We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely a High End B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Plantation Cottage

Plantation Cottage
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Plantation Cottage to your Saves list
Plantation Cottage
Arnside Road, Sandside, Milnthorpe LA7 7JU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Milnthorpe B&B and Inns
South of England
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
94 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Definitely a High End B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

I can't hold the proprietors responsible for the miserable weather, but everything else was fine. The room, in particular, was presented to a very high standard. I had an excellent night's sleep (on my own in a double bed). It is easy to come on the bus from Kendal or Milnthorpe, and there is a wonderful walk along the edge of the salt marsh to Arnside for dinner (Fighting Cocks was fine for me).

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
24
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

I used to be a large hotel type person however give me a little B&B like this anytime. I do wish this was my house, close to the beautiful village of arnside. If you do get chance to stay you will love it

Room Tip: only two rooms we had the large one - lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2011

Gorgeous first class accommodation, with beautiful gardens, and wonderful hospitality! We were made so welcome by Victor, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay - he was so welcoming, and cooked us a lovely breakfast.
The room was spotlessly clean, and very comfortable, with everything we needed for our stay. Such a shame we couldn't stay longer, and we will hopefully return for a longer stay very soon.
Would definitely recommend a stay in this superb accommodation!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2011

Just back from a lovely rural treat on the edge of the Lake District. Plantation Cottage is a wonderful little B&B run by very friendly hosts Victor and Maxine. We stayed in a fab room with a corner bath. The cottage is beautifully decorated throughout with wooden beams and tasteful furnishings. We had a great brekfas including a vegitarian option. Will definitely be going back ! The cottage is approx a 5 min drive from Arnside, which overlooks the Morebambe estuary and has a nice prom. We enjoyed a lovely and plentiful meal at The Fighting Cocks, which was very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2010

We booked Plantation Cottage for a two night stay based on various reviews as standards, cleanliness, comfort etc are very important to us and we were definitely not disappointed. We stayed in a traditional room which had just been refurbished to a very high standard. We were made exceptionally welcome by two superb hosts and the breakfast was wonderful and served in a lovely dining room. Free internet was a plus so we could browse and book the next stage of our trip.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010

Perfect for access to dales and lake district. offroad parking and lovely room.
if I had to make a constructive comment a bigger bed or twin beds would be better, but that is my own personal choice.
Great stay, great hospitality and would certainly book again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2010

We stayed here for two nights. The garden and entrance were absolutely immaculate and looked so beautiful on arrival and the inside did not disappoint either, everything was very clean and well laid out and the breakfast was delicious. The room had an ensuite WC and wash hand basin but the shower was just down the hall (it was private to our room though) and to be honest, for the price this was no problem at all. Go and try this place for yourself, the owners are really lovely.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Plantation Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantation Cottage

Address: Arnside Road, Sandside, Milnthorpe LA7 7JU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Milnthorpe
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Milnthorpe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Plantation Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plantation Cottage Milnthorpe, Cumbria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plantation Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.