We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Patterdale Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Patterdale Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Patterdale Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nr Ullswater, Patterdale CA11 ONN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Patterdale
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Again, a very enjoyable holiday. Our 3rd time this year and our 14th time at the Patterdale. Well done Jonathan and all the friendly staff. The hotel is in such a good position for all the many walks and peaks to conquer. We managed Blencathra this time!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    337
    171
    41
    9
    8
See reviews for
63
357
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

a lovely hotel , lovely staff , my 3rd visit this year , hopefully visit again before christmas , rooms cosy warm and immaculate, food fab and enough variety to suit all. bar prices a little above average but this is a pleasant sitting area, with a little entertainment on a saturday night, well worth a visit you will not be dissappointed .

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

Basic but comfortable hotel with many good features. Excellent food with good choice of menu and good size of portions. Friendly hotel. Some evening entertainment in the form of a singer. Bar and dining room refurbishments have improved the atmosphere.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Stayed at patterdale hotel. Hav'nt been for about 4 years but stayed 3 nights last week.I cant fault it , excellent food great staff, very clean and in good decorative order, and very reasonable prices.I dont hold back with my reviews,if its bad I say so.Only v small niggle, no toilet brush

Room Tip: All been good so far
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

My husband and I have been staying at the Patterdale over the past 9 years and that says it all.
Why would we keep returning every year if it wasn't any good?
We love it because we love the Lake district, we love walking and Ullswater is beautiful with so many walks on your doorstep.
The Patterdale offer you a friendly, comfortable good value for money. The majority of the staff have been working there for years which indicates a good company to work for and happy staff reflect on the service they provide.
I would have no hesitation to recomend this hotel as long as you don't pinch my room when I go next year!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We have just got back from our 2 night stay at the Patterdale Hotel. It's quite remote but an easy 15 minute walk into Glenridding and the steamers. There are also some lovely walks you can do that are local to the hotel. The bar area, restaurant and lounges have been done up and are very pleasant with a good atmosphere. I cannot complain about the food at all, and the restaurant is run very efficiently with extra quick service which is ok if you're in a rush but not if you want to sit and enjoy a nice meal... as soon as you are finished the plate is taken (at one point my partner was still chewing his food!!!) and you are asked what you want for the next course and that comes within minutes... Great if you're starving I guess! None of that was a problem but I was a bit disappointed with the room (131). It was spacious but very dark as it had a tiny window (with a view though!) Although it was clean it was shabby with wall paper peeling off in several places, black scuff marks on the walls and paint peeling off the ceiling in the bathroom. The bed wasn't the most comfy either as we could feel the springs! The shower was good with plenty of hot water. All in all the room really could have done with a total refurb and a new matress. It was not the sort of room you enjoyed being in and wasn't nice to hang around in too long. Overall though it was quite good value on a DBB basis.

Room Tip: Always go for a room with a view.... it would be pretty miserable if you didn't have that at le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey,
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

This hotel is set yards from the southern tip of ullswater. It is a beautiful spot surrounded by hills,fields and lots of water. Where ever we walked there were amazing waterfalls. Aria force being just one worth a visit and only approx 2mls up the road. If you are into hiking then this is a great base. Also take a boat trip on ullswater, one of its stops is within walking distance and you can purchase a ticket that lets you on and off.
The hotel - well don't expect modern with swimming pool and gym, or large rooms because you will be disappointed. But what you will find are clean comfortable rooms and very friendly and helpful staff. There is a reasonable size bar when most people collect after dinner, even entertainment a couple of times a week and you can connect to the wifi should you want to. You could also order bar meals in here if you did not want to eat in the restaurant.
I must mention the restaurant, ok so the were times you had to wait a few minutes but it was worth it. The food was excellent, with several choices of starters, mains and deserts. Well presented and
plenty of it.(for all those hungry walkers) the staff in the restaurant were possibly the best I have come across. Quick to serve and clear your tables, helpful if you needed any extras and patient if like us you like a little break between courses. Excellent teamwork, well done all of you.

Room Tip: We had a room at the front looking on to the countryside
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Patterdale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Patterdale Hotel

Address: Nr Ullswater, Patterdale CA11 ONN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Patterdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Patterdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Patterdale Hotel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Patterdale Hotel sits on the main Penrith to Windermere route. Lying at the head of Ullswater, England's most beautiful lake, the village is in a fabulous central position for exploring the Lake District. The hotel is a popular base for both walking and activity holidays as well as more peaceful, relaxing break. Surrounding areas offer some of the world's most scenic walks and trails, and Keswick, Ambleside and Penrith are all within 15 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your The Patterdale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Patterdale
Patterdale The Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Patterdale Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.