We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excavations in hand” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Roman Bath-house

Roman Bath-house
Station Road, Ravenglass, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 5 Attractions in Ravenglass
Type: Museums
Attraction details
Dorking, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Excavations in hand”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

The visit was made even more interesting by having the opportunity of looking at archaeological work in progress on the adjoining field

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    13
    8
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Impressive ruins”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

The bath house gives an idea of the size and importance of Ravenglass in Roman days. While we were there an archaeological dig was taking place nearby looking for the Roman civilian settlement. A young lady from the Lakes District National Park chatted with us and was very informative.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Historic site”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Nice stroll to the ruins very disappointing once we arrived not much to look at, not worth a walk up to just for that, ok if it's on your route. Would be better if there was more information about the original building.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, UK
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Exceeded expectations!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Visited in early August with my fiancée and we were impressed with these tall, well-preserved remains. The tallest Roman remains in the UK and worth seeing. Happily free and with interpretations boards, think there's more that English Heritage could do with signposting and explaining what's what.

We followed the wooden path signs but gave up on the path and moved together private road (not supposed though!), the path was overgrown. Once you head up the road/path you've just got to keep going and then you can't miss the remains at the side of the road but seriously BEWARE OF VERY FAST TRAFFIC on the private road!! Couple of characters flying around in cars and land rovers.

The remains are brilliant, you can fully walk around them, they're small but tall. They are part of a much larger unexcavated Roman fort complex. It's worth checking out the English Heritage page for the bath house as it has some great images and reconstructions of the bath house as well as more background information. Well worth a visit, we were scared we would only find an outline of the bath house chalked on the floor.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Oldest Roman Bath house”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I was told it is the oldest Roman bath house in England, it is in reasonable condition for it's age we came across it by accident as we were walking the dog

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roman Bath-house also viewed

Ravenglass, Lake District
 

Been to Roman Bath-house? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roman Bath-house, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.