We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious and comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Dalesman Country Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Dalesman Country Inn to your Saves list
The Dalesman Country Inn
Main Street, Sedbergh LA10 5BN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 12 Sedbergh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Delicious and comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We were four exhausted walkers, emerging from our leg of the Dales Way and we were very relieved to turn up at the Dalesman in Sedbergh. Initially we were booked in to the seperate cottage rather than the hotel. The cottage was not what we expected. It was a little tired and more suited to two or three people than the four of us (there is only one double and one single bed so it meant someone had to sleep on the sofa or floor). However, the staff were brilliant and helped us overcome the problem. We were planning to have fish and chips takeaway but ended up choosing to buy dinner at the Dalesman and I can honestly say that the food was delicious (I had slow cooked Brisket - yummy!). Breakfast the next morning was equally tasty.

The hotel and bar were tastefully decorated, modern but comfortable. The staff were cheerful, efficient and helpful. I would definitely recommend staying here or even just popping in for something to eat and drink.

Room Tip: Cottage - don't bother unless there are just two of you. It is worth paying the extra for a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    40
    12
    6
    11
See reviews for
19
35
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Myself and two friends spent a lot of time in here over the course of a weekend. 1 of the group stayed in the hotel and said the room was very good with everything he needed especially at only £50 a night for a double room.

We ate here twice for breakfast and twice for dinner and found all the food to be fantastic. The service was great, the selection of food and drink was impressive and the locals friendly. A real gem

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

The Dalesman is always consistent with the quality of its food and the preparation but lately the menu has changed and is quite limited - especially in the evening. Suggestion would be to add a pasta dish or two and perhaps a curry, howevr always enjoyble and good atmosphere!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merseyside
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We called in for a drink after a days walking in the Dales, the beer was excellent and the menu was looked good, also the ambiance was so good we decided to go back to have our evening meal there. The food was excellent, I had the steak and my partner had the rack of ribs. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. Although we did not stay there I would certainly do so on any future visits to Sedbergh

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne
Top Contributor
251 reviews 251 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We only stopped for lunch en route from Scotland to home, but the excellent food and friendly service were good enough to entice us back in the future. We weren't able to eat inside as we had our dog with us, but it was a nice day so we were happy to sit outside - and the lady kindly brought us cushions for the seats. It's rare to find such pristine toilets but if the rooms are as clean as the loos and the pub itself, then we would love to stay in the future. Lovely town, too.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

My son and stayed here overnight having called in on the offchance at 4pm. We were welcomed and shown to rooms which although small were very comfortable and cozy, and great value. The food was first class and good value and the selection of beers very good. Breakfast was all you could want and the service efficient. Would definitely stay again. The only minor down side is the very limited parking available, but it caused us no problems, as the staff knew which car was parked where so could help those "hemmed in".

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalton-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

This place is a very nice pub. We had a very nice lunchtime meal in a pleasant warm surrounding. The only downside in my opinion was the actual cost of food. For example a piece of cheesecake for pudding was £5.50, a lot more than in other pubs I have eaten in.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Dalesman Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dalesman Country Inn

Address: Main Street, Sedbergh LA10 5BN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Sedbergh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Sedbergh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Dalesman Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dalesman Country Inn Sedbergh, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dalesman Country Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.