We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay, super staff, top class breakfast.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rosegarth Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Rosegarth Guest House to your Saves list
Rosegarth Guest House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Main Street, Ravenglass CA18 1SQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Ravenglass B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely stay, super staff, top class breakfast.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Our room was lovely and as described. The owner Neil, was lovely and extremely helpful as were his staff. The B+B is in a lovely location. The breakfast was first class! I'm sure I put on half a stone in 3 days. We'll be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
38
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

We booked into the family room for one night (Good Friday), wish we could have stayed longer! The guest house is also Tea rooms, so it was a hive of activity on our arrival and yet staff were extremely warm and welcoming and we were promptly shown our room. The room was clean and well equipped, and the boys were made up as they had their bedroom off to one side, even though there is no door they still loved it! The views are so lovely from the room,and it is a nice quiet, relaxing place, so no worries about the kids going to bed (more the kids waking other people!) Very comfortable beds and a great shower and little luxuries are a nice touch. The proprietor is extremely friendly and welcoming, and was very kind in giving each of our children a little Easter treat, (and he also cooks a superb breakfast!!) Lots of things to do, with as little or as much as you wish to suit. We will definitely be going back, a really ideal, relaxing break. :)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

I had a lovely time they really made us welcome.It was a family trip with my parents as a birthday gift.The breakfasts where excellent and had really good nights sleep.They have just opened the new tea rooms and I would highly recommend.If you park in the car park next to station walk towards the main street in Ravenglass they are sign posted so you know where they are it is a small village so easy to find ideal lodging if you are taking a trip on the railway which we where.It is all and all a lovely place with plenty to do Rail, Muncaster Castle and gardens all within walking distance.Ratty arms inn which is situated just behind the rosegarth up the alley and across the car park reasonably priced evening meals.

Room Tip: I would recommend if you are travelling alone asking for room 5 lovely and comfy and excellent view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Yet another fantastic stay at Rosegarth Guest House so glad I returned and another lovely room and breakfast made for a perfect get away highly recommend to all I always leave wishing I could stay longer I am already wanting to book my next visit thanks again

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

3rd time I have stayed at the Rosegarth and enjoyed each visit. Stayed with my wife in the deluxe room and it didn't disappoint.
Lovely views over the estuary, well appointed room with a very comfy bed and lovely bed linen, the en-suite was excellent with a superb shower over the bath.
The proprietor is very friendly and chatty and makes a great breakfast, full english or there are alternatives if you wish.
Free parking at the rear is also a bonus.
If I get the chance in the future I will make it 4 visits.

Room Tip: Just make sure you opt for a room with a view of the estuary
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

My wife and I have just spent a long weekend at the Rosegarth, not our first and definitely not our last. Any guests will be given a welcome second to none by Neil, the owner, and now also daughter Jess. The breakfasts cannot be bettered, with service to match. We have stayed in differing rooms in the past, and this visit was just as pleasurable with all room facilities top class. Do not expect the Ritz or indeed Ritz prices ( early deals are there for the taking at present). This is the kind of country guest house that has changed little in it's outlook or approach, but has been maintained to a high standard. The views from the estuary rooms are spectacular, especially early morning and evening sunsets. The Ravenglass village is a trip back in time, with local attractions, The Ratty Steam Railway (5 minute walk) one of the best of it's type in the country, and of course you will be only a short drive away from the wonderful Lakes. Muncaster Castle is a great day out, just about 10-15 minute walk away.

Room Tip: Look to the estuary view rooms if possible....but if not available don't let that put you off.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

We had a wonderful trip to this idyllic guest house a wonderfully decorated room with stunning sea views and a generous breakfast I am looking forward to my next visit!The owners have lots of helpful local knowledge and wish we could have stayed longer

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rosegarth Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosegarth Guest House

Address: Main Street, Ravenglass CA18 1SQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ravenglass
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Ravenglass
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rosegarth Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ROSEGARTH IS AVAILABLE FOR BOOKINGS, PLEASE IGNORE ANY POP-UP STATING OTHERWISE. Neil and the Team welcome you to Rosegarth in tranquil Ravenglass, an ancient village built on the site of Glannaventa, a Roman fort and port. Rosegarth is the only 4* Guest House in Ravenglass, we overlook the beautiful river estuary and for several generations Rosegarth was the local doctors home and practice. The building retains many original features from the Victorian era and offers visitors a friendly and comfortable base from which to explore this wonderful corner of the Lake District. All rooms are en-suite with powerful showers and most have Estuary Views. Walkers and cyclists are very welcome, we have full drying and secure bike/equipment storage facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Rosegarth Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosegarth Guest House Ravenglass, Cumbria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rosegarth Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.