We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Please clean” 2 of 5 stars
Review of YHA Patterdale

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added YHA Patterdale to your Saves list
YHA Patterdale
Goldrill House, Patterdale CA11 0NW , England   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Please clean”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Beautiful location, but what is really needed is a large bucket of bleach and a lick of paint. Mold on most of the dorm walls, shower rooms worse that you would find in prison. Apart from a little tlc badly needed, the place was ok.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    16
    15
    10
    3
See reviews for
11
7
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

I came to this place with great trepidation following my experience in RoyBridge and never having stayed in a Youth Hostel -even as a youth!
But I was very pleasantly surprised.We were enthusiastically greeted by a very helpful receptionist. Our bunk room was spacious and spotlessly clean. The bedding all freshly supplied.
The bathroom facilities were exceptionally clean,reasonably well kept and highly functional.
We decided to self-cater which was probably a mistake as the hostel offered a range a very reasonably-priced meals and drinks(including alcohol).
I believe I had my best night's sleep of the whole trip in my cosy bottom bunk.
I wouldn't be afraid to go back...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Dirty, messy and disorganised. Dust everywhere and weeds growing inside the actual corridor, admittedly half hidden by the wall which is inside the conservatory on the way to Male dorm 1. No pastries, cold meat selection or cheeses as advertised supposedly on the Breakfast Menu? I asked Lukas the Chef and he first tried to make out I was not correct about the Menu, when I said I had seen it written down he offered to get a selection of the meats but admitted they had no pastries? My colleague asked if she could have an additional Hash Brown even suggesting swapping another item, she was told flatly that was not allowed? The shower areas were very damp every night and it looks as if Stevie Wonder has been busy with the sealant gun as the showers look like a Gowdy place of worship in Spain! Someone called the Hostel to speak to me and was cut off the phone by Lukas who said he was the Chef and that he was too busy to pass messages? As there is no mobile phone signal it proved difficult to keep all informed? Window frames need rubbing down and painting, lampshades in Dining Hall need taking down and washing. Grass on flat roof could do with cutting and sorting, there seems to be no leadership or standards?

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Patterdale is a fantastic area with beautiful scenery . But the campsite let it down as it was swampland and full of midgeys rocks and very wet . Staff were nice . The yha is good though and helpful staff . The showers were small and dirty. Kitchen was ok but eating area was like a smelly old peoples home .

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

middling dorms, bit close to main road and a bit noisy with tv and pop music but we certainly ate well. why do we have to waffle on to make up two hundred characters? Concise reviews are often more to the point.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambs
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Stayed her during coast to coast....having looked in at the Borrowdale this was a big disappointment in comparison. Corridors rather smelly dorms roomy was facilities ok but would be limited if had full occupancy. Good breakfast though. This YHA has prime location and has enormous potential...just needs someone or some organisation to invest some time and money on it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Stayed in early June for 1 night with friends
Stayed in a 6 person dorm room with bunk beds
Which 4 of us had to ourselves
Clean rooms with decent wash facilities
Had breakfast which was pretty good we found
In a great location. Take your own towels
Friendly staff

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to YHA Patterdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Patterdale

Address: Goldrill House, Patterdale CA11 0NW , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Patterdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Patterdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the style of a Swiss chalet in 1971 our hostel is an iconic view from the road through the Ullswater Valley. Ideally located on the edge of Patterdale village it is a perfect base for all this beautiful valley has to offer.Situated close to famous mountains such as Helvellyn and High Street, 20-minutes walk from the Ullswater Steamers and Glenridding Sailing Centre, and less than 10-minutes drive from Aira Force waterfalls Patterdale Youth Hostel is perfect for all kinds of activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your YHA Patterdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage YHA Patterdale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.