We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rosegarth Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Rosegarth Guest House to your Saves list
Rosegarth Guest House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Main Street, Ravenglass CA18 1SQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Ravenglass B&B and Inns
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I cannot find fault with this B&B. The room was beautifully presented, clean and comfortable. It was the best night's sleep I've had in ages. Followed by a breakfast worthy of a Michelin Star. The staff exemplified good customer service and were extremely knowledgeable about the local area. The location was beautiful looking out over the estuary. If you are looking for service of a standard which you don't often any more in Britain this is the place to come. Pure perfection.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
38
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Stayed here for one night room 2 very-very nice, clean, comfy room, views fantastic, breakfast to die for, no hesitation in recommending this hotel,staff sooo nice, you must go. Ravensglass is very handy for the narrow gauge railway which is seven miles each way u got to try it! the area is of outstanding beauty whith the Lake district on its doorstep.

Room Tip: Room 2 great views over the estuary
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

I didn't sleep over at Rosegarth but dropped in for lunch with friends. Delicious, homely food, thoughtfully prepared. Nice people running it with a sense of humour. Thought it was a bit odd that even though we were paying customers we weren't allowed to access to the WiFi. Standard practice everywhere else in the world. Strange, not sure what they're afraid of. Otherwise very good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

I stayed here one evening whilst working in the area. We arrived quite late but the owner was lovely about it. I was given a room at the front facing the sea, fab view to wake up to. The room was spotless, the bed was comfy, good pillows [which I always think is important!] and lots of nice little touches, like bottles of water, which I really appreciated, mints, lovely soap and shower gels etc. Bathroom spotless and modern, with a good shower.

Breakfast was served in the dining room downstairs, again with a sea view, and was, well, epic! I had a full veggie breakfast and it kept me going all day.

The cost was really, really good for the facilities here - I paid under £40 as a single occupier - bargain! Definitely recommended - I'm sure I'll stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South of England
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
94 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

I have enjoyed three stays here and I'm happy to report that the standards remain high. I have always taken a room on the sea-facing side; they enjoy a wonderful, peaceful view over the harbour and beyond. The breakfast is all you could want and the proprietor is always willing to help you make the most of your visit.

A little room tip - I have lost some weight and can now easily get in the shower in room 5, but this has not always been the case!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

we stayed at this guest house over the August bank holiday 2012 and it is excellent, the breakfast is very good, the room was clean and well equiped, very friendly with a view that is breathtaking a good all round accomadation, with all the little extras that make it a wonderfull place like a drying room, good for bikers and walkers, car parking and hard standing for bikes, cafe on the premises, local pubs within a breath away, i could not fault it for the price and intend to return, it is worth looking up.

Room Tip: although a slightly low roof the attick has a view you will not better,and supplied with binoculars...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We stayed at this inn for two nights. The inn was very clean, and the beds very comfortable, our room was a bit small, but we got to see some of the others (there were 8 in our party) and other rooms were a very good size.
The location was great over looking the estuary, where we had fun just watching the tide coming in and out. It was right near the train station and the steam train that takes you up the mountain. It was also close to a couple of really good restaurants.
Breakfast every morning was delicious with many options to choose from.
We would not hesitate to go back to this inn again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rosegarth Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosegarth Guest House

Address: Main Street, Ravenglass CA18 1SQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ravenglass
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Ravenglass
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rosegarth Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ROSEGARTH IS AVAILABLE FOR BOOKINGS, PLEASE IGNORE ANY POP-UP STATING OTHERWISE. Neil and the Team welcome you to Rosegarth in tranquil Ravenglass, an ancient village built on the site of Glannaventa, a Roman fort and port. Rosegarth is the only 4* Guest House in Ravenglass, we overlook the beautiful river estuary and for several generations Rosegarth was the local doctors home and practice. The building retains many original features from the Victorian era and offers visitors a friendly and comfortable base from which to explore this wonderful corner of the Lake District. All rooms are en-suite with powerful showers and most have Estuary Views. Walkers and cyclists are very welcome, we have full drying and secure bike/equipment storage facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Rosegarth Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosegarth Guest House Ravenglass, Cumbria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rosegarth Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.