for evening meal and was very good. Jolly good breakfast certainly set us up for the day ahead. Thank you.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012 via mobile

Very welcoming and helpful hosts, though the room was nothing special. All a bit creaky, and the.bathroom very basic. Decent breakfast and great location for the start of the c2c though it is a fair walk from pubs and the station.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Stayed here on the first night. We had booked en suite, but didn't get it. Had to share a bathroom with another couple. Breakfast average. Clean and convenient for the route.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Great location for C2C start, very friendly and comfortable stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tomlin Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tomlin Guest House

Address: Beach Road, St. Bees CA27 0EN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > St. Bees
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in St. Bees
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Tomlin Guest House St. Bees, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tomlin Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.