We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Time after time amazing in this local gem.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Kings Arms

The Kings Arms
Hale Village, Milnthorpe LA7 7BH, England
+44 15395 63203
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 13 Restaurants in Milnthorpe
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Lancaster
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Time after time amazing in this local gem.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

The Kings Arms was recommended to us a number of years ago and we haven't looked back since.
This is one of, if not the favourite place my wife and I like to go for our Sunday lunch. Everything is always delicious, made with obvious care and love, presented superbly in good sized, generous portions.
We are always made to feel really welcome in the very comfortable and homely surroundings, so much so we feel like we have become members of George and Anne's family. This wonderful couple work so well as a team, with George tending a great bar and Anne working magic in the kitchen.
We return regularly to sample our favourites off the fantastic standard menu and some wonderful specials that are always a little bit different, including local venison, wild boar and a variety of game.
If you're passing by or live locally you must call in for a visit to one of the gems of the area.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annehallam, Owner at The Kings Arms, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
I am extremely pleased that you pick off our special board when you visit. Our french chef does go out of his way to make the board just that little bit special Thank you for your comments, we are very grateful for any feedback. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    10
    0
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Don't just think it's about the food..................”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Second visit, sunny day accompanied by aged relative - decided to sit outside as we thought it would be cooler but too hot so into pub passing by the bar the Landlord asked if we changed our mind and based on a simple 'it's too hot' he followed us into the dining room, and then opened an outside door to ensure we were cool - what can you say?

Food great (again) - home roast ham on a sandwich, can't recommend highly enough.

Now the downside, 85 miles from home so doubtful we'll ever have chance of an evening meal.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“second visit as good as the first”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

My wife & I called in here on our way to Ambleside we called in here before, April of this year, we were not disapointed then nor were we disapointed on this occasion the beer is well kept and served by the excellent Landlord. The food is also of excellent quality the kitchen being run by the very exprienced Landlady, every effort to make you feel welcome in this hostelry is probably down to the many years experience of this couple.

On chatting with the landlady Ann it appears the greed of the owners is about to drive this couple out of not only the Kings Arms but out of the trade altogether, this would be a sad loss & if it finally does come for this pub to change hands I hope it would have a detrimental effect on the owners profits.

Good luck for the future to George & Ann

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annehallam, Owner at The Kings Arms, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Thank you for stopping for yet another visit. We are extremely grateful for all comments and strive always to maintain the best balance for each and every customer. Your very kind words and good wishes are noted.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic, good quality food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

We visited the kings arms for an early evening meal with 2 adults and 2 children in our party. I have to say the food was excellent, i had a special of 'lamb henri' which was lovely and tender with tasty gravy and perfectly cooked vegetables. My husband chose a full size lasagne which was enormous and came with a hefty portion of chips, he said it was delecious and at 9 pounds fantastic value! The children also enjoyed their meals and the staff were friendly and welcoming and the service quick. I do have to say that upon entering there is a 'old pub' smell but this is not present in the dining room, the decor is very traditional and could maybe do with updating slightly but the toilets are very clean and inviting and even have paper towels which is always a plus for me! The most important thing is the food though which i can honestly recommend to anyone.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annehallam, Owner at The Kings Arms, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Thank you for your very kind words. We at the Kings Arms, strive to produce a menu that suits all tastes. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your visit. The pub does need a little bit of a face lift that is true!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely pub. Great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Stopped for a meal today on the way home from the nearby Wildlife Oasis. There were 2 adults and 2 children in our party and we all thoroughly enjoyed our meals. My son had a curry off the lighter bites section of the menu and the portion was still huge! It was good value overall, the staff were friendly and polute and the pub itself spotlessly clean and well presented. We will definitely pass by this way again!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annehallam, Owner at The Kings Arms, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for your very kind words. We strife very hard to maintain an excellent and to suit all palates. We are extremely pleased that you enjoyed your visit to The Kings Arms. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Kings Arms also viewed

Milnthorpe, Cumbria
 

Been to The Kings Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kings Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.