We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winston the mischevious Scotty Dogs first holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Broadoaks Country House

Save Saved
You added Broadoaks Country House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Broadoaks Country House
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Bridge Lane | Troutbeck Windermere, Troutbeck LA23 1LA , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Troutbeck B&B and Inns
Conwy, United Kingdom
1 review
“Winston the mischevious Scotty Dogs first holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

My first stay away from my snuggy warm bed turned out to be quite an adventure. Firstly we arrived at this beautiful Hotel with its finery and I couldnt beleive my big Doggy eyes. To greet me I had a very charming welcome from a gentlemen at reception who curtiously handed over some Doggy chews (my mum wont even give me these) I was so impressed. We were then offered an afternoon tea in the Music room, I kid you not fellow chums it was wonderful. Not only was there a log fire burning away for me to warm myself adoringly on the rug right infront of it but they served the big people tea and scones, which looked devine. My Mum and Dad gave me none but I think those kind lot on reception would of sneaked me one. We were shown to our quarters a little later , oh my word it was something else ,how anyone can complain about the sleeping area I will never know. Our sleeping area was perfect It has obviously recently been done as it was so tastefully decorated and smelt wonderful ( sometimes the big people can leave an odour ) well not in our lodge , it smelt wonderfully fresh all the time .Mum and Dad relaxed so well I saw my Mum fall asleep on the bed snoring so she must of been very relaxed. Annoying Harry my brother seemed to want to bathe all the time I think it must of been the jacuzzi although I wasnt allowed in that . Right outside my bedroom door I was taken on an adventure it was wonderful I did plenty of digging and running . Mum Dad and harry went for their evening meal , Mum doesnt usually drink but she obviously enjoyed the evening so much she was acting a bit strange when she came in . Mum hasnt been so well lately so thankyou to all the staff and the chef who made a separate meal for my annoying brother we all had an absolute ball and shall definately be returning as soon as they have worked abit harder to keep me in the manner I am accustomed to fabulous stay xxx

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-BOaks, Hotel Pooch at Broadoaks Country House, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Winston this is Molly here, you should have called to let me know you were on your way up we could have had a howl of a time. You’re the first of my pals to leave a review and I’m so pleased to hear that my V.I.Pooches are being looked after in a 5* fashion, there’s no going back now Winston, kennels will never seem the same!

Thank you for taking the time to let me know how much you enjoyed visiting my house, next time just pick up the dog and bone and let me know you’re on the way, I would love to dig stuff with you!

Molly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    372
    67
    19
    11
    5
See reviews for
70
298
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012 via mobile

I had my wedding here in Jun this year. The weather was awful, but the service was outstanding! The views are amazing, the rooms are luxury, the food was lovely. They catered for all my guests needs. We had a wheat free menu for one guest and catered for all the vegetarians. Service with a smile.
They looked after everyone.
It's definitely a place to come for luxury, relaxing and getting away from it all. There is hardly any phone signal, but great to get away from everything.
The grounds are lovely, are wedding photos are brilliant.
We booked the place exclusively for the weekend and it was perfect.
Thank you team and especially all those on shift on 22 to 24 Jun!

K&K.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-BOaks, Owner at Broadoaks Country House, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
A gushing review that made us blush, we really appreciate your time to let us know we got it right for you, this is why we work as hard as we do and it makes every moment worthwhile. We will pop this review on our Board in the hotel and give the team a big pat on the back.

We hope you are settled in to married life and look forward to seeing you soon

Tracey & Jo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vlycha, Greece
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

What a wonderful staff work at this lovely Country House Hotel. My niece had booked all of the hotel for the weekend of her wedding. After such a poor wet summer, the weekend weather was perfect. The drive up the narrow road from Windermere is a little daunting for those of us not used to narrow country roads. The welcome from Andrea the manageress was excellent . The service from all the staff through out the weekend came with a smile and an attitude that everything was possible. What a delight to meet such charming people. I have read the previous reviews and they like me were overwhelmed by the excellence of this hotel.
Sedohr

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-BOaks, Owner at Broadoaks Country House, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
It isn’t often we hear from the family and guests attending weddings at Broadoaks so thank you for letting us know how much you enjoyed the day and how well the staff looked after you. We will always endeavour to do whatever it takes to make sure our guests enjoy their stays and we are so pleased even on a busy wedding this was still your perception of our staff, well done to the team and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Tracey & Jo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

Stayed one night last week- absolutely loved it. The food was great, location was picturesque, the hotel was so clean. The staff - James and jo looked after us. Loved it so much I booked my mum and dad in for next month for a birthday treat- hopefully it won't be long before we find time to unwind again there x

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-BOaks, Owner at Broadoaks Country House, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you for your review and for recommending us to your parents, Broadoaks has become a special place for a lot of families to get together and we are really pleased that the appeal of the style and experience at Broadoaks spans generations. We look forward to welcoming you back for another relaxing getaway.

Tracey & Jo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We have just returned home after spending 3 nights DBB at this charming hotel. I don't really know where to start with my praise!
I spent some time trawling the Internet trying to find a suitable hotel to stay in as a special treat for my mum and me on our brief visit to The Lake District. I wanted a nice location, central, but not right in the middle of a town. I was looking for a luxury country feel which was also dog friendly. In addition to that, off road parking and being permitted to have the dog in some public areas, (many hotels accepting dogs don't allow them anywhere except in your room), would be added bonuses. I couldn't believe my luck when I came across The Broadoaks website, it seemed to offer all I was looking for....and more! (The message from the resident pooch Molly the Cockapoo is a delightful touch).
We arrived at the hotel (which is ideally located a short distance up a quiet country road just 5 minute's drive from the centre of Windernere) to be warmly greeted by James, even my dog Millie was given a fantastic welcome with tasty treats.
The suite was spotless, tastefully decorated, and has a huge jacuzzi! The 4-poster bed was very comfortable and the room had a lovely view out over the gardens to the front of the hotel. The expansive grounds are immaculately cared for and the fountain to the front of the building adds a very nice touch. Everything just looks appealing, well thought out and lovingly cared for. I was free to walk Millie anywhere on the grounds which was great, I didn't have to contemplate early morning/late night sojourns outside the hotel grounds.
The hotel itself is a charming old house, beautifully restored and upgraded in places, but retaining many fine original features. The "Music Room" is amazing, with its vaulted ceiling and original wall design by William Morris. I also liked the dining room which is light and airy, with doors out onto a patio.
Enough about the bricks and mortar! The outstanding service and the quality of the food we experienced during our stay is what made our visit so special. The breakfasts were delicious, and dinner was excellent. I think it was good value for money, tasty, nicely presented, and portion sizes just right. ALL of the staff that we came across were extremely friendly and very efficient. Nothing was too much trouble, they were always there when you needed them, and everything was done quietly, calmly and smoothly. It was an absolute pleasure to watch the team looking after their guests so well. With the owners also heavily involved in the day to day running of the hotel, I felt that this was a truly special place, with everyone really pulling together to ensure that the guests had an unforgettable experience. I felt very much at home here, relaxed, comfortable, and I didn't want to leave!!
Finally, my dog also had a great holiday! She was spoilt rotten, the staff and other guests made a fuss of her, and now I can't get her to eat her boring dried dog food!!
Thank you all at Broadoaks for looking after me and my dear mum so well, we got exactly what I had hoped for, and much much more. We will be back!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Redwood Suite which has 2 bedrooms, ideal for my mother and me. The main bedroom wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-BOaks, Owner at Broadoaks Country House, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
From start to finish your review was a joy to read, everything we feel makes for a wonderful guest experience is just what you received and enjoyed, it is very gratifying to hear we are getting just right. Broadoaks is somewhere for all 2 legged and four legged guests to enjoy and we don’t believe you should have to compromise on any aspect of your dream stay so we will always work to tick all the boxes.

Thank you for your time in giving us you, your mum’s and Millie’s feedback and we hope to see you very soon.

Tracey, Jo & Molly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

This hotel defines good service. The attention to detail and the choice of attentive, professional staff made our anniversary stay very special. Nothing is too much trouble for this hotel's personnel, from when we phoned to book through to the warm welcome on arrival [thanks James!] and throughout our brief stay. The main building is charming with many period features - and William Morris decoration and the lodge we stayed in the grounds pretty and comfortable. The grounds are immaculate and the surrounding scenery beautiful. Rain prevented us using the putting or croquet lawns but they add yet another dimension.
On arrival we found a bottle of wine and card congratulating us on our anniversary - this message was also etched in chocolate around my dessert dish - another indicator of attention to detail.
Dining here is of top quality - tasty, beautifully presented with portion sizes that enabled us to complete all four courses and the excellent canapes without struggle and yet feel satisfied. The scones, cream and jam served in the cosy music room were an excellent way to welcome us. Breakfast, served to our lodge at no extra charge, was delicious and presented us with a difficult task of choosing what to have.
The lodge was small but again cosy,comfortable and beautifully decorated. The jacuzzi bath with TV a great touch and a double day bed built into the window area allowed us to look across to the stunning Lake District scenary. We were in Troutbeck Suite which also has a few cars and the other two lodges in its view. When we return - as we surely will - we will ask for one of the other two lodges as they had the better views and faced away from the small parking area. However all three were angled to ensure no one was overlooked.
The bed and bedding were comfort and quality itself and would have made for an excellent night's sleep if it hadnt been for the very heavy rain that hammered on the roof and dripped from the trees onto the skylights - an accepted hazzard of holidaying in the Lakes! The hospitality tray was comprehensive. Quality toiletries also added to the luxury feel of the experience.
I stay in many hotels all over the world - this little gem has to be in my top 5 favourites - it's so good that I'd really prefer to keep quiet about it - just in case there is no availability next time we try to book!

Room Tip: If you are in one of the outside suites ask for one of the two lodges that face away from the paking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-BOaks, Owner at Broadoaks Country House, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Making it into your top 5 makes it all worthwhile! Our aim has always been to personalise all of our guest’s experiences and make Broadoaks a truly special place for you. It isn’t easy making sure we get all of the detail right and it is lovely to see you appreciated the little touches that make a special occasion one to remember. Don’t worry you can tell your friends, we will look after them just as well and it won’t mean we don’t have the time for you next time you book!

Tracey & Jo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Have just returned about2 hours ago from our one night break away. Simply amazing. Even before we got there Andrea who took my booking was so friendly personable and warm.Then on arrival we had the cream tea yum yum. The music room with the morris freize was amazing. James was so lovely too. The onlyteeny down side was one of the staff (dark haired) didnt seem able to smile. However that aside the Boudoir suite was beautiful, the bed was the comfyestand largest I have ever stayed in. The fire was lit for us on request andmade the room even more special. Jacuzzi bath, glass ofwine and open fire bliss. The evening meal was simply gorgeous can not fault itin the slightest, the sea bass fantastic. We had full cumbrian breakfast in our roomin the morning and felt like royalty. I know this is a bitgushy but..... I dont care. We will be backIm just counting down the days.

Room Tip: boudoir must
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Broadoaks Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broadoaks Country House

Address: Bridge Lane | Troutbeck Windermere, Troutbeck LA23 1LA , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Troutbeck
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Troutbeck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Broadoaks Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Broadoaks Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Broadoaks Country House Hotel Troutbeck
Broadoaks Country House Troutbeck, Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Broadoaks Country House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.