We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Penny Menu” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Wheatsheaf at Beetham

The Wheatsheaf at Beetham
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Milnthorpe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Wheatsheaf at Beetham
Beetham, Milnthorpe LA7 7AL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Milnthorpe
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The Penny Menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Our country home is near to here so we are regular visitors. We went recently for a mid-week dinner, choosing to eat from the 'penny menu'. The idea being that if you buy a full priced main course you get dessert and started for a penny each, which represents fantasic value. The food is nothing fancy, just nice quality traditional pub food in good portions. We would recommend to any visitors to the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    24
    14
    6
    6
See reviews for
21
33
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I feel compelled to review The Wheatsheaf as my recent visit there constituted the worst dining experience I have ever had, and I feel we were badly ripped off, being asked to pay for terrible service and substandard food.
It took nearly an hour for somebody to even take our order: we stopped two separate waitresses and asked both if we could order food; one said "yes", only to disappear and never be seen again, and the other refused on the grounds of being busy, then also disappeared leaving us stranded! We planned to walk out but, as by this time it was 9 o'clock and we had no food at our holiday accommodation, we decided to stay and give it a chance. Our order was finally taken by a waiter who was surly and distant, and who made no apology for our having waited nearly an hour to be attended to. We noticed a neighbouring table forced to wait ten minutes with their desserts on the table before somebody finally brought them cutlery!
The food arrived suspiciously quickly, suggesting a microwave job, and, although the starter was quite pleasant, the main course food was shockingly bad. My vegetarian lasagne was not a lasagne, merely carrots, peas and cheese layered with pasta and barely edible; the garlic bread contained no garlic and was simply a petit pan cut in half and cremated, and the salad was a handful of leaves squashed into a ramekin with no dressing. My husband's meal was of the same 'quality', and we could not finish our food.
The whole experience was so surreal it would have been amusing, were the food and wine not so grossly overpriced. I am staggered that a restaurant can serve up such poor quality, treat people in such an offhand, contemptuous way, and still remain in business. It is sad that what was once a lovely fine dining establishment has been reduced to quite simply the worst restaurant I have ever visited. A total shambles.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Very comfortable. The decor is old fashioned and possibly more suited to the older traveller. Room was fine with a very comfortable firm bed. Choice on the evening menu was good and the food cooked to a high standard. Excellent value.

Room Tip: Watch out for rooms facing the church as the chimes go off every 15minutes
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Travelling home after days in the Lake District, and still many hours of roadway before us, we came across a sign on the A6 main road referring to The Wheatsheaf. We hesitated and then turned back to where directed, into the pleasing little village of Beetham. We immediately spotted the Free House and opposite, their large car park. We entered and found a quaint interior of several dining areas, and a lounge and a bar. It was late lunch time and the menu looked tempting. Although we had gone in only for a lunch snack we ended up ordering from the menu, and were not disappointed with a well presented, well cooked meal more suitable for an evening dinner. Accompanying it was a large dish of many varieties of vegetables. My wife said she will not have to cook when we eventually arrive home so we sat and enjoyed not only the meal, but the interior character surroundings where it is said meals have been served to travellers since the early 1600’s.

The staff were friendly (it is a family run operation) and the cost reasonable (a well presented starter was also ordered from a wide choice for the cost of 1p. We both ended our meal with our choice of trifle again just 1p each). The cost is irrelevant if the food is not up to standard – but we were well satisfied, and my wife is even more fussier than I where she eats and what she consumes. The total bill was £25.84

I believe there were further rooms upstairs for private functions, and that BB is available. I have made a note of this venue, as we will certainly call in again when next in the area. rwn 11/07/13

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coalville, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

As the venue to celebrate our parents Golden Wedding Anniversary, we couldn't have asked for more. From the moment we entered the beautiful surroundings, we received a very warm welcome.
We were treated to excellent service throughout our stay and all the staff went that extra mile to make the weekend very special.
The rooms are named after local attractions and so pretty with lovely views of the church from most of the rooms. All had tea/coffee-making facilities and were very comfortable.
The food was great!! And we ate quite a lot!! Afternoon Tea, Evening meal and Breakfast - all of which were delicious and well-presented.
We thank Richard & Jean and all the staff for looking after us, making the occasion very .
memorable and we will return.........we highly recommend The Wheatsheaf at Beetham!!
The Darlow, Powers and Pell family.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Went on Friday night with friends for a meal, can't recommend highly enough, the atmosphere was great, and we had a good meal, the food was freshly cooked and well presented with a good choice of menu, the staff were very attentive and efficient and made our evening very special. If you are looking for somewhere for a special evening out with a good meal this is the place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Visited with our 2 young children on a Monday night after a long drive. The meal was great value and very good food from the penny menu and also a good healthy childs menu. The lady who served use made the children feel so welcome they wanted to go back the next day.
Lovley little pub in a beautiful little village.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Wheatsheaf at Beetham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wheatsheaf at Beetham

Address: Beetham, Milnthorpe LA7 7AL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Milnthorpe
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Milnthorpe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Also Known As:
The Wheatsheaf At Beetham Hotel Milnthorpe
Wheatsheaf At Beetham Milnthorpe
The Wheatsheaf At Beetham Milnthorpe, Cumbria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wheatsheaf at Beetham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Wheatsheaf at Beetham to your Saves list