We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We didn't want to leave!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bay Horse Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Bay Horse Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
The Bay Horse Bed and Breakfast
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Main Street, Ravenglass CA18 1SD, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Special Rate
Ranked #1 of 5 Ravenglass B&B and Inns
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“We didn't want to leave!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011 via mobile

Elaine and Mike were so welcoming and the decor retains a traditional flare which immediately made me smile with excitement!
Our room was beautifully renovated with great beams and a gorgeous en suite with walk in shower and very smart fittings. The attention to detail was lovely, thorntons chocolates on the bed, fresh fruit, complementary bottle of water.
In easy reach of a few pubs. We chose the Holly House which to note is animal friendly. Lovely food.
The breakfast Mike cooked was outstanding! Top marks!
We weren't rushed out which makes a pleasant change.
Would happily have paid double for the stay! Was incredible value with the beach 40 feet away and the quality of the service and rooms. Can't wait to go back!!!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
48
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

Wanted to stop some where close to the Hadrian Cycleway ready for a good start. Found the Bay Horse using the Hadrian Cycleway site. A main priority was somewhere safe to store the bike and would there still be a welcome for a "wet, muddy," cycalist. Well yes on both accounts. The room , a single was small but clean, comftable and very nicely decorated. Plain and neutral but in a good way, and the house maintained its old character. After the bike was put into safe storage i was shown my room , bathroom ( seperate but not far away and again very nice) and left to get on with drying myself and kit out. I was offered help with the drying of any kit but managed with the radiator and some newspapers for the shoes. The welcome was warm and friendly without being over the top. There was a small lounge for use by residents which had a TV , boks , DVD player in it. The breakfast the next day was one of the best i have had, very fresh, hot and very filling. I was the only guest but the B& B is small and i dont suspect this attention to detail would drop with a few more guests. The chocs and fruit in the room only add to what is a great B&B and i do hope to go back one day.

Room Tip: Doubles look out to front st, single only skyligh.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2011

Elaine and Mike are superb hosts - warm, friendly and welcoming. This couple have lovingly and skilfully re-furbished this old village inn and the result is a very tasteful and comfortable B & B.The bedrooms include delightful extra features, including fresh fruit, fresh flowers and chocolates.Our breakfasts were superb. We cannot recommend the Bay Horse highly enough and Mike and Elaine show how small establishments should be run and deserve every success.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2010

Stayed for two nights in Ravenglass to go on the "Ratty" railway. B & B is in a good position at the end of the man street. Two rooms booked - both spotless and well-fitted out with the double having an excellent en-suite shower. No passing traffic (unless it plans driving into the estuary) meant a quiet night. Breakfast was 5* in both quality and quantity and was sourced from local ingredients. The owners (Mike & Elaine) have put a lot of work into the property and even more so into their service which was personal and friendly. Very much recommended for anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2010

Mike & Elaine (Aggie & Polly) Proprietors The Bay Horse Ravenglass,
What a Fantastic Guest House with parking. It is like home from home, Mike & Elaine go out of their way to make your stay outstanding! The breakfasts are better than Claridges! 'Sorry Gordon' and if you want a stroll on the beach its 40 feet away from the front door. There are 3 fantastic pubs within 1 minute of each other, All of what Serve really good Meals. And lot's of fantastic walks and things to do, We recommend the Ratty Railway. We mark this Guest house at 100/100 and Brilliant value for money.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2010

We stayed in for four days in Easter 2010 and we found it by far one of the nicest B&Bs we have ever been in. The rooms were not massive, but there nice appointed and felt cosy. The bathroom was spotless and we found complimentary bottled water and fresh fruit in the room every afternoon. The breakfast was superb, and a steal considering the cost of the room. The owners were charming and very welcoming and knowledgeable when it came to recommend places to walk nearby. The location is great and the village is peaceful and calm, with a couple of nice pubs and restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2010

A beautiful and tasteful renovation of an interesting old building. Right at the end of the village and just a stride from the estuary. Round the corner from the "Ratty" train line and a couple of friendly pubs. The rooms are great, the service is great and very friendly and the breakfast is first class. Lots of touches which made our stay special like eggs from hens in the back garden and home made jam. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bay Horse Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bay Horse Bed and Breakfast

Address: Main Street, Ravenglass CA18 1SD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ravenglass
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Ravenglass
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Bay Horse Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bay Horse is situated in the Lake District's only coastal village, Ravenglass. It is an 18th century former Coaching Inn which has been lovingly restored to enhance it's charm and character.The original features of the property have been uncovered revealing oak lintels, wooden doors, panelling, beams and fireplaces. If you like old properties you will love our home.The Bay Horse offers 2 double bedrooms and 1 single furnished to a high standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your The Bay Horse Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bay Horse Bed And Breakfast Ravenglass, Cumbria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bay Horse Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.