We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location - unless you are Coast to Coasting!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Side Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Patterdale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Side Farm
Patterdale CA11 0NP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great location - unless you are Coast to Coasting!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We came to Side Farm after walking from Rosthwaite to Patterdale, via a lunch stop in Grasmere, in one very hard, long day. Carrying huge backpacks, we were a little disheartened upon arriving in Patterdale to realise we had another 20 minute walk up to the campsite (out of the village, meaning we had to add this on the next day, too, if we wanted to get to the shop in the morning). Beautiful site but not great for Coast to Coasting and I think this could have been made a bit clearer to me when I phoned, twice, for details! Not cheap, either. However, it is beautiful, and the facilities were fine.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    16
    8
    3
    3
See reviews for
5
13
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
preston
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

we were struggling to find accomodation to attend a wedding at one of the hotels in the village, it was bank holiday weekend and all hotels were full as were the campsites, even though this campsite was full the owners found us a space to camp off the main site and were extremely helpful, friendly and accomodating. It was set in a beautiful spot and part of working farm, we saw some lambs newly born shown to us by the farmer/owner.
we would definitely go back.
Getting ready for a wedding and camping wasnt our first choice but we are so glad we did as it made the weekend special had a great time

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012 via mobile

Such a lovely campsite with spectacular views over the water. Well-kept with basic facilities, but a bit slopey. No early breakfast options on site, but the small village a few hundred yards down the road caters for most needs (particularly the lovely little shop).

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

Just spent two nights at Side Farm Patterdale, great location and views overlooking Ullswater.
A gem of a site, owners very friendly and amenities very good. everything within close walking distance.
I will revisit and thanks Andrea for a cracking weekend.
Kwikkat
Level 50 club.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selby
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

Stayed at Side Farm in August for 2 nights.

On arrival paid the £8 per night and you are given a pass to put in your car. (I think £8 per night now in the Lake District is very reasonable).

The camping field is down a bumpy track so take car driving down. There is no flat ground on the campsite so we chose the best spot we could. The bottom of the field tends to get boggy so try stay high.

The shower facilities are basic -- concrete floor etc. There is also washing up facilities. However, after a long days walking in the lakes you are just glad of a hot shower and Side farm does that.

The views from the campsite are brilliant and you can walk down to the lake and see across to Patterdale.

A basic campsite but for £8 a night what more can you ask for.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

Walking the C to C this was the most expensive campsite at £8 (next expensive £6 least £2.50) THERE IS NO FLAT GROUND (sorry to shout) on the site this in spite of the fact that in order to get there we passed some flat ground. The site needs to be terraced or moved. If you are trying yo camp at patterdale walk up the hill and wild camp!

Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

Have never been camping before and well everything you read about camping is true, it wasn't very comfy, and I was uncomfortably all the time, and was always being bitten, but hey, i read that I what would happen.

The site was great, we pitched our tent (after 3 hours of confusion on how to assemble it) right by the side off the lake, we had an amazing view and where pretty isolated.

The toilets where breeze blocks and cermet flooring, they could do with a bit off paint, and properly needed checking more than the where. The floor needed painting as the absorbed all the lovely smells :/ and there wasn't enough paper towels to dry your hands. these where what let the camp-site down!!!

the other bad points where no allocated sites, meaning you could end up with somebody pitching right next to you!! the path going to the site was awful!!! really bumpy and narrow - I was waiting to here the scraping sound against the car, and there was NO PHONE SIGNAL!! not even within 2 miles off the place - eeeeeek

To sum up though, it was cheap, cheerful. Had amazing views, right next to the lake. and was secluded. well worth a little trip there :D

Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Side Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Side Farm

Address: Patterdale CA11 0NP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Patterdale
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Specialty lodging in Patterdale
Also Known As:
Side Farm Hotel Patterdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Side Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Side Farm to your Saves list