We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Used to like it loads” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Holly House Hotel

Holly House Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ravenglass
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Holly House Hotel
Save
You added Holly House Hotel to your Saves list
Main Street, Ravenglass CA18 1SQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 5 Ravenglass B&B and Inns
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Used to like it loads”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

This used to be a fab village pub with a great atmosphere, good ale and food. When John was behind the bar and his wife providing first class food this was a first class establishment. I visited in Feb 2014 after the pub had been taken back by the Pennington Group. The place was so cold the staff were wearing coats, the choice of ale was limited and there was no food other than a take away pizza. The staff were surly with not so much as a please or thank you. Very disappointing, unless things improve drastically we will not be back. sad loss of a cracking pub.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    14
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
3
10
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Currently being refitted, but a nice choice of ales on offer. Rather grand ladie's loos, complete with bread ovens! Also had a roaring fire in the bar on the night we called in and a very laid-back feel.

Room Tip: Currently not a hotel, I believe
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Visited Ravenglass, with my wife, over the weekend and popped into the Holly House during the afternoon. We realized straight away that new people were running it.
It's been newly decorated and was very clean. There were three real ales on and I had a pint of Coniston Bluebird bitter which was excellent.
Talking to the landlady we found out that there are big plans for the place over the next twelve months - putting on food and renovating the rooms for accommodation (apparently the last tenant left the place in a right mess). One room which has been renovated is the lady's toilets and, if your a man, it's worth asking if you can take a look. A little bit of history in there!
Ravenglass is an idyllic place with wonderful sunsets and the Holly is ideally situated to view them. I look forward to visiting again and will probably stay there when the rooms are ready.

Room Tip: No rooms yet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Called in on a Saturday mostly to shelter from the weather. Owner quite happy for us to dry out by the fire even in August. Very welcoming enjoyed a few beers before venturing out into the wild again once it had all calmed down.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Stumbled across this waterfront gem whilst visiting Ravenglass with friends recently. Sheltering from the torrential rain, we were warmly welcomed and dried off by the fire in friendly surroundings. Although only a small bar, the new landlady kept a number of fine local real ales (and kept them very well) and explained some exciting plans for the future. It is clear from some of the reviews below that there had been some problems at the Holly House under previous management but from my experience recently these are all in the past. Rooms and kitchens are being refurbished soon and the great start made with the bar bode well for the future. I look forward to visiting again soon, and would certianly recommend it for the best pint and friendliest welcome in Ravenglass.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormskirk, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

After a manic run in the howling gales on the coast, myself and about a dozen others headed for the first shelter we could find and ended up in the Holly house hotel. Dripping, heavily. Luckily, the flagged floor wasn't going to absorb any of this, and we were welcomed in by the land lady. The woord burner in the main room was fired up and various clothing was hung up to drip and dry, giving us good reason to drink from the several cask ales on the bar for a few hours, with visting and passing locals, pets and families.
An awesome little pub, beer was faultless, very welcoming staff and (probably when it's not blowing a hoolie) a stunning view out the window. Far better than the other venues in Ravenglass which we frequented that day.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Stopped in with friends on a very wet Saturday. Very welcoming owner who let us hang our jackets around the fire to dry out and gave us a tour around the premises (ladies toilets have to be seen to be believed!). Bar has a great atmosphere, overlooks the estuary which looked amazing even in the rain, open fire and great selection of real ale. Will be back, especially if you get that micro brewery in!

Room Tip: Didn't stay - sorry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holly House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holly House Hotel

Address: Main Street, Ravenglass CA18 1SQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ravenglass
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Ravenglass
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Holly House Hotel Ravenglass, Cumbria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holly House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.