We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Patterdale Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Patterdale Hotel to your Saves list
The Patterdale Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nr Ullswater, Patterdale CA11 ONN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Patterdale
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Stayed here with a fellow fell walker . All the staff were welcoming smiling and very helpful . The food was excellent with a three course meal for dinner and a buffet style breakfast in the morning . All the food was well prepared and tasty. The room was very spacious with a bath/shower . Great views of the fells and in the right location for the hills and Lake Ullswater. The hotel was full but this did not stop the service being of a continued high standard . Always stayed in B & B's - but this was a better alternative , would go back again .

Room Tip: Always make contact by phone .
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    368
    186
    42
    11
    9
See reviews for
66
381
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Keswick, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

For over 30 years I have stayed in bed and breakfast accommodation in the Lake District, ranging from good to middling to poor (when I usually write my signature in the dust on tops of wardrobes). For a change I was persuaded to stay in the Patterdale Hotel. To say I was pleasantly surprised would be an understatement.
I stayed here in October 2013 with a friend, another Lakeland walker. We found the staff welcoming and friendly, and the room clean and first class. Best of all though was the restaurant, with excellent three-course dinners and breakfasts, waited on by smiling, attentive staff. Even a coachload descending on the restaurant at the same time didn't affect the prompt service.
The hotel is conveniently situated for the fells; we merely had to walk out of the door of a morning, without having to use the car. I can't fault the Patterdale Hotel. That's where we will be staying when we are in this area in future.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

My wife and I returned after 8 years absence after being disillusioned by having food pushed at you. (Restaurant - get in, get food, get out, as quick as you can policy)
This time on arrival we were greeted by a smiling efficient receptionist, our "Lakeland" room was clean, reasonable veiw, quite, good heating system comfortable bed and plenty of hot water.
The restaurant meals were of good variety, breakfast's self service (£9 extra at Premier Inns) eat as much as you like, evening meals a good variety, actually ate from the a'la carte steak menu for £8 extra 1 night, magnificent piece of fillet steak. Waitress actually asked if we needed time between courses and were always smiling and had obviously been trained in a very proffessional manor by "Choice Hotels"
Bar prices were also reasonable and the louge area comforable.
Noticable items in restaurant, caraffes of water on table had "1/2 Liter" embossed on side Hmm.
Overall - excellant value for money, will be returning.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We returned again in September 2013. Sadly the weather was awful. It rained the whole week and had turned cold too. The hotel was warm and the food was good, room clean and comfortable and staff as friendly as ever!

Room Tip: Pay extra for a lakeside view, no view of lake but view of front of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howden, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Having stayed at the hotel on several occasions in the past we were a bit disappointed. The staff as always are friendly and helpful although I felt as if it was a race to see how fast the restaurant staff could get you through your evening meal ( I dont like to be rushed). The breakfast was self service with plenty of choice but it could be a bit of a queue for hot food if you went at the peak time. I have to say that the dinner menu did not live up to our previous visits and the presentation of the food left much to be desired, serving cherry tomatoes whole when halfing them would have made the plate look so much more appetising. The room we stayed in was in need of a refurb and although clean with plenty of space would have been much better without peeling wallpaper and peeling borders I was also surprised to see the cleaners in our room when we returned from breakfast and had not yet checked out. I suppose you get what you pay for and to be fair the prices are good value. Lets hope things have improved by our next trip!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

we came to the Hotel with a view to spy it out for our annual Lakeland trip with friends (my wife and i get all the good jobs) we have been to one of the hotels sisters in Keswick and knew of the Patterdale but had never stayed. From the minute we walked in to reception we knew we had done the right thing. We were greeted with smiles from Peter and a young lady, given our keys asked if we needed help with our cases and off to our room. Not the biggest we have ever stayed in but totally adequate for us, clean,lots of hanging space and plenty of drawer and shelf room. There is a bright and cheerful bar, Scot and his colleagues look after your needs from drinks to a very good bar menu. The food at dinner is excellent, it is varied,well presented, and the menu changes every night with all the choices anyone could want. The staff at the Patterdale are a great bunch, to us they made our stay great,the room always looked fresh when we returned to it each time, smiling faces when you went to breakfast,and dinner and the general atmosphere was very friendly.The Hotel is in a good position for good walking Place fell is opposite with its route to the coast to coast trek, Hellvelyn is just around the corner(and upwards of course) and the Kirkstone pass with its links to Ambleside and beyond. Give this area a try if you havn,t been here before, and certainly give The Patterdale Hotel a try if you want good service, good food, and very nice people.

Room Tip: the hotel is at an angle to the road our room 128 was quite close to the road and we did think it co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
llangollen
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We spent last weekend from Friday 27th to Monday 30th of September. We had a wonderful time the hotel was comfortable, weather was great, the food was very good and the staff can only be described as fantastic, nothing was too much trouble for them. From reception to waitresses to barmen and cleaners they were all great and very importantly I have never had so many smiles. The Patterdale is owned by Choice Hotels who I think are slowly doing a refurb of the premises, which is much needed! Whilst everything is clean and tidy the public areas and rooms need a little work.. This however did not detract from our weekend for what we paid we feel we had wonderful value, our bedroom (114) was comfortable, strangely decorated, needed a couple of small armchairs, perhaps a safe and fridge but was spotlessly clean, warm, and with the most comfortable bed....As mentioned earlier the staff were wonderful, the vast majority from overseas but all with a good command of English(Their Welsh was rubbish!!) they all had a permanent smile and nothing was too much trouble for them, not that we tested them, but did unfortunately watch other visitors unfairly test their patience....Daniella for example must have put her smile on early morning and it stayed there until late evening!!
In conclusion I would say that yes the Patterdale needs some TLC, but its location is fabulous, and Choice hotels should be very proud of their wonderful staff.. All in all a good value weekend.. If they reduce the price of their single malts I will return........!!!
Thanks for a great weekend.
Phil

Room Tip: Rooms on the front have a view..
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Patterdale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Patterdale Hotel

Address: Nr Ullswater, Patterdale CA11 ONN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Patterdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Patterdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Patterdale Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Patterdale Hotel sits on the main Penrith to Windermere route. Lying at the head of Ullswater, England's most beautiful lake, the village is in a fabulous central position for exploring the Lake District. The hotel is a popular base for both walking and activity holidays as well as more peaceful, relaxing break. Surrounding areas offer some of the world's most scenic walks and trails, and Keswick, Ambleside and Penrith are all within 15 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your The Patterdale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Patterdale
Patterdale The Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Patterdale Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.