We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Strands Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Strands Hotel to your Saves list
The Strands Hotel
Near Gosforth, Nether Wasdale CA20 1ET , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nether Wasdale
Alfreton, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“A great weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We visited this hotel for a weekend and we had a fantastic stay. from the moment we arrived we were welcomed in and showed to our room.we booked a meal for that night, and i must say that it is the best steak i have ever had and real hand cut chips not frozen. the rooms are clean and well stocked with tea ,coffee.The best thing was there is no mobile phone signal so you have to talk to people. The village is very clean and has some great views.All in all we had a great weekend staying in afantastic place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    19
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
7
28
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at The Strands Hotel due to its short drive to the Wasdale Head route up Scaffell Pike. Nether Wasdale is well off the normal tourist route and is a beautiful village with The Strands being popular with both locals and visitors. Warmly welcomed, the service was excellent - no request was too much trouble. A lovely stay.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

As others have said great choice of in house beer to suit varied tastes. Warm welcolm and good service for food that is typical fayre and reasonable value. Homemade chips edged a good up to a very good in my opinion. Bedroom was clean and towels were good quality with a comfy bed in a standard looking bedroom that was practical more than lush. The area around here is breath taking and has a real pure Cumbrian look and feel, unspoilt and stunning even with a touch of mist. Will be back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

Tucked away on the west side of Cumbria the Strands Hotel offers a great place to stay near the the beautiful Wast Water and explore the Great Gable and Scarfell Pike mountains. The rooms were well appointed, comfortable and tastefully decorated. The food was excellent and the 'Errrrm' microbrewery beer lived up to all expectations. The service was really friendly and helpful at all times. Came on business this time but will ceratinly return for pleasure.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

We were on our way to stay here and had just come over the Hardknott Pass in horrific weather conditions, only to find a flood right across the road,deeper than our car could manage, with an abandoned car on the far side of it. We thought we would have to get out and walk (about 10 miles at 9pm) but when we called the hotel to explain we would be late, the owner immediately set off to collect us in his Landrover and whisk us back to the hotel, where a good meal was provided even though they had really stopped serving. Nothing was too much trouble. The breakfasts were excellent and on our 2nd night we experienced the full glory of the restaurant, feasting on monkfish and samphire followed by beautifully cooked sea bass. We are hoping to return!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfsberg, Austria
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
264 helpful votes 264 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Located in a truly spectacular valley. Rooms are typical quaint pub rooms. The owners and staff are lovely and friendly. The fact this is a microbrewery with an excellent range of ales on draught should be enough to get you booking, but this is coupled with a great restaurant with a fabulous menu. As a base for hiking, you cant find better, as it is located in the heart of the high lakeland mountains. Its also a good base to explore the beautiful lakeland seaside towns. I now class myself as a regular here, because it has me going back at least once a year. I love this place!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

We walked over the fell from Eskdale Green where we are staying at a self-catering cottage. We had lunch and brews, and the best Lake District food we've had during our holiday. And the views are stunning as well.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Strands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strands Hotel

Address: Near Gosforth, Nether Wasdale CA20 1ET , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Nether Wasdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nether Wasdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Strands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strands Hotel Nether Wasdale
The Strands Hotel Nether Wasdale, Cumbria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Strands Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.