We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a lovely little place!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lakeland Wildlife Oasis

Lakeland Wildlife Oasis
Hale, Milnthorpe LA7 7FE, England
15395 63027
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“It's a lovely little place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We took our nephews here (ages 2 and 5) and they both loved it. To be fair, I became a big kid again and really enjoyed it, especially seeing the ant farm at work, seeing the ants cross the room on the rope. Wow, that was brilliant. The bats hanging upside down were amazing. I loved that. Although the boys got a little scared seeing the snakes they had, overall, it's a great morning/afternoon out and fairly good value for money too. Although, I believe the cafe part of it could do with a slight upgrade, the food and drink here were really good. Oh I have to say the meerkats were awesome there and so where the wonderful different types of birds they have outside. Word of warning though, if it's been raining, take your wellies, as there can be puddles everywhere!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    38
    14
    17
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Take the kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Great fun and good assortement of animal life for both kids and adults. Great selection and friendly informative staff.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Only small but well worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We have just purchased another family season ticket for the forthcoming year for this place which last year paid for itself within a month. We own a caravan near here and so are frequent visitors to the park. our 2 young children love this place, whenever we are up there its the first place they want to visit, they never ever get bored. the lady who runs the cafe does an excellant job, the food is always fantastic and she genuinely cares about the food she produces and its always fantastic quality. the kids love the snow leopards, the merecats, the butterfly area and the ant colony. they love interacting with the dna displays as you go in. The gift shop is lovely - just stocked up on a load of stocking fillers for christmas. Staff genuinely seem proud of the place and love to talk to you about their plans for the place - only small but well worth a visit !
karenh06
Chorley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A great mini-zoo, especially for young kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Small, but makes good use of the available space and has some truly wonderful things to see. Highlights include the snow leopards, unusual ant colony and larger than expected aquarium.

There is a good cafe and outdoor play area, and lots of space to move around with prams and wheelchairs. If you're after the large, exotic and spectacular this isn't the place for you, but it's ideal for those with young children to spend an afternoon in the company of animals and interesting exhibits.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
303 reviews 303 reviews
74 attraction reviews
Reviews in 200 cities Reviews in 200 cities
244 helpful votes 244 helpful votes
“Great little zoo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Only small, but has some great and unusual exhibits. The leaf-cutter ant colony as you enter the tropical house had our 11 yo son enthralled for half an hour when we eventually managed to drag him away. The staff have set up a rope which leads to a food table, and a two-way ant highway leads to and from the colony - just amazing to be able to observe these fascinating little creatures at such close quarters.

The staff are also great enthusiasts and will happily chat and show off their charges. They used to do sessions where you could hold the snakes etc, but apparently have stopped these recently as they don't get enough people. But hopefully these will resume - and they let our son hold a few random things (stick insects, millipede and a Madagascan tenrec (looks like a hedgehog but is in fact a small mammal that just evolved to fill the same evolutionary niche). Elsewhere, the tiny day old rats, the cute harvest mice, dinky Pygmy Marmoset and the fruit bats were also pretty cool.

They also try to explain some of the science, eg behind evolution - our son enjoyed the stuff about DNA and the evolutionary calendar.

Outside, the main attraction is the snow leopards, which enjoy lying on the perspex tunnel above your head. The fossa (a Madagascan predator related to mongooses) is impressive, and rarely seen in zoos. Watch out for the curassow bird trying everything it can to escape from the South American Safari enclosure.

Certainly worth a couple of hours visit. It cannot compete with zoos on the scale of Chester, and no big open play areas for kids to let off steam, but it has some nice exhibits and knowledgeable staff, and gives you an altogether more intimate experience. Recommended if you like your animals.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lakeland Wildlife Oasis also viewed

Dalton-in-Furness, Cumbria
Beetham, Cumbria
 
Newby Bridge, Lake District
 

Been to Lakeland Wildlife Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lakeland Wildlife Oasis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.