We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We come in peace...shoot to kill” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Patterdale Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Patterdale Hotel to your Saves list
The Patterdale Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nr Ullswater, Patterdale CA11 ONN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Patterdale
Bradford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“We come in peace...shoot to kill”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Fantastic hotel. Very spacious. Brilliant for families with kids young and old, or people without kids at all.

The hotel was recommended by family and they didn't let bus down.

On arrival we were met at the front desk by a very cheerful receptionist who enjoyed a joke with out young son and put us aat ease Immediately.

We were early when we arrived so went for a snack in the bar. The food, even as a snack was fantastic and only set the presidence for what was to come.

The rooms were well turned out, clean and fresh. Plenty of space for everyone. Cleaners came round everyday to remake beds and reset towels etc.

The evening meals were very well cooked and presented. The waiting staff were very polite and helpful, even when we went off menu for our son they were more than happy to help.

The hotel was within walking distance of a few walks that weren't too difficult for us novices and for our son.

All round a great break. Big thanks to The Patterdale.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    368
    186
    42
    11
    9
See reviews for
66
381
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
south shields
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

We have just got back and had a fabulous time. The staff are wonderful and the breakfast and evening meal were beautiful. We are looking at re booking the same hotel again which is something i don,t usually do as a rule. We thought the rooms were very clean and decor was of a lovely standard. they have a singer on a Thursday evening and usually a Saturday as well

Room Tip: check as some rooms have scenic view and some are not
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChoiceHotelsltd, General Manager at The Patterdale Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Hi Geordie Dave

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Thanks again

Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Three night stay over Easter weekend. The staff really stood out - they couldn't have done more for us. Polite, friendly and knowledgeable and an asset to the hotel. Many companies would do well to follow their example.

The hotel was comfortable and the choice of food was hearty - great to come back to after a day of walking.

Will definitely return.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Spent four nights at the Patterdale, two rooms between four of us, both facing front towards Ullswater with stunning views especially through our window which was large and had a nice window seat. Location is brilliant for Helvellyn and Ullswater. Can't fault this hotel, quite amusing to read some of the negative reviews by people who seem to forget this is a two star hotel. I'd actually give it more than that, here's why: Staff very friendly and efficient, all smiling and courteous. Food was great especially breakfast. Me being a pig I availed myself of breakfast buffet more than once most mornings, well cooked English or you could have cereals and fruit. Packed lunches available to order. Evening meals are three courses which come out very swiftly, when you've been out in the fresh air all day that's exactly what you need - good food served quickly. Bar nice and garden outside even nicer - we were lucky to have two glorious sunny evenings. Beer was in good condition. Rooms cleaned daily. Hot water was hot and showers had good pressure. Quiz night on Tuesday in which we came second. They gave us a free bottle of wine. All in all a fantastic stay. Kids loved it especially the free wifi. I actually liked the slightly dated decor in the hallways, made me feel quite nostalgic! We all felt that we made an excellent choice choosing here. If you're reading this Patterdale please big up your excellent staff! Just one suggestion: we'd have liked to have had breakfast a bit earlier, say seven o'clock so we could get out on the fells earlier. But that said we saw how hard your staff worked so perhaps that's a little too much to ask. Hope to return soon. Rob, Jo, Poppy and Charlotte.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChoiceHotelsltd, General Manager at The Patterdale Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Hi Rob, Jo, Poppy and Charlotte

We all think your review is fantastic and we are so pleased you all had a great time. Thank you for spending the time to write the wonderful review. Also Rob, if you ever want to get on those fells early we can do a take away breakfast it won't be a full English but we can arrange something to give you plenty energy.

Thank you once again and we look forward to seeing you soon.

Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Stayed two nights recently at "The Patterdale" which made for a very comfortable stay in such a beautiful setting, near to lake Ullswater. The staff here are really lovely and friendly and made every effort to make us feel welcome. There is a fantastic beer garden to the front of the property which is beautiful on a sunny day surrounded by the breathtaking scenery. The hotel itself is somewhat basic, but really has everything you need for a stay up in the lakes - which is always more about being outdoors than in! Everything works, is spotlessly clean and well maintained, if a bit dated in the public areas. I found to be a lower quality than I had expected for a place that is GBP90+/night, but a full english never goes amiss!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

We stayed for 5 nights dbb last week. We never go all inclusive as my wife is a fussy eater and I am always dubious about being served dodgy food, but had been told this place was good so we went with it.

We really enjoyed our stay and needn't have been worried about the food - it's top notch. Different choice each night of starters, mains and sweet along with an option for a cheeseboard and the breakfast was good too. The staff couldn't be more courteous and attentive and the place has a nice friendly atmosphere too.

Value for money wise I think it is outstanding when I consider what we have paid to stay room only in a simple travelodge before... I think camping in a pod in the lakes cost 50 a night and this was only a bit more but included breakfast and dinner.

Hot shower was nice after long walks up mountains and the room had been newly done out too and was cleaned every day which is nice. Yeah the stairs and corridors are a bit tired but the bar and restaurant are spotless and that's what matters.

Heartily recommend it and will be staying again.

Room Tip: Pay the bit extra for a lake view room, only 20 I think for the 5 nights but definitely worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Thank you so much for yet again another fanyastic stay at Patterdale Hotel. Friendly warming staff. Very polite and attentive to your every need. Staci Receptionist was very helpful and polite.
3 course meal on both nights was tasty and very well thought out. Lots of choices.
Chocolate genache desset on Saturday night was just heaven!!
Looking forward to coming back as i do time and time again.
Ideally location for waters around the area of Ullswater and views are superb.

Room Tip: "lakeland rooms are must"
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Patterdale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Patterdale Hotel

Address: Nr Ullswater, Patterdale CA11 ONN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Patterdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Patterdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Patterdale Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Patterdale Hotel sits on the main Penrith to Windermere route. Lying at the head of Ullswater, England's most beautiful lake, the village is in a fabulous central position for exploring the Lake District. The hotel is a popular base for both walking and activity holidays as well as more peaceful, relaxing break. Surrounding areas offer some of the world's most scenic walks and trails, and Keswick, Ambleside and Penrith are all within 15 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Patterdale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Patterdale
Patterdale The Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Patterdale Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.