We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unfriendly and waste of money” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The White Lion Inn

The White Lion Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Patterdale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The White Lion Inn
Save
You added The White Lion Inn to your Saves list
| Near Penrith, Patterdale CA11 0NW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 12 Patterdale B&B and Inns
Newcastle
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Unfriendly and waste of money”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2010

Four of us visited the White Lion Inn for dinner one evening in July 2010. The food was substandard and they were constantly watching to see if we had finished. Some nearby tables were reserved from 8.00pm and even though we arrived at 6.30pm they made us feel very uncomfortable and rushed. To top if off, when one of the locals came in and asked if they had been busy, one of the members of staff said 'yes, when we didn't want to be tonight', showing that they clearly didn't want our custom in the first place!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    36
    23
    13
    10
See reviews for
8
36
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2010

We didn't really stay there but only stopped for a meal when we went through Patterdale.

The menu intially looked ok but after ordering food (and asked the barman that our food to be fast tracked), the guy came back 40, yes, forty, minutes later only to tell us that they've ran out of one of the dishes we've orders (and the other dish hasn't showed up yet). Running short of time, we asked which dish would be the quickest one and the answer we were given was fish and chips. "Very quick" was what we were told.

So there we go, 30 minutes later, when we were about to leave, the food finally arrived, after other people came, order, finished their food and left already. How on earth would it take 30 minutes to cook some fish and chips?

And, on top of that, the steak was very dry and very chewy (read: rock hard), and the "new potato" we ordered turned up as chips. The fish in the fish & chips almost tates like a shell fish - as the crumb was very, very solid. (no, this is not a compliment). Think about biting on a fried cod which feels like plastic shell. This might sound exaggerating, but that's what it felt like, after more than 1 hour of wait.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2010

3 Single girls stayed at the White Lion Inn as part of our coast to coast walk last week this was one of the worst we stayed in - usually i am very fair, but as soon as you walked into the pub/hotel it stank of old frying oil / stale food, then when you went through the door to the accomodation MENS awful pee smell hit you very off putting, the rooms were cramped smelt of wet dog, (and they let dogs stay there too) the shower had black mould, and the shower soap trays were filled with water and other peoples hair and old soap. Blood stained pillows, pretty grim it was so bad we stayed out till as long as possible drank and ate at the Patterdale hotel round the corner. Breakfast was yuck! We all headed off the next morning thinking thank God we;re moving on. Compared to other C2C places it wasnt cheap either.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands, UK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2010

Stayed two nights on my own at short notice so had a twin room the first night and a single on the second as that is all they had. Twin was small but fine for just somewhere to sleep and was ensuite. The single was not ensuite, was tiny and the private shower room, W.C. and wash basin was down the coridoor which was inconvenient but again for the price acceptable.
They were very helpful in letting me park my motorbike behind a fence out of sight but there is room for one only.
Breakfast was a typical one of everything full english, though there was a choice within that, but, it was well cooked with good quality ingredients and very tasty.
Bar food meals were available in the evening and they were nice and good value for money.
I would be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2009

Stayed here for the weekend to go walking in the Lakes. Great value in clean rooms with lovely breakfast and nice staff. Rooms are not huge but they don't need to be for a weekend's walking. Would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southampton
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2009

popped up from southampton on my motorbike,for weekend,my single room was cosy plenty of storage space,AND! the all important tea bags were plentifull.breakfast first class (like mums) the beer/ bitter was very nice, the steak evening meal ummmm!!
and the staff were all acepeople, i got back from a friends bbq after midnight, oooh! all locked up,live in staff heard me whistle, ha ha! no prob let me in thanks guys it was a cold night,it does get busy testimony to their reputation for a good choice of meals, i will be going there again, for sure,

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2009

We stay in Patterdale every year at least once or twice and always visit The White Lion during our stay. The people are friendly and welcoming and the food is plentiful and a great choice of dishes. After a nice walk in the surrounding area you can't beat the warmth and the cold beer.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The White Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Lion Inn

Address: | Near Penrith, Patterdale CA11 0NW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Patterdale
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Patterdale
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
The White Lion Hotel Patterdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The White Lion Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.