We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a golden gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Lion

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Golden Lion to your Saves list
Golden Lion
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Senhouse Street, Maryport CA15 6AB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Maryport B&B and Inns
Jarrow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“a golden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We have just returned from a lovely stay at the recently refurbished Golden Lion Hotel in Maryport. We received a warm welcome by the reception staff and were shown up to our room ... number 16 on the 4th floor. The room was quite spacious, was equipped with tea/coffee making facilities, had a small en-suite shower room (with hand gel, shower gel, shampoo etc) and great views of the harbour, across the Solway Firth to Scotland.
The full English breakfast was lovely ... served from 8.00 until 10.00 on Sat and Sun. The menu held a good selection of evening meals (... just we didn’t seem to have enough room left by evening to partake!).
I would recommend this hotel to others and would stop there again.
It is an old building with no lift ... and if you are not too good on your feet ... it may be considered to be quite a hike up to the 4th floor with heavy bags?
Rooms 1 to 5 (inc.) appeared to be on the 1st floor. Rooms 14 to 17 (inc.) are on the 4th/top floor, facing out across the harbour (... I would consider the view to be worth the hike). Weather permitting ... lovely sunsets ;-)
The people of Maryport are extremely helpful, very friendly and most welcoming to visitors. We enjoyed our second visit to the town and plan to return in the near future (... to continue my research into the history of missing number 19 King Street and its occupants in the mid 1800’s).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    11
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
8
13
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
liverpool
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Golden Lion was a lovely feel appointed hotel, nice room, good bed, tea making facilities and stunning views. 4th floor views were spectacular over the harbour and solway firth.
Restaurant served a wide choice of meals and were good value for money.
Staff were friendly and very helpful with directions, information etc.
Great stay, we will use agan and reccommend to friends.
Only downside, was there was no lift, so next time I will ask for a lower floor.

Room Tip: Fourth floor for great sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbria
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

went for a meal here , the restaurant was of a very high standard , very clean and the staff were superb nothing was any trouble to them. the food was superb very high standard all round would recommend thankyou golden lion for making our meal excellent !

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Annes
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We enjoyed a one night stay with breakfast. Very friendly staff on arrival, who took us to our room. Very clean and comfortable. Plenty of towels and good room facilities. We had breakfast in the restaurant and it was cooked fresh to order. Very good service by our waitress. Lovely family run business with a lot to offer. Will definitely stay again. Thank you to Philip and his staff.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blairgowrie, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

Recently refurbished but small room. Pleasant enough outlook overlooking harbour. Very small bathroom approx 2-3sqm inc the shower. Very poor electric shower. Equipped well enough but fairly cheap furniture. Reading other report, perhaps I was unlucky with my rom?
Dinner was decent pub food beside quite noisy bar. Well enough presented food but sauces in paper pots??
As I said previously bar was quite noisy and not particularly welcoming . However, good selection of real ales. Football on two TVs with no escape.
Good breakfast.
Can't really recommend the hotel. As with so many Cumbrian hotels overpriced for what is on offer. Small rooms but adequate. Nothing special, just...... adequate.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed at the Golden Lion in the last week of August for two nights in the Premier Room with a view of the harbour, the room was excellent as was the hotel, the double bed was very comfortable, plenty of room and good wardrobe and drawer space, the usual beverage tray, also free wifi connection, in fact everything that we needed was at hand, windows to the side street and one forward take in the views down towards the sea front.

I found the place fresh and clean, very tasteful, good en suite facilities, so much thought has gone into the decor and balance of colour and furnishing, someone has obviously an eye for design and put a lot of thought into the refurbishment.

The breakfast was spot on, you would find the "full English" hard to beat in any hotel or B&B in the North of England. In all of our years of travelling we have only found one hotel located in Whitby to equal it!

The staff were very friendly and all concerned work hard to please the guests, whether with your room, at the breakfast table or at the bar, which I must mention serve some cracking real ales, even if you are not staying here, it is worth going in for a pint or for a meal, a decent range on the menu.

I have just a couple of small gripes, the first one is that we seemed to have Michael Flatley in the room above, came in late and tramping around, got up really early too, I think he may have been a contractor or something at a well known nuclear establishment? I have noticed that in most hotels the floors are not well soundproofed,

The other surprise was someone got the Vac out at one o clock in the morning to sweep the ground floor, but hey I suppose they have to keep the hotel clean after we have made a mess of it, we soon nodded off as we were tired with the walking and taking in the wonderful sea air.

This Hotel fits in well with the surroundings, the people are so friendly, I was surprised how nice the locals are, they seem genuinely interested in the people visiting their town. We will definitely return to Maryport, and will certainly try to get in to the Golden Lion.

Thanks to Phillip and all his staff.

Room Tip: Premier Room is superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We've just spent a very pleasant two night stay at the Golden Lion, a recently- and well- refurbished town centre hotel. The location - the oldest building in the town - couldn't be more central for the amenities, and parking wasn't a problem. Everyone was very friendly and helpful, and the whole place has a welcoming air. Our room was medium size, well equipped and comfortable. The restaurant was nicely decorated, and the food was simple but excellently presented and served. Portions are very generous! The only downside was the noise from the neighbouring pubs at chucking-out time [Saturday at 2 am. - choir practice, it seems!] - they say it's ok midweek! We'd stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Lion

Address: Senhouse Street, Maryport CA15 6AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Maryport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Maryport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Lion 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Golden Lion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Lion Maryport, Cumbria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Lion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.