We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Shap Wells Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Shap Wells Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Shap Wells Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   | between the A6 and B6261, Shap CA10 3QU, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 50% off stays!
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Shap
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Our first stay here was really nice, rooms lovely and clean great view of the surrounding countryside. Restaurant and bar staff very attentive. We had a little mishap at dinner the waiter Martin informed up that the chef had dropped one of our steaks and dinner would be a little longer due to the fact that we was cooking everything again, we were offer complimentary drinks and lot of apologies. This did not change our view of the hotel. The food was lovely and fresh and large portions(great for hubby and son). The hotel had entertainment in the form of a female DJ and singer(although at times looked like she wanted to be somewhere else - could have done with a smile now and then). All in all would return to this hotel and recommend it to others.

Room Tip: As for room with a woodland view, rooms very hot may like to sleep with window open. fall asleep to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julian p, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Shap Wells Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review after your recent visit to the Hotel.
I was pleased to read you had a " Great Stay " and even though you encountered a problem in our Restaurant which from your comments I understand was dealt with by the attentive staff on duty at the time.
Although it has been your first visit I was delighted to see you would like to return as well as wanting to recommend us to other friends. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the near future.
Once again thank you for your feedback.

Regards

Guest Relations Manager.. .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    173
    90
    39
    19
See reviews for
72
222
23
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ellicott City, Maryland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We spent two nights here with a tour group from US/Canada. Several people in our group had problems with a particular staff member when we checked in the first night as he was a little reluctant (and nasty) to satisfy our requests. It is an old hotel that BW has renovated. They fixed it up, but it's still an old hotel!!! The hallway floors sagged as we walked to our room on the second floor, internet connection was very poor, our bathroom and shower was in need of repair, they stuck several of our group in the "bathhouse" for two nights (which was across the parking lot) and we had to push the toilet bowl handle 5 to 6 times to get the toilet to flush!. We were also hoping to celebrate St Patrick's Day by going out for dinner and drinks, but you are in the middle of no where! No celebration at the hotel as everything closes early there ie right after dinner! Even trying to get a taxi cab was out of the question because of the distance and cost! We were hoping our tour director could get us moved even before the first night, but it didn't happen! We wouldn't recommend the place at all! The meals were good, but not enough to change our opinion! We would not recommend staying here!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julian p, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Shap Wells Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review after your visit to us in March.
We have had some excellent reviews recently and your strapline " Dont waste your time and money " is certainly not a true reflection on how Shapwells is perceived by the majority of our guests.The present score of 4 stars certainly shows that our guests are not wasting their time or money.
During your stay with us we had other groups at the Hotel as well and they certainly did not have any issues and we have received excellent feedback from them.
The Tour Operator you travelled with certainly knew our location so you should take your complaints up with them. Shapwells is a privately owned Hotel where the owners invest their money into the Business.. Best Western is purely a Marketing Consortium who do not own a single Property and therefore they DO NOT invest money into the Business.
The Hotel does have an Annual Hotel Inspection/ Audit by Best Western Assessors which took place the week after your visit and the Hotel passed the audit which means Shapwells meets the criteria set down by Best Western.
I am sorry you felt the need to write a bad review I think it is clear from all our other reviews that people had not wasted their time or money.

Regards

Guest Relations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

we were with a coach party. The check in was smooth and friendly. Because I have a sight problem we were shown to a room in the annex on the ground floor. It was nice and had a good bathroom with lots of aids for less able guests. The food was very good. The staff were excellent at all times. The hotel is lovely, with lots of comfy seating. It is set in beautiful grounds with streams and waterfalls that can be seen from the windows in the lounge areas. we had a realy lovely stay so quiet and peaceful.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julian p, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Shap Wells Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Thank you for writing a review after your " Weekend Break ". I was very pleased to read that you had a really lovely stay.I hope we have the opportunity to look after you again in the future.
Once again thank you for your very positive comments.

Regards

Guest Relations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Its a pretty amazing setting whichever road you approach it from....room is basic and i would say the decor could probably do with a spruce but quiet and bed was comfortable.

Staff were very friendly and efficient...I always stay in BW's and this is the reason. This was just off the M6 so great if ypu are travelling the country.

Only quibble is Orange squash for breakfast...Porridge was the best I've had for a very long time...cooked option was very good.

receptionist was excellent and helped print some documents out...an excellent front of house experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julian p, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Shap Wells Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give feedback after your recent stay at Shapwells. I was surprised to read your comments about our Breakfast orange juice we certainly do not use orange squash we use fresh orange juice but I will of course let our Executive Head Chef know you felt it was like orange squash he can then inform his supplier.
I was very pleased to read you had an excellent Front of House experience.

Regards

Guest Relations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

We took my elderly Mum for her Mothers day treat. We have been to the Shap Wells on numerous occassions for party functions or like this instance Sunday lunch carvery, Again they came up trumps- nothing was too much trouble for all of the staff and the meal was excellent as usual, My Mum is a very picky eater but she had salmon for her main and lemon merangue pie for desert and all was eaten much to our surprise as its normally chased round the plate.!! We of course couldnt fault any of the meal, Thankyou to you all

Room Tip: Just had the carvery this time but all the rooms we have stayed in in the past have been first rate
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julian p, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Shap Wells Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Thank you for your excellent review I was very pleased to read you enjoyed your Mothers Day Lunch with us.
As a regular visitor to the Hotel it is important that our service levels remain consistent and your feedback certainly shows we have yet again achieved this goal.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Shapwells in the near future.
Once again thank you for your very positive comments after your experience at the Hotel.

Regards

Guest Relations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Shap Wells for the second time this year whilst we were up North on business, the dinner, bed and breakfast being very very good value for money. The food once again was excellent, piping hot, tasty and plentiful......with the option of vegetables and salad rather than just a huge pile of chips (which after a fortnight of living in hotels and seemingly surviving off chips, having vegetables and salad was a BiG bonus) Last night there were two large coach parties of pensioners, so the hotel was full, but the staff were great with everybody, the friendly banter between some of the younger members of staff and their older guests was hilarious, everybody clearly enjoying themselves.
The room although smallish, was cosy and comfortable, however, the bathroom was big enough to have a party, with the bath long enough to swim lengths in!
The ONLY aspect stopping this hotel getting 5 stars is the wifi speed. My parents dial-up is faster, for a hotel offering business facilities, they really do need to up the speed up to something to that is at least workable.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julian p, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Shap Wells Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thank you for your review I was very pleased to read it was your " Second Visit " this year and you were able to write a very positive review.
The Hotel changes its Business mix throughout the year and during your visit we had a couple of groups of guests on a 5 Day 4 Night holiday and they too gave us good feedback on their stay.
I have noted your comments on the WIFI and passed them onto our Broadband service provider.
We are 5 miles from the nearest exchange and being located where we are does prove difficult to provide a very fast service.
Once again thank you for your comments and I hope we will see you for a third time in the near future.

Regards

Guest Relations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

This place takes "off the beaten track" to a new level, so probably not somewhere to visit via public transport. A surprisingly well appointed hotel in the middle of nowhere, surrounded by babbling brooks and waterfalls, somewhere to unwind and take it easy. Lots of lounges and quiet corners where you enjoy a drink or a selection from a reasonably priced bar menu. I was on business so was not able to try out the restaurant. Reception and Bar service was pretty much second to none (though I did have to hang around a bit in the evening because the barman had disappeared - probably to escape the lounge "singer") The problem with high-spec décor is that it tends to outlast its fashionability, so yes it appears a little dated, but in this instance it is a reminder that quality and service still matter, rather than as in some cases, being a euphemism for dirty and dingy. The only downer is the awful "entertainment" in the bar - aged warbler who sings flat and keeps switching octaves to try and stay with her backing tracks - one song she managed to start on the 7th harmony and stay out of tune for the duration - if she's on, definitely an evening to go out! Country house hotel and Butlins don't really mix!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julian p, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Shap Wells Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review after your recent stay with us here at the Hotel.
I was disappointed you didnt enjoy the entertainment provided by our Singer ..... whilst you were staying with us we had 2 Groups and part of their package was we provide 3 nights Entertainment I am sorry it wasnt to your liking but other guests staying thought she was very good .... I think that comes down to personal taste.
Once again thank you for your comments.

Regards

Guest Relations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Shap Wells Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Shap Wells Hotel

Address: | between the A6 and B6261, Shap CA10 3QU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Shap
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Shap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Shap Wells Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Shap Wells Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Penrith
Penrith Best Western
Shap Wells Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Shap Wells Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.